Bethesda tells us why ANZ will be first to Battlecry's beta!
Battlecry Beta First in ANZ!
We check out the fast-paced third-person Xbox One exclusive Sunset Overdrive to see just what it has in store.
Sunset Overdrive Reviewed
We take a look at Firaxis' sci-fi take on the Civ universe
Civilization: Beyond Earth Reviewed
We sit down with Blizzard's Ion Hazzikostas to talk all things World of Warcraft, including upcoming expansion Warlords of Draenor.
Talking Draenor with Ion Hazzikostas
Rage
Rage

PC | PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: First Person Shooter
Developer: id Software Official Site: http://www.rage.com
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Release Date:
6th October 2011
Rage

Genre: First Person Shooter
Developer: id Software
Official Site: http://www.rage.com
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Release Date:
6th October 2011
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Rage Video
RAGE Review
Review By @ 03:19pm 04/10/11
XBOX360
I'm sorry id Software. I was wrong about you.

When Bethesda gave me an opportunity to get hands-on with the first few hours of RAGE at QuakeCon, I walked away from the game unimpressed. Sure it looked pretty, and there was no denying it's core shooter radness, but those two factors alone are staples of id Software - components they surely couldn’t fail. The quest bridging, dialogue, and even the driving, however, left me thinking this would be a failed attempt on the old developer’s part to join the modern age of gaming.

Most of these woes stemmed from how the game serves its greater parts to you from the outset, the best example of which comes in the form of a quest that rewards you with your first shotgun. Getting this quest is a bit arbitrary in and of itself as you have to accept it to even progress the game forward, but the biggest let-down here was that the first enemy I came across in the quest had a shotgun, and after dispatching him, he dropped it. Much to my chagrin, however, the weapon vanished, despite his body laying out in plain site for me to loot.



This simple example left a pretty sour taste in my mouth, and even after I asked id’s Tim Willits why that was the case, I didn’t buy his response that being able to loot weapons broke their reward and currency system, which they’d apparently worked very hard on making balance correctly.

Other problems then began to stick out in my mind even more. The game’s dialogue, for example, had no real dynamism and the game-world’s friendly NPCs were as wooden as the pop-up targets you fire your first Wingstick at, leaving the game, for all intents and purposes, lifeless, despite the narrative trying to sell me on the idea that even a catastrophic global event such as an asteroid impact transforming the world forever, couldn’t kill off the human race.

And finally, the driving and racing component, complete with unfair rubberbanding, the ability to game nitro and a severely lacking drift mechanic, sealed the game’s fate, initially, for me as a Fallout/Borderlands knock-off built more to show off id Tech 5 than usher id into the modern age of game development.
I’m sorry id Software, I was wrong about you.
Apparently, all it takes is a little perseverance and the fruits of id’s labour truly shine, revealing RAGE to be more than the sum of its broken parts, and rather a shining example of a developer bucking anything modern for a design template built from year’s and year’s of development knowledge and a desire to play a challenging shooter, and not just some [ostensible] on-rails shooting gallery.



Where RAGE wins is in enemy AI and level-design; married in such a way, combat feels unparalleled in the current landscape, even on console. We’ve dabbled with both the PC version and console version (this review is based on a 360 playthrough), and somehow, without compromising either platform, the game still delivers the same challenge across both. This is because twitch gaming can, in fact, work on console if the controls are right, which id have nailed to perfection here. But it’s also about AI, cover and tactical recourse through weapon selection, player buffs and beyond. All of which is delivered in RAGE with great success. A game-changing component, for example, comes with weapon and ammo selection - something that could have been a real chore, but is handled with aplomb thanks to some clever design.

On the Xbox 360 controller holding down the RB-button will bring up both a weapon and ammo select pop-up, however, both sticks are now assigned to each selection graphic, respectively. This means, if you remember where you assigned weapons and ammo, you can, in less than a second, change weapons and ammo-type without so much as a dent on the combat experience, leaving the visceral action unhindered and entirely open to your own tactical devices.

Moreover, as mentioned, level-design plays a large part in both arena and corridor combat, as well as leaving the player feeling like they’ve actually progressed -- meaningfully -- through the game. Usually, even after a mammoth trek, you’ll wind up somewhere near where you began, which makes it much easier to access your vehicle and be on your merry way, but factors such as locked or currently inaccessible doors means you’ll often be revisiting ‘dungeons’ again, but it honestly never feels like a chore, and their variety, once the game opens up, really keeps the experience fresh and diverse.



Interestingly, this leaves the game’s narrative in two lights. On the one hand, the aforementioned dialogue, scripting and overarching story really aren’t much chop (but let’s face it, this has never been id’s strongest point). On the other, the atmosphere of each environment, their pacing (across overall gameplay), visual identity and enemy-types make for great on-the-fly narrative of a different kind. Much like walking into an open vista from a narrow, visually confining corridor to a massive jaw-dropping set-piece (of which RAGE is replete with), the game constantly tells a rich and oft deep story from a visual perspective. It’s par for the id Tech 5 course, of course, but it never gets old, especially on console where you’re often left gawking at the game in sheer wonderment the team even managed to get such a large game looking this good.

It’s not just massive set-pieces and varying environments that pull you in, either. There are tiny touches that make an otherwise lifeless world feel alive. Walking under dripping water, for example, washes your vision with stunning water distortion and droplets. Get into a fire-fight near water-pipes and your bullets will penetrate them, spouting water -- dynamically -- from each hit-point (these aren’t persistent though). Mini tornadoes of dust carry loose paper in towns, while explosions create a dynamically animated mess based on the environment it occurred within (there’s no destruction model though).

Equally, enemies react to where they’ve been hit better than any game before it. The shotgun returns as a class hero here (this is id, after all), and it’s spread is best represented in the Mutant Bash TV segments where the unpredictable, and veracious mutants often trip over, fall back, or keel in pain at only being partially hit by your shotgun. Animation, physics and AI reaction -- throughout the experience -- are, in my opinion, second to none in the shooter space, and the game is all the more visceral for it.



This pacing is helped massively by the game’s driving sequences, and its friendly towns, especially Wellspring. Most of the time these only serve a purpose in vending or as quest-givers, but it’s nice to be able to return to a friendly place every once in a while, and most of what the game offers outside of the core shooter experience bridges from here.

There are plenty of mini-games to play, and the races themselves offer reprieve for the weary gunslinger. However, a fully upgraded vehicle can mean the difference between a comfortable commute between settlements and dungeons, and near death on the road. You can’t just buy upgrades though, because you need to earn racing certificates to have anything meaningful pimped to your ride. This is a clever move on id’s part, because it would be easy for many to just ignore driving, beyond the requirement to travel between towns and dungeons, and so you both learn to play the game in entirety, and appreciate the subtle upgrades your car can acquire.

Racing can actually be fun, but suffers from the rubberbanding I mentioned earlier. The best thing here though, is to just not take it seriously, and plow through it as an added mini-game, which makes more sense in the construct of the rest of what’s on offer from a peripheral perspective. The vehicular bridging then, is more of a means to an end, but remains enjoyable, and the more powerfully kitted out your ride is, the more fun it becomes to coast into the wastes, to waste the enemy.

Despite all of the above though, there are a few missed opportunities with RAGE. For one, there’s no day and night cycle, nor any changes in weather. With equally large games like Red Dead Redemption fleshing out their game-worlds with such dynamism, it just seems like an obvious oversight on id’s part, and the water effects they have embedded are stunning, so rain could have added to the id Tech 5 showcase here, while creating a much more ‘open’ world in which to exist.



Boss battles are also pretty lax in comparison to the challenge of regular AI. Predictable, and easy attack patterns meant I cut through them, even with my difficulty setting at Nightmare, with ease. Bosses in general appear to be a major pitfall for developers these days, but in RAGE they’re especially easy, which is a shame, because most of the bosses are either ridiculously large, or ludicrously interesting to engage, which is another missed opportunity overall.

Finally, the touched upon wooden NPCs, and lifeless as a result, game-world is the biggest missed opportunity of all. Enemy AI is, at the worst of times, still incredibly animated, so it’s vexing to not have the same level of engagement with the friendlier places, or people, of the game. Even just basic NPC tasks and day-to-day routines would have opened up this component immeasurably, but alas, t’was not meant to be. The game’s load-screen Survival Tips suggest you “talk to everyone” to get the most out of side-quests and peripheral story, but when they barely move or animate as it is, it becomes more of a chore than anything else; like reading a series of sign-posts instead of actually talking to other humans.

At its core though, RAGE is a triumph for id Software. The game’s strengths far outweigh its shortcomings and for shooter fans looking for a challenging, visceral experience that isn’t akin to shooting fish in a barrel, you’re going to find it here. id Tech 5 looks incredible, across all platforms, and the team’s elevation in level-design, art and AI are the best they’ve ever produced. Despite following post-apocalyptic trends, RAGE stands on its own and could have been oh-so-much more with a bit more love in the aforementioned shortfalls - here’s hoping the next installment addresses these and adds more to everything they did right. Definitely worth the investment.
What we liked
  • Incredible core shooter experience
  • The toughest enemy AI in the business
  • Excellent enemy animations and hit detection
  • Amazing level-design
  • id Tech 5 is the goods
What we didn't like
  • Lack of a drift mechanic lets driving down
  • Rubberbanding in races
  • Lifeless friendly environments, wooden characters
  • Not much of a story in place
  • No dynamic day/night or weather system
More
We gave it:
9.0
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
ravn0s
Posted 03:37pm 04/10/11
damn good score.

will pick it up on steam if it ever goes on sale.
Raazel
Posted 03:40pm 04/10/11
Good write up Steve, it does grieve me to hear that the story and npc's are of a boring nature. Apart from that, I'm definitely going to pick this bad boy up some time soon!
bepatient
Posted 03:59pm 04/10/11
I'm glad to see such an awesome score - haven't read through the whole review cause I've already preordered it and am concerned about spoiling parts of it, but the summary certainly makes it look promising.

Very psyched to check out this tough AI and have a look at the level design in general.

Just in case anyone is curious here are current costs:
Steam AU Region: $94.92 (approx USD converted to AUD)
Steam US Region: $63.27 (approx USD converted to AUD)
Steam UK Region: $56.87 (approx GBP converted to AUD)
Ozgameshop has it for: $43.99
***all for pc

Also if anyone does have it on steam, I'd start preloading it cause it 25gb.
DM
Posted 04:03pm 04/10/11
If anyone knows where to get cheap keys online let us know. All the stores I frequent don't RAGE on their sites at all. Bugger.
Caveboy
Posted 04:05pm 04/10/11
Intkeys.com stock them.

I have one ordered but they wont be sending them out till the 7th Eu time:(
d^
Posted 04:09pm 04/10/11
I may have eaten my words.
ravn0s
Posted 04:09pm 04/10/11
anyone tried g2play.net?

they seem to have good prices.
Reverend Evil
Posted 04:11pm 04/10/11
Also if anyone does have it on steam, I'd start preloading it cause it 25gb

WTF? F*** that.

Game looks like it might be fun though. Although $95 on Steam is a bit rude. Think I'll go Ozgameshop for it.
gamer
Posted 04:12pm 04/10/11
No weather of day/night? Wtf?

Isn't that a staple in any engine these days?
Dan
Posted 04:21pm 04/10/11
By the sounds of it, some opinions are going to be pretty polarised on this one. The perceived notion that all games with a first person viewpoint are the same seems very prevalent among gamers. So people see the post-apocalyptic theme and jump straight to the conclusion that it should have all the features and strengths that Fallout of Borderlands had

Whereas it's pretty clear from Steve's impressions that Rage is fundamentally a very different game to both of those and its strengths lie in completely different areas -- particular appealing to me are the tech with awesome performance for its visuals and extremely tight controller to screen latency and the tactile combat and impressive AI.

Really looking forward to getting sunk into it myself and even more hoping that in tandem to Doom 4, they're already working on a new esport-centric Quake game built on the same tech.
Sc00bs
Posted 04:18pm 04/10/11
did you guys have a go of multiplayer? how was that?
Reverend Evil
Posted 04:29pm 04/10/11
Just ordered it from Ozgameshop. Got the game and a zombie morph suit for $90.

Woot!
Gunshy
Posted 04:39pm 04/10/11
Such a busy end to the year, way too many great games (hopefully) are being released. Hopefully I can get this before the year ends.
DM
Posted 04:57pm 04/10/11
Unless someone has a place they regularly buy from, i'll wait until the 7th to get my key. Was going to buy from Intkeys but there was something on there that worried me on the last step before payment "this key is region locked to eastern europe. you will need a VPN to activate it... or you can GIVE US YOUR STEAM INFO and we'll do it for you" to which my reaction was, get f***ed.

last edited by DM at 16:57:55 04/Oct/11
deus
Posted 05:16pm 04/10/11
surprised at the lack of day/night/weather system, but maybe its explained somewhere as part of the post apoc setting?
Newgo
Posted 05:55pm 04/10/11
hmmmm CJS-CDKeys.com has steam activation keys for 27.99GBP which is roughly 45.50AUD or Russian Steam activation keys for 17.99GBP roughly 29.20AUD.... not sure about region locking issues for the russian keys but the $45 is fine...
Newgo
Posted 06:07pm 04/10/11
@ DM
Was going to buy from Intkeys but there was something on there that worried me on the last step before payment "this key is region locked to eastern europe. you will need a VPN to activate it... or you can GIVE US YOUR STEAM INFO and we'll do it for you" to which my reaction was, get f***ed.

this means it was a russian cd key. it is not known whether or not the game is region locked yet. until release. if the game is not region locked then this key will be fine. if it is region locked then u just need to change your vpn through steam to activate the game and then switch back to your vpn to download the game. staying on the russian vpn will cause a very slow and agonising dl and a 25gig not a good idea... all this does is trick your steam into thinking your from russia so u can activate then once its activated its locketd to your acount. i also have details on how to do this if you would like? just PM me
Pirroh
Posted 06:22pm 04/10/11
I'm not hearing good things about the PC version, fellas.
DM
Posted 06:32pm 04/10/11
Nah it's ok but thanks newgo. I think i'll just wait for the 7th to roll around and get a CD key from 1 of the 2 places i've already used before. I don't want to have to use a VPN and that. Their keys seem to go on sale the day of release. Hell, tomorrow when the US store opens they may even get them so until then, I'll get the preload files from... a source and i'll be ready to go once the day rolls around.

Thanks to these stores I havn't pirated a game in a long ass time. No problem paying $35 - 45 a game.

EDIT -
I'm not hearing good things about the PC version, fellas.

From where? The game isn't even out yet lol

last edited by DM at 18:32:01 04/Oct/11
Pirroh
Posted 06:34pm 04/10/11


It's out in the US. You can even check the Steam forums if you want.
DM
Posted 06:38pm 04/10/11
Ok well you got me there. That seems like a real weird issue too, like the textures vanish from the game world if you aren't looking at them. Times like this i'm glad our release dates are a day or 2 behind so there is a patch to fix this crap. But of course that could just be his own graphical issue which most others won't encounter.
trog
Posted 06:41pm 04/10/11
Ok well you got me there. That seems like a real weird issue too, like the textures vanish from the game world if you aren't looking at them. Times like this i'm glad our release dates are a day or 2 behind so there is a patch to fix this crap. But of course that could just be his own graphical issue which most others won't encounter.
Carmack tweeted today saying make sure you have the latest drivers; that looks like a classic driver issue to me ?
DM
Posted 06:46pm 04/10/11
That was a thought as well, simple driver issues. Looking at the official RAGE forums though you would think the world is coming to an end.

Only thing that really worries me about this game is the fact that it auto-scales your graphical options on it's own to make sure you get 60fps. There are no manual settings besides gamma, brightness and I think AA on or off. That seems rather... Odd that ID of all people would flat out ignore the PC market like this.
Tollaz0r!
Posted 06:49pm 04/10/11
Odd? They are in this to make money, he has to fund his rockets with something.
Dan
Posted 06:57pm 04/10/11
There are no manual settings besides gamma, brightness and I think AA on or off.
I would be very, very surprised if there wasn't a command console (probably ctl alt ~) with many of the same cvars that any id game veteran should be more than familiar with to tweak anything you like.
fpot
Posted 07:07pm 04/10/11
I would be very, very surprised if there wasn't a command console (probably ctl alt ~) with many of the same cvars that any id game veteran should be more than familiar with to tweak anything you like.
Such user-friendly implementation there.
groganus
Posted 07:24pm 04/10/11
Looking forward to playing this game myself in the next few days,

Steve, your review reads pretty negatively until the last paragraph then you give the game a 9.0 was a tad confused by this.

After reading the review I started to consider if pre-ordering this title was a bad move... but then your score made me think I did make the right decision. The pro's seemed valid yet the con's came across as quite trivial. Then I put more thought into them and got confused about my purchase again.

Ignoring that, I appreciate the honest in it's flaws.
qmass
Posted 07:43pm 04/10/11
apparently there are some pretty serious bugs showing up for a majority of people... bad texture pop in flickering and artifacting.

Purely circumstantial but Ive seen a couple people posting console dumps which show the game detecting their hardware as 0mb ram and a 3mhz cpu. An interview with tim willits implied that the game will have limited graphics customisation because the engine automatically scales with hardware to provide the user with the highest graphics possible while still running as close to the target 60fps as possible.

If that is accurate then its possible that a bug is causing incorrect hardware detection and the engine is actually working as its meant to. Which could mean a quick fix. Game has only been out for a couple hours so fingers crossed.
DM
Posted 07:55pm 04/10/11
^ which is sort of what happened with people and GTA4. Cards with more than 2gb ram caused the game to think it only had about 200mb ram instead, so everything was set to low and even forcing the game to accept more you get s*** FPS. This is why auto-detecting is bad for anything except resolution because there is too much s*** that can go bad.

When in doubt however blame consoles since all these epic games that come out today need to look just as good but also run on hardware which is 6 years old, quite ancient in PC terms.
skythra
Posted 07:56pm 04/10/11
Before trog even said drivers, I was going to say drivers. I've experienced nvidia drivers which are are a year out of date (like stock ones which come with a card) in many games draw things wrong. NVIDIA does a lot in most cases to tweak drivers for every game in every card configuration (like they spend a lot of time doing SLi tweaks when dev's don't bother to create multi threaded graphics systems) so you actually reach the propper 1.8x speed with two cards instead of maybe 1.4 for running frame by frame (with stutter) or half and half (also introduces problems).

I have a screenshot of BF3 for example with running older than 185 drivers:

arc
Posted 08:03pm 04/10/11
Looks like most of the stuff I said turned out to be true. Next gen graphics, benchmark graphics on consoles, best next gen single player fps. All scores I've seen are either 4 or 5 out of 5. Or 9 / 10 out of 10.

Stop being such a bunch of twits and just play the game and enjoy it.
parabol
Posted 08:04pm 04/10/11
hmmmm CJS-CDKeys.com has steam activation keys for 27.99GBP which is roughly 45.50AUD

They are one of the dodgiest cdkey sites out there and are known to be deceptive. I'd highly recommend buying from elsewhere.
"this key is region locked to eastern europe. you will need a VPN to activate it... or you can GIVE US YOUR STEAM INFO and we'll do it for you" to which my reaction was, get f***ed.

Many of the cdkey sites say that (even the good ones), so I wouldn't worry about the offer - just don't do it and instead just get the VPN software yourself.
fpot
Posted 08:05pm 04/10/11
What are the quests like? I have heard they are a bit fetchy and often only have one way to complete them.
Khel
Posted 08:08pm 04/10/11
Sounds pretty much like what I was expecting, think I'll give this one a miss, already got way too much to play and Batman is out in a couple of weeks!
fpot
Posted 08:14pm 04/10/11
All scores I've seen are either 4 or 5 out of 5. Or 9 / 10 out of 10.
No scores yet up on metacritic but gamerankings has the 360 and ps3 versions at 80% and 78% respectively. Not bad, but I'd expect better from ids flagship title that they have been working on since forever. I'd also expect the PC version to score a lot worse than that. It's very buggy apparently.

Deus Ex:HR is 89 on meta and gamerankings btw. That's because it is a real game and not an id game.
groganus
Posted 08:19pm 04/10/11
I pre-ordered from g2play.net $49.80aus

I have purchased a few things from there before and they have always been reliable for myself (though I know of a friend who got a bad key once, but they fixed it up for him in a timely fashion (i just assume this happens everywhere)
ocarinaboy
Posted 08:27pm 04/10/11
Hell yes gettin this beast fo sho. Wish it had night/day cycles and rain though. Reckon they could add it in with a future patch?
eXemplar
Posted 09:07pm 04/10/11
I tried to update my ati video drivers today,
BladeRunner
Posted 09:12pm 04/10/11
I should reload it and then use a VPN to play it early but by the time I finish downloading it Steam would have released on the 7th.
Winston
Posted 09:23pm 04/10/11
Jeez, after reading this review and the ArsTechnica one, I don't know what to think about this game. They say skip, You say 9/10. Gonna' have to wait for more reviews and the community reviews.
m3nt4l
Posted 09:29pm 04/10/11
Or play it yourself and make up your own god damned mind :P
Dan
Posted 09:37pm 04/10/11
There's plenty of other reviews up now. http://www.metacritic.com/game/xbox-360/rage/critic-reviews
fpot
Posted 09:39pm 04/10/11
meh, console reviews.

I will wait for the PC ones.
Dan
Posted 09:44pm 04/10/11
well fyi, PC review code wasn't available to reviewers until this afternoon (AEST), synced with the Steam release. So you'll be waiting until at least tomorrow, but even then, I wouldn't put much stock in a review as they probably wouldn't have even played it through by then.
fpot
Posted 09:47pm 04/10/11
I am in absolutely no hurry to buy this game so that's okay by me.
Python
Posted 10:02pm 04/10/11
I'll wait for a steam sale (or similiar) before getting it, just doesn't seem exciting or makes me want to play it.

Really looking forward to getting sunk into it myself and even more hoping that in tandem to Doom 4, they're already working on a new esport-centric Quake game built on the same tech.


New esport-centric Quake game? There's no news of this around..
Steve Farrelly
Posted 10:04pm 04/10/11
groganus, I basically got the negatives out of the way first because they're glaring in the early parts of the game, but the review focuses quite heavily on the gunplay, level-design, AI, animations etc as being far more cohesive and important to the experience. It's definitely well worth playing, but you need to give it a chance to really see the meaty stuff amidst some of the fluff
fpot
Posted 10:32pm 04/10/11
^ what are the quests like?
Python
Posted 10:46pm 04/10/11
skythra
Posted 11:06pm 04/10/11
Jeez, after reading this review and the ArsTechnica one, I don't know what to think about this game. They say skip, You say 9/10. Gonna' have to wait for more reviews and the community reviews.

and I quote from the Ars technica site
So, just to sum up my nine plus hours with the game so far:
Right-o most nights I might get home at like 6pm and play till about midnight maybe with a couple of hours break.

I'm not going to listen to some guy who wrote about what he did after two nights after work.

I quote to counter ArsTechnica
Apparently, all it takes is a little perseverance and the fruits of id’s labour truly shine, revealing RAGE to be more than the sum of its broken parts, and rather a shining example of a developer bucking anything modern for a design template built from year’s and year’s of development knowledge and a desire to play a challenging shooter, and not just some [ostensible] on-rails shooting gallery

Righty-O then.

There's a lot of similarities though in the basic points they complain and promote though, except while arstechnica said the racing was fun obviously ausgamers said it was rubberbandy, which kind of can still be fun i guess but that kind of racing bothers me. Good advice then to just enjoy it for what it is.

I can't say personally where I stand but it's fun to see different reviews and ponder why they are different.
Baz
Posted 12:27am 05/10/11
how different could a PC review be?

it's not like it will have very repetitive gameplay, dated graphics, restricted movement especially while firing, no (or pointless) mulitplayer, just because it's designed for inbreeders and their auto-aiming analog sticks. That's just ridiculous.
fpot
Posted 12:39am 05/10/11
The PC version is buggy apparently. I'd like to hear more about that.
Khel
Posted 12:46am 05/10/11
I'm not going to listen to some guy who wrote about what he did after two nights after work.


Granted, he should have probably played more before reviewing it, but if the game hasn't improved for him after 9 hours, then thats all I really need to know. Its like Final Fantasy 13 and the "Oh but it gets good after you're about 15 hours in" argument, thats just bulls***, why can't it be good from the start then.

I don't really have time for games that take time to get good or take perseverance, when theres so many good games out there that are instantly good out the box and I already have so little time to play them as it is. I mean (at least in my opinion), a good game should just be good. It shouldn't be good after you've played it for a few hours, and it shouldn't be good with a bunch of caveats and conditions attached, it should just be good.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 12:55am 05/10/11
The PC version is buggy apparently. I'd like to hear more about that.

When isnt a new release buggy on PC lately. Thats one of the biggest reasons i dont buy immediately. I wait for patches and sales instead of jumping on the pre-purchase band wagon and getting stuck with some lame half working console port.

Granted, he should have probably played more before reviewing it, but if the game hasn't improved for him after 9 hours, then thats all I really need to know.

I agree. I think that reviewers really should finish a game thats say less than 10hrs or for massive games, give it a really good go before reviewing. Something like 9 hours is nothing for epic games like total war or civ5 played on the long game mode while for COD that would be like 2 or 3 play throughs. Still, i dont even sit through a game for more than 30mins if it doesnt grab me. I just RQ and go back to my beloved HON.

And i read about the auto graphics option on page 1 and immediately had terrible memories of GTA 4 as somebody mentioned. F*** that. Leave auto options to the console noobs. Let me f*** with the settings how i want. Shadows? No. AA? No. Wide ass FOV? Hell Yeah!
qmass
Posted 12:56am 05/10/11

I don't really have time for games that take time to get good or take perseverance, when theres so many good games out there that are instantly good out the box and I already have so little time to play them as it is. I mean (at least in my opinion), a good game should just be good. It shouldn't be good after you've played it for a few hours, and it shouldn't be good with a bunch of caveats and conditions attached, it should just be good.
I dunno about this. If I weigh up games that have been good from the start then run out of ideas and just suck against games that start slow and come good, I know which list of games I would rather have. Imagine if people threw fallout in the trash after being dominated in the ant temple...
DeadlyDav0
Posted 01:04am 05/10/11
^
lol. That was nearly me. Those goddam f*****g ants. Biggest mistake i made was trying to finish that quest when i had no ammo and just a baseball bat. Surprisingly though i didnt rage and instead buckled down and somehow got out of there alive then went on to get bored about 20hrs later once i got sick of no ironsights aiming. So i started a new game with mods and loved the ironsights before about 20hrs of different quests and i got sick of the super shaky ironsights aiming. Now i want to start again without mods and persevere with the vanilla game.

I really cant think of any games that start slow (apart from fallout 3 but at least the start is interesting and intriguing) but i can think of tonnes that start good and get s*** within an hour or 2. F*****g Brink, Homefront etc.
fpot
Posted 01:06am 05/10/11
^ he is talking about the Temple of Trials in fallout 2, newb :)

And yes, I gave up after the Temple of Trials also.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 01:12am 05/10/11
^ he is talking about the Temple of Trials in fallout 2, newb :)

hahahah. lol. I remember seeing the box for Fallout 2 on the shelf back in the day with that metal face on the front. One of the many games i wanted but never got because of my terrible pocket money pay.
ravn0s
Posted 10:51am 05/10/11
COD that would be like 2 or 3 play throughs


cod doesn't even last 9 hrs
ravn0s
Posted 05:12pm 06/10/11


last edited by trog at 17:12:01 06/Oct/11
Enska
Posted 12:16pm 05/10/11
Haha, that's pretty cool rav.
ravn0s
Posted 05:12pm 06/10/11
there's also a wolf 3d room. not sure about a doom room



last edited by trog at 17:12:16 06/Oct/11
Tollaz0r!
Posted 12:34pm 05/10/11

Imagine if people threw fallout in the trash after being dominated in the ant temple...


Ahh the Temple of Trials. Such a pain in the arse.
Thundercracker
Posted 01:57pm 05/10/11
Loving the easter eggs :D
BladeRunner
Posted 02:09pm 05/10/11
Played it this morning, Seems ok, Did not notice any real problems. The textures and stuff look really nice. Now all i need is a bypass executable so I don't have to log into steam.
Steve Farrelly
Posted 02:26pm 05/10/11
That wolf 3d easter egg is locked out after a while guys, so do it as soon as you get a chance
DM
Posted 02:44pm 05/10/11
Is the game supposed to have weird shadows? So far i've seen green, blue and redish colored shadows which makes the game look kind of strange. Like that on the 360 version?

EDIT - Also LOL at this
fpot
Posted 03:57pm 05/10/11
Not gonna lie, those easter eggs are f*****g awesome.
demon
Posted 04:12pm 05/10/11
cool easter eggs :D love it when designers do that :D
i rekn i'll get rage to play but might wait a while n see how it all pans out.
slamma
Posted 04:41pm 05/10/11
wtf steam won'tlet me install?
ravn0s
Posted 04:42pm 05/10/11
it doesn't unlock until tomorrow.
qmass
Posted 04:51pm 05/10/11
look up a free demo vpn in a country the game is out in.

set steam downloads to that location

close steam

log into vpn

open steam

game unlocks

put steam in offline mode

profit
bLaZe
Posted 06:47pm 05/10/11
so we pay double and aren't even allowed to play it until every other region has had a go. can you feel the love?
DM
Posted 06:50pm 05/10/11
I posted this in the BF3 thread as well but (at least for ATI cards & me) you need to install the AMD rage specific drivers to get this working otherwise you will get a crash at game start up. These drivers also lower the quality of BF3 somewhat noticably as well as halving your frame rate. So it comes down to BF3 or Rage.
Python
Posted 07:30pm 05/10/11
Wow, game runs pretty smooth on a i5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz with a gtx 275 on 1920 x 1080.
arc
Posted 08:06pm 05/10/11
Edgarhighmen
Oct 4, 2011

Score: 0

This game is not working. It eats up 100% CPU because it does not recognize the RAM on your video card. How could they sell a broken product? Graphical pop-in, poor LoD distances, Artifacting, and the game freezing every few seconds for 10-15 seconds. NOT PLAYABLE. Game was also released with BROKEN DRIVERS, the Updated drivers do not fix GAME BROKEN problems. How could they sell me a b… Expand

Helpful?
8 of 10 users said yes
All this user's reviews

YuRown92
Oct 4, 2011

Score: 10

Rage is a very important game in this year. It is big game. Rage has nice world, interesting story, ideal game design, good music and many many others things. I don't understand their people, who make a bad mark to this videogame. I playing Rage with pleasure.

Helpful?
5 of 19 users said yes
All this user's reviews


LOL - ATI users vs Nvidia users i rekon
BladeRunner
Posted 08:42pm 05/10/11
The game runs fine for me at 1920x1080 i52500k GTX570.

screenshots
http://postimage.org/image/203fdu8dg/

http://postimage.org/image/24o5uoais/
trillion
Posted 09:30pm 05/10/11
runs fine here at 2560 x 1600 4x msaa on a core 2 quad Q6600 @ 2.4ghz and a gtx 275
Python
Posted 09:34pm 05/10/11
Game doesn't look very impressive visually :( some of the textures just look flat out ugly and i could get pretty details in q3 :\
SwissCM
Posted 09:40pm 05/10/11
It's a tradeoff. The textures in RAGE are completely unique everywhere, there's no repeating patterns or anything like that, which is pretty damned impressive. Unfortunately, in order to cram all of this into the video card (and on the HDDs, DVDs and BDs) the overall texture detail needs to be decreased a little.

I mean, think about it. At the moment, textures make up for around 20GB of the game data. If you wanted to, say, double the resolution that goes up to around 40GB.
DM
Posted 09:41pm 05/10/11
Some textures are pretty damn good, but then there are others which look like utter pig s*** and are barely Half Life 1 quality. Very strange. F*****g consoles ruining the game...
fpot
Posted 09:42pm 05/10/11
With the price of HDD space and unlimited internets, why not make it 40GB?
parabol
Posted 11:20pm 05/10/11
If you wanted to, say, double the resolution that goes up to around 40GB.

If you're doubling in two dimensions that'll make it 80GB, not 40GB ...
DM
Posted 11:33pm 05/10/11
Well i'm about 3 hours in and ran into a game stopping bug. Game freezes while trying to load. It's not some side quest either but the main storyline quest. Back to BF3 beta to try and get my engie drone until this s*** be fixed.
SwissCM
Posted 09:15am 06/10/11
If you're doubling in two dimensions that'll make it 80GB, not 40GB ...

true.dat, though since it's all compressed it would probably end up being less than that.
parabol
Posted 09:24am 06/10/11
true.dat, though since it's all compressed it would probably end up being less than that.

I quoted the expected compressed size (80GB), given we're talking about 20GB of already-compressed textures.

Not sure why you think extra data = must be able to compress better ... that extra data is extra detail, and if you perform lossy compression then you're steering back towards the detail of the original (smaller) textures.

last edited by parabol at 09:24:50 06/Oct/11
SwissCM
Posted 09:42am 06/10/11
The texture compression is already lossy.
parabol
Posted 10:25am 06/10/11
The texture compression is already lossy

*facepalm*

You quoted the game's textures would be roughly 20GB, so:

Say the original textures are 40GB, with say lossy compression of 50% = 20GB (which is what's released).
Double-res textures are 40GB*4 = 160GB, with lossy compression of 50% = 80GB.

Your argument is that the 160GB of textures should somehow compress to less than 80GB, which I'm stating is false based on fundamental image-processing principles.
Fixah
Posted 10:25am 06/10/11
I watched an hour or so of the gameplay of this game at http://www.youtube.com/user/DSPGaming and the game is looking really good i must say, both in terms of graphics and gameplay. He is playing it on a high end PC with PC controls so the experience is just not going to be the same on a console. Don't know if i want to just hire it out on console and finish the campaign or just upgrade my PC (which i haven't done in 4 years) and be done with it. I'm always looking for a quick fix so it'll prolly be the former for now..
Ha
Posted 10:31am 06/10/11
how do you watch someone playing a game for an hour?
Hogfather
Posted 10:40am 06/10/11
SwissCM: you made a boo boo, just admit it dude!

Its fine to be wrong ... and it makes your actual point about the tradeoff between texture quality and non-repeating textures more valid, not less.
Fixah
Posted 12:30pm 06/10/11
how do you watch someone playing a game for an hour?
I look in the direction of my monitor and open my eyes.

It's an hour total of various clips. The dude's live commentary is quite entertaining.
DM
Posted 12:44pm 06/10/11
Finally the game loaded for me and I can say the best thing about this game is when you encounter Mutants. The AI behind them is unbelievably good and if you are playing on nightmare (why wouldn't you?) they put a fight not seen in most FPS games. Being that they are melee based you would expect them to just run right at you and be stupidly easy to take out. These guys I suspect have a bit of Psycho Mantis (or whoever that MGS boss was) in them which tracks your aiming movements and helps them dodge your shots.

So many times i've been tracking them with a shotgun only to have them dart out of the way as I shot or begin to circle strafe me. Mutant Bash was a real challenge I must say when you have to kill around 50 of them give or take. Really enjoying this game bugs aside.

EDIT - This is the worst part of the game though. Textures. I'm not sure if the engine is broken and not streaming the highest quality ones to me or not but this...

link
Bigger version here

Is not really acceptable in 2011 with the amount of power our computers have and for a game that is 25gb.

last edited by DM at 12:44:44 06/Oct/11
eski
Posted 01:40pm 06/10/11
I think the texture streaming must be buggy, as most reports I've heard say the textures in this game are second to none.
Mordecai
Posted 04:08pm 06/10/11
Found this via reddit:

http://www.geforce.com/News/articles/how-to-unlock-rages-high-resolution-textures-with-a-few-simple-tweaks

Shows you how to get over the forced lower quality textures and use the good higher quality ones.
boba
Posted 04:13pm 06/10/11
nice find
Sc00bs
Posted 04:14pm 06/10/11
so why are they showing gameplay footage of awesome textures, then force s*** ones and make the customer alter and tweak their product to make it look the same?

trog
Posted 04:22pm 06/10/11
so why are they showing gameplay footage of awesome textures, then force s*** ones and make the customer alter and tweak their product to make it look the same?
PC gamers are known to hate tweaking their settings to change the visual experience!
Sc00bs
Posted 04:26pm 06/10/11
Dont u think its a bit weak not just giving an option in game for low quality textures or not?

I mean having to go in and change s*** just to get the promised textures is a bit s*** imo
arc
Posted 04:28pm 06/10/11
So yeah.. Rage is way better than deus ex.. Just as I thought ;)
trog
Posted 04:37pm 06/10/11
Dont u think its a bit weak not just giving an option in game for low quality textures or not?

I mean having to go in and change s*** just to get the promised textures is a bit s*** imo
I guess, but of all the problems that a game can have on day 1 of release it doesn't seem like a big deal... remember this moment when BF3 comes out and we'll compare launch-day problems :)
DM
Posted 04:37pm 06/10/11
I don't know a whole lot about game design. When it comes time to make textures for a game though is it common practice now to design them specifically for consoles? It seems this is the case in rage despite the games massive size. Some textures like the canyon walls are rather impressively sharp. Then you go into Wellsprings or any other building and there are low res, blurry textures all over the place and I can't help but think "What the f***? How did you drop this ball in such random places?" Why can 1 part look so good and then in another look as if someone just said "f*** it that's good enough" Seriously some textures like the ones in my photo above look like they were taken out of half-life or even quake 2. Blurry as s***.

I am using a custom config right now with some of those link's lines put in so i'll go back to that same spot and take another photo showing before and after.
boba
Posted 04:39pm 06/10/11
what i find weak is the customisation of the video settings in game. There is none
Sc00bs
Posted 04:39pm 06/10/11
Bf3 has hyped itself up to be this perfect next gen shooter, so of course the scrutiny will be worse for that :P
arc
Posted 04:41pm 06/10/11
Shaddap and stop complaining.. It will all be patched and fixed in a week or so.. Then high res textures for all.

Then remember how dumb you are for hatin' on this game. F*****s
Mordecai
Posted 04:43pm 06/10/11
what i find weak is the customisation of the video settings in game. There is none

That's because the engine is designed to give you 60 frames whether you want that many or not and damn be the visuals. Auto detect for the win?
Pirroh
Posted 05:09pm 06/10/11
Pretty neat gif some posted on another forum.

http://www.geforce.com/Active/en_US/shared/images/articles/ragetexturetweak/RageComparison-Animated.gif

couldn't get image tag to work, just drag and drop
Sc00bs
Posted 05:12pm 06/10/11
wow i cant believe how horribly blurry the auto is :/
DM
Posted 05:53pm 06/10/11
Ok so this is what my rage looks like before the "high quality" tweaks. It's not an important room or anything, just a walled off section in the racing part of town next to the vehical parts vendor.
link

This is it after tweaking. High quality textures my fat arse. If I hadn't told you, you couldn't tell the difference between the 2 pictures.
link
Sc00bs
Posted 05:55pm 06/10/11
looks same to me :/
Reverend
Posted 06:31pm 06/10/11
How f*****g long does it take to decrypt (@ 420 KB ) the files in the game i left my pc on at 6.00 am this morning just got home and its on 77%, looked at a few forums and the pc version is getting panned for being a buggy pile of s*** .Please tell me ID havent f***ed me over !!!

Still It cant be as bad as black ops was when it was released..... Meh
Sc00bs
Posted 06:36pm 06/10/11
just seems like 90% of companies these days are failing hardcore with new releases of games =(
trog
Posted 06:43pm 06/10/11
This is it after tweaking. High quality textures my fat arse. If I hadn't told you, you couldn't tell the difference between the 2 pictures.
Umm... I can't tell the difference at all. Are you talking specifically about the ladder rungs or something?
DM
Posted 06:52pm 06/10/11
Just the texture quality in general. It's horrid. Look how blurry and crap everything looks. Isn't rage supposed to have epic PC graphics? Sure the canyon walls look pretty, some of the buildings from afar look nice and the NPCs are well done but everything else is very low quality.
arc
Posted 07:02pm 06/10/11
DM, you have to be kiddin' me mate. You obviously haven't got something setup right.. drivers, config settings, res, whatever. It's preposterous to think ID would release the game on PC with textures that are dated by 10 years (or worse than Deus Ex: HR)

Sorry, I just don't buy it.
fpot
Posted 07:36pm 06/10/11
Geez you sure do seem upset about this game not living up to its expectations arc. Did you help make it or something?
arc
Posted 07:54pm 06/10/11
nah, just layin' down the truth :)
trillion
Posted 08:09pm 06/10/11
compared to the entrance of wellspring where the textures are baus. you must have chosen the dankest out of the way place you could find behind the parts trader DM.

Python
Posted 08:25pm 06/10/11
link

Running on id tech 5

link
Hydro
Posted 08:34pm 06/10/11
In DM's picture there's something wrong, look at the texture on the wall on the left, it's much higher res than the wall at the back or the tires. Something's not right, but if he's done the tweaks then I'm not sure what's not right.
trillion
Posted 08:40pm 06/10/11
well here's the cost of checking how lush the 16k textures look

Asus GTX590 3G PCI Express
Internet Price: $918.00

:\
DM
Posted 09:01pm 06/10/11
The towns look pretty good. Usually where I find the low quality textures are in types of areas such as the wrecked garage and Ghost Hideout, those types of places. I'll just shut up about it now though. 16k textures look no different to me over the 8k ones. Still with all my b****ing it's a great game if a little hard to use at times due to the s***** mouse controls.
trillion
Posted 09:10pm 06/10/11
DM
Posted 09:26pm 06/10/11
Fine make fun of me. This is what I get for buying ATI. F*** it, i'm saving for a 590.
Python
Posted 09:34pm 06/10/11
Dealing with ATI drivers is never worth the price.
Midda
Posted 09:45pm 06/10/11
I always hear people complaining about the drivers for Radeon cards, but as an owner of a Radeon HD 6970, I don't understand what they're talking about.
Enska
Posted 09:48pm 06/10/11
Am I not the only one who notices the close up textures in trillions image are same as the ones in DM's?

seems like some things are textured well, some aren't from where I sit (which is having not played the game at all)
Obes
Posted 10:28pm 06/10/11
Dear "Ausgamers"

Please start making a big point of regionalised pricing in your review.

Perhaps even refusing to score them.

Infidel
Posted 11:12pm 06/10/11
Not just games but a lot of things, the government is aware of itunes pricing so mabye the can get some more awareness on other stuff http://www.smh.com.au/technology/biz-tech/apple-falling-too-far-from-wallets-20111005-1l9lg.html
Eorl
Posted 11:14pm 06/10/11
I see it to Enska. I see it in the bloody game as well. Running 2x 5770's, and have to disable crossfire in order to get it running well. And even then, I've made a custom config file that apparently fixes stuff, but doesn't. Well, it's stopped the popping of textures slightly. But yeah, some walls look really crisp and clean, and then suddenly the wall next to it looks like poop. Must be the auto engine going nuts...
m3nt4l
Posted 11:28pm 06/10/11
I always hear people complaining about the drivers for Radeon cards, but as an owner of a Radeon HD 6970, I don't understand what they're talking about.


Yeah I've had all sorts of ati, nvidia, intel and voodoo cards and have never had a prob
Khel
Posted 12:45am 07/10/11
compared to the entrance of wellspring where the textures are baus.


Really? Cos the textures on the wall to the left and on the ground nearest the camera look pretty awful.
eXemplar
Posted 01:33am 07/10/11
Was looking forward to this game, played it for maybe 10 minutes before I gave up.

Had the following problems from the outset,
- Game refuses to launch on main monitor and will always run on monitor #1, regardless as to whether it's set as main
- Mouse interaction in the main menu seems ok when I first ran the application, but once in a game it pretty much lags around like a drunken cs player when in any sort of interface
- Windowed mode just flat out breaks the mouse, refuses to accept any clicks inside the game or the system, like it somehow captures and discards clicks regardless of where they are
- The harped on texture pop-in is just horribly distracting and coming from other shooters the "movement" of the textures popping in after just killed it for me, can only ignore it so long

Bottom line - maybe has potential, plagued by release problems, regret buying this upfront and I'll not bother playing for another few months until the game comes out of beta-release.
arc
Posted 10:23am 07/10/11
ravn0s
Posted 01:41pm 07/10/11
the doom room

parabol
Posted 07:37pm 07/10/11
For anyone interested, I just picked up the game for 27.51AUD from these guys. Just have to follow their instructions for activating through a russian VPN (fairly easy, uses OpenVPN + config from free VPN trial site), and then you don't need the VPN anymore.

Downloading the game content as we speak ...
m3nt4l
Posted 07:47pm 07/10/11
link


I'm ATI and got the texture popping s*** so did this:

Fix for the texture problems.

1.Create a Rage shortcut with the following launch parameters:
+cvaradd g_fov 12 +com_allowconsole 1 +com_skipIntroVideo 1 +image_anisotropy 16 +image_usecompression 0 +g_showplayershadow 1 +m_smooth 0

2.Create a file called rageconfig.cfg in Rage/base/ and put the following commands in there:
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 8192
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 8192
vt_pageimagesizeunique 8192
vt_pageimagesizevmtr 8192

3. Go to CUsers\UserName\AppData\Local\ and create a folder called "id software" (without "). Then create a folder called "rage" (without ") inside that folder.

4. Run game and play.


worked a treat, not sure if I like this game yet, will play more and report
groganus
Posted 09:05pm 07/10/11
Cheers mental, that fixed the texture problems I was experiencing.

Im finding the game to be awesome. I think the engine is fantastic and it's a shame a couple of bugs have ruined it for some people.

Hopefully id sort that s*** out quick smart so people can start enjoying it.
do0b
Posted 09:22pm 07/10/11
I always hear people complaining about the drivers for Radeon cards, but as an owner of a Radeon HD 6970, I don't understand what they're talking about.
Jayman
Posted 09:25pm 07/10/11
Anyone know how'd this would play with a 3ghz C2D + ATI 5870? - 1650x1080? Don't even bother?
m3nt4l
Posted 09:27pm 07/10/11
ID games usually scale well, won't look so pretty but it will run, and run pretty smoothly.
Reverend
Posted 09:32pm 07/10/11
Well for me this game has turned out to be like every other post apocolyptic shooter boring as bat s*** ... Maybe I was expecting to much but the game physics feel f***en terrible.

Not impressed at all, why cant they make this game feel like Quake3. Massive Fail +++
Gabby
Posted 09:45pm 07/10/11
Why are there so many decent games coming out close to exams.
ravn0s
Posted 10:07pm 07/10/11
Not impressed at all, why cant they make this game feel like Quake3.


because it's not q3
Mordecai
Posted 12:28am 08/10/11
Why are there so many decent games coming out close to exams.

Because the game studios hate students?
BladeRunner
Posted 01:54am 08/10/11
Mordecai
Posted 10:07am 08/10/11
Blade: http://s2.postimage.org/p5y7cero/rage_2011_10_07_21_27_45_55.jpg

Looks good until you notice the top left hand side of the picture. Is that a 4x4 pixel texture map?
m3nt4l
Posted 10:12am 08/10/11
Looks like a glitch, when I did that race it didn't look like that.
m3nt4l
Posted 12:16pm 08/10/11
Its not a very open world to explore, for example when I was in the waster garage, someone lobbed a grenade at me so I went to duck up a staircase which had a mattress on it, no can do, I can't climb a mattress.
Also I wanted to go to the ghost hideout so did the bandit postal run to earn some cash on the way, except when you finish the postal run it takes you back to wellsprings.
ravn0s
Posted 12:18pm 08/10/11
Its not a very open world to explore, for example when I was in the waster garage, someone lobbed a grenade at me so I went to duck up a staircase which had a mattress on it, no can do,


that's where the quake easter egg is
BassMan
Posted 01:06pm 08/10/11
Not to sound stupid, but how do I change the active quest? (on PS3)

...really enjoying this one so far!
qmass
Posted 02:06pm 08/10/11
Its not a very open world to explore, for example when I was in the waster garage, someone lobbed a grenade at me so I went to duck up a staircase which had a mattress on it, no can do, I can't climb a mattress.
Also I wanted to go to the ghost hideout so did the bandit postal run to earn some cash on the way, except when you finish the postal run it takes you back to wellsprings.
I don't know why id ever gave the impression that it was because what is there is all excellent as long as you don't go in with false expectations. The game is essentially a half-life 2 episode X style linear shooter - including vehicle segments between shooty bits and non combat NPC areas. There is a wafer thin rpg aspect (little bit of crafting/collecting/upgrading) to satisfy the gamer OCD craving and break up the pacing and add depth to the combat. If you just go in expecting a doom style level after level of awesome shooting action the game is the best id have ever made, nostalgia aside.

As long as you play it like its linear, only going to locations when you have a quest directing you there, you wont miss anything and youll enjoy the experiance more because exploration is essentially pointless. (mission levels should be scoured ocd style for epic trash and hubs should be fully explored to get all the quests and upgrades plus the racing can be pretty fun in short bursts)

All the missed opportunities or linearity makes me think what fallout 3 could have been if id had made it on this engine. Even better than that, if the game is successful and id stay on this new path, maybe rage 2 will be the game bethsoft wishes they could make but cant because they suck s*** at animation and fun visceral combat.
Nukleuz
Posted 02:20pm 08/10/11
Not sure how credible megagames is but I laughed at the title of their article concerning Rage.

Rage Graphics Suck on PC
parabol
Posted 02:49pm 08/10/11
What the f*** kind of PC launch is this. Out of the box (well, cdkey):

* Firstly Steam is like "your driver version X.Y is out of date, please update", even though I updated 2 days ago, so I follow its link and it takes me to the exact same driver I have installed.

* Unskippable logos .. in an id game, wtf? (yes I know there's a workaround)
* Unskippable intro cutscene?
* Intro cutscene has extremely distorted/clipped audio.
* Graphical glitches in the menu
* Texture popping in the -tiny- level 1 start room on an nvidia card
* Menu buttons only work if you click on the text, which is much smaller than the button itself.

* In-game: "look up", "look down", "Keep inverse mouse settings?" - I click yes and then it pauses the game for 5 seconds, asking me not to turn off my PC - as if I was JUST about to hit the power button or pull the power cord otherwise. WTF guys! And why should it take 5 seconds to write a tiny config file of that one setting ... in the first 10 seconds of the game.

* I go outside and it looks like a combination of high-res PC and super-low-res console textures (even with the fixes applied) - what a f*****g mess!

Rage makes me rage, but luckily I spent less than $30 on it. WTB patch ...



last edited by parabol at 14:49:15 08/Oct/11
groganus
Posted 02:52pm 08/10/11
The good news is, this will iron all the bugs out for the next developer to release a solid game that uses the engine to its full advantage with out pissing consumers off.
m3nt4l
Posted 03:01pm 08/10/11
qmass, yeah I'm having fun playing with it, it's just when a grenade is thrown at you, I'd like to be able to duck up the staircase a little bit not be stuck by a mattress :P
And when I finish a mission I'd like it to leave me where I finish it, not return me back to the start when I'm about to go all that way again.
Mordecai
Posted 03:07pm 08/10/11
The good news is, this will iron all the bugs out for the next developer to release a solid game that uses the engine to its full advantage with out pissing consumers off.

What other developers? Bethesda and .. id? The engine is not being licensed to anyone that isn't published by Bethesda.

http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2010/08/12/id-not-licensing-id-tech-5/

“It’s going to be used within ZeniMax, so we’re not going to license it to external parties. It’s like, look, this is a competitive advantage and we want to keep it within games we publish – not necessarily exclusively to id or id titles, but if you’re going to make a game with id Tech 5 then it needs to be published by Bethesda, which I think is a fair thing.”
Khel
Posted 03:17pm 08/10/11
I click yes and then it pauses the game for 5 seconds, asking me not to turn off my PC - as if I was JUST about to hit the power button or pull the power cord otherwise. WTF guys!


Its because on console, its a requirement of certifcation that you display those sorts of messages when you're autosaving, you'll notice all console games have some kind "Please do not turn off the console while saving" message. So I'm guessing they just changed the text to be don't turn off your computer instead of console for the PC version.
parabol
Posted 03:25pm 08/10/11
Its because on console, its a requirement of certifcation that you display those sorts of messages when you're autosaving, you'll notice all console games have some kind "Please do not turn off the console while saving" message. So I'm guessing they just changed the text to be don't turn off your computer instead of console for the PC version

Yes I'm aware of what's done on consoles with game data being saved on potentially slow flash media along with the console having to support being switched off suddenly without corrupting anything.

However in my opinion this sort of game interruption has no place in a PC game, given you're not meant to turn off a PC suddenly, and the saved-game media is usually a regular fast hard-drive - not potentially a 500kB/s yum-cha USB stick that someone has plugged in ...

It's often the little things (which are repeated many times throughout the game) that have a large impact on the end-user experience.
groganus
Posted 04:51pm 08/10/11
What other developers? Bethesda and .. id? The engine is not being licensed to anyone that isn't published by Bethesda.


What.... How un id... !
qmass
Posted 05:34pm 08/10/11
id was sold to bethesda, why the f*** are you still going on about how un id stuff is?

the textures will never be as sharp as other games because its not what megatextures are good at. (at least, not for console release games) Apparently the compressed size for the high res textures is something like 80gigs and requires 3gigs vram... so its possible but not very efficient.

the engine is PERFECTLY suited to racing games and flight sims... the textures all look really nicely detailed as long as you dont get too close :P
m3nt4l
Posted 05:38pm 08/10/11
I've played a bit more and it's fun, some of it looks brilliant, other bits not so much.

When you do the mutant tv arena thing, make sure you have lot's of ammo.
groganus
Posted 05:41pm 08/10/11
id was sold to bethesda, why the f*** are you still going on about how un id stuff is?


Settle petal, id have always made engines to sell, in fact i dare say most of there fortune has come from just that...

It's a shame but crytek is on the market as is unreal alot of studio's are coming up with there own engines in house these days so I guess its not too surprising.

I agree though, the engine would be perfect for racing games and flight sims, but given the studio that owns it i highly doubt will see either of those 2 types of games on this engine.
m3nt4l
Posted 05:42pm 08/10/11
the next fallout on it would be good though....
groganus
Posted 06:02pm 08/10/11
I don' disagree but It's easy to say that given how rage (a post apocolyptic game) runs on it. Am i right in thinking that skyrim is using a modified version of the engine? If so I am even more curious to see how that goes.
Eorl
Posted 07:48pm 08/10/11
I don' disagree but It's easy to say that given how rage (a post apocolyptic game) runs on it. Am i right in thinking that skyrim is using a modified version of the engine? If so I am even more curious to see how that goes.

They are using a completely different engine I think. Don't quote me on that, could be wrong.
BladeRunner
Posted 09:10pm 08/10/11
Skyrim is running on a heavily modified version of the Gamebryo engine as far as I know. As in torn down and built up from scratch or something.

Edit: Also so many invisible walls in Rage is makeing me Rage. I want to jump on random rock or piece of geometry and I should be able to. It would allow for a little bit better game play.
sCOOBY
Posted 09:22pm 08/10/11
ahaha @ parabols review. so true. some pretty basic stuff wrong.
but the sexy environments and the classic id fps feel are making it fun for me so far
groganus
Posted 09:36pm 08/10/11
Wiki reckons skyrim is on the creation engine.

Only other games planed for id tech 5 at this stage are prey 2 (citation needed) and doom 4. I don't know if that's a good or a bad thing.
m3nt4l
Posted 12:10am 09/10/11
Bah, was just getting into it, and now I can't get back into the shrouded bunker for the rc upgrade.
qmass
Posted 12:17am 09/10/11
prey 2
modified id tech 4.

and there is no way that skyrim is a brand new engine, there are too many artifacts from gamebryo evident in the videos to be wholly new... it has obviously been heavily modified though.
m3nt4l
Posted 03:35pm 09/10/11
Save Game: File corrupt

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
parabol
Posted 05:25pm 09/10/11
Latest patch:
- Implemented workaround for AMD driver crash right after intro cinematic
on Win 7 32-bit systems.
- Disabled UBOs because they are causing animation issues with AMD drivers.
- Don't allow swap-tear to be enabled on AMD while the extension is not
exposed because it may crash.
- Support for new video settings: "texture cache", "vsync" and
"anisotropic filter"
.
- Automatically adjust vt_maxPPF based on the number of available cores.
- Improved performance for SLI cards when GPU transcode is enabled.
- Fix for GPU Transcoding option being disabled after exiting gameplay.
- Added safe mode to restore video settings to default values.
- Allow g_fov to be changed from the RAGE launch options in Steam.
- Server now forwards text chat from clients to all other clients while
in-game.
Timmeh
Posted 06:50pm 09/10/11
i dont like it.
WetWired
Posted 10:57am 25/10/11
I just finished it, the ending was very abrupt and pissweak, I had no idea it was even the final mission the story setup was pathetic, there was never really any feeling of escalation.
Commenting has been locked for this item.
176 Comments
Show