Cam Lee Inquisition
Dragon Age: Inquisition producer Cameron Lee has become a fixture here at AusGamers. The Aussie ex-pat took tie out of his Gamescom duties to chat with us again. Check it out!
Wrestling Time
We take a look at 2K Games' latest WWE contender and find out just what the game has in store for fans of the wrestling series. Click here for our full preview!
Resident Evil Within
The Evil Within is creeping up just around the release corner, so we decided to take a look back at Shinji Mikami's incredible Resident Evil 4. Click here for more!
handsome devil
We took the five winged, five week challenge with Hearthstone's first campaign and walked away less deathrattled than you might think. Read on for more!
AusGamers Games
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

PC | Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Developer: CD Projekt RED Official Site: http://www.thewitcher.com/
Publisher: Namco Bandai Games Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
17th April 2012
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

Genre: Role Playing
Developer: CD Projekt RED
Official Site: http://www.thewitcher...
Publisher: Namco Bandai Games
Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
17th April 2012
Hide Video Player
Click To View the The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition Video
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition Review
Review By @ 05:20pm 13/04/12
XBOX360
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings – Enhanced Edition, besides having one mouthful of a title, takes a lot for granted. There is an expectation of familiarity with both RPG conventions, the series itself and a level of gaming competency immediately apparent with the steep learning curve. It doesn’t pull its punches. For veterans of the genre this is just par for the course and many will relish the challenge, but for those not bound by blood to the RPG and the hundreds upon hundreds of hours of finicky gameplay, the jump can be jarring and frustrating. Make no mistake, if you’re a newcomer to the genre you’re throwing yourself in the deep end with The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings.

Now that I’ve knocked the pesky disclaimers out of the way it’s time to break down the nitty-gritty. Just under a year ago developer CD Projekt Red released the second title in its PC only series based on the best selling fantasy novels featuring the same central character by Polish author Andrzej Sapkowski (you can find Kostas’ thoroughly entertaining review of the original PC version here). Extremely well received, many of us console types felt slighted getting the short end of the stick again with yet another stellar PC exclusive. Little did we know that CD Projekt Red had our back.



Eleven months on, with added content and tweaks designed specifically for consoles, the “Enhanced Edition” has dropped on Xbox 360 but how well does it fare against the more recent offerings of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning and Mass Effect 3? A year can make a hell of a difference in terms of development and while it does shine for the most part there are a few missteps along the way.

You take up the mantle of famed witcher Geralt of Rivia, also known as The White Wolf (insert Game of Thrones “Ghost” reference here). Witchers are feared and revered monster hunters by profession blessed with supernatural abilities and combat proficiency. Geralt has lost his memory and as he wanders the land trying to piece together the shattered fragments of his past he manages to ingratiate himself to a local king and finds himself in his service.

In the midst of a petty squabble between the monarch and his estranged queen (also known as war) the entitled royal pain in the arse manages to get himself perished with Geralt only footsteps away. The assassin taking the form of a pious monk was actually a rogue witcher, Letho, in disguise who has taken it upon himself to relieve those with a crown of the burden of life and exits the scene of the crime in dramatic fashion leaving Geralt to explain the dead royal at his feet. Incarcerated for a murder he did not commit the stage is now set as Geralt looks to clear his name, recover his memories and avenge the king’s death.

Right off the bat there’s a lot to like about this set up. It’s a refreshing change of pace from the “save the world from impending doom/disaster/annihilation/big bad” formula. There’s a grittier, more down to earth feeling (if that’s possible) to this fantastic adventure due to the adult themed concepts (no, I don’t mean boobies) and branching mission structure. Overtones of racism with most non-humans herded into slum-like ghettos feel eerily real reflecting modern era struggles for equality and add significantly more weight to your decisions. Things aren’t always black and white with your role as a witcher to distinguish between the two and choose your own shades of grey.



A prime example appears in the first chapter where a troublesome troll has destroyed the local village of Flotsam’s bridge under his care and begun extorting the populace. You can tackle this mission several ways with the easiest summary execution of said beastie with most of the villagers calling for its death. Doing so gives you a tough mini boss battle with the troll no cakewalk. However, mid-fight a dialogue option opens up appealing to the less bloodthirsty witchers out there and takes this simple quest in a whole new direction.

It seems some monster intolerant ruffians have killed the troll’s partner and the loss of his missus has driven the poor bastard to drink. After getting the 4-1-1 on the troll from some of the more open-minded villagers I decided to lighten up my inventory via a local tradesman. Whether it was fate, karma or just pure dumb luck I noticed he had a troll head mounted in his hut. On closer inspection I realised it was said troll’s lady friend and after quizzing the tradesman on its history he led me to a crew of bandits who were responsible, cuing up a graveyard showdown with the culprits.

After introducing them the pointy end of my sword all up close and personal like, I was about to head back to the troll and realised he might want the head back as a memento of his lost love. This opened up another mini-quest as the only way the owner would part with the trophy was if I could beat him in a dice game, but he doesn’t just play with anyone. I had to seek out and defeat four other dicemen before showing this guy what time it was. Sure, I could have just killed the troll and been done with it, but sheathing my weapon and using my mind for a moment opened up an hour or so of side-questing that was extremely satisfying, surprising and more in keeping with my own moral compass. It is in this flowing sort of mission structure that The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings breaks from convention and really stands out from the crowd.



Geralt is the hero you want him to be. You can advance conversation trees with subtle magical manipulation, persuasion or straight out intimidation as you gaining competency in each strain with a successful attempt. Completing side missions also garner their own rewards beyond the usual XP windfall. Clearing out a local notice/bounty board can net you some gold coins for the purse but also yields designs for more powerful weapons that can make a significant difference in upcoming battles. Given the extremely linear nature of your path, as opposed to the open world template most other RPGs now follow, it is in your best interests to suck the marrow from The Witcher 2’s bones and get everything out of it you possible can.

Those thinking they can approach enemies with a hacky-slashy mentality and hope for the best will be in for a rude awakening. Early on enemies will make you their bitch with each battle, regardless of the opponent, feeling very much like a fight for your very life. There are very few pushovers. Enemies have a tendency to swarm and you’ll need to be both nimble on your feet and measured with your attacks. Strategy is key and it gives the combat significantly more depth you’d think at first glance.

A well-rounded assault package utilising all your witcher’s talents is the key to success. Swordplay only gets you so far. Blocking and parrying is essential as well as formulating a game plan. You’ll need to use a combination of potions for momentary buffs, enhance your weapons with rune-stones and poisons, and reinforce your armour, set traps and craft bombs to vary up your attacks. Opponents will do their best to back you into corners or push your back up against the wall so situational awareness is paramount if you want to survive.

Spells are layered and upgradeable offering protection, magical traps, the ability to turn foes against one another or are capable of unleashing powerful kinetic blasts (super fun during skirmishes on any structure with a drop), though I was partial to anything incendiary. Combining a specific bomb known as Dragon’s Breath that does gas damage on its own with a flambé blast yielded devastating results and became one of my go-to options time and time again. Choosing to focus on a few specific spells on your skill-tree is a much better option than slowly rounding out them all and does leave the door open for multiple playthroughs offering different magical options.



So now that I’ve shined a light on everything that works beautifully, it’s time to look at the dank dark corners. Without the game installed there are light texture pop ins as well as characters appearing and disappearing in cut scenes as well as some combat anomalies. Occasionally enemies will magically teleport mid fight (not part of their skill set), which can become frustrating. Some of these do dissipate once the game is installed, but it is worth mentioning. Also hit recognition can be sporadic and button presses slow to respond which is a real issue in the heat of battle. It momentarily soured an overall satisfying experience and considering how tough the combat is in general, it really should have been more closely addressed.

The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings – Enhanced Edition is an unconventional and layered RPG with a steep learning curve that is not for the uninitiated or faint of heart. Baring a few faltering steps it is a well rounded and thought provoking tale offering far more than its linear progression should allow. Given the success of the PC sequel and the strides forward taken by the Enhanced Edition from a console perspective I’m looking forward to a third outing covering all platforms equally to see where Geralt of Rivia’s epic journey takes him next.
WHAT WE LIKED
Bloody tough
Layered quests
Detailed character and structure design
Adult themes of persecution
WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE
Combat hiccups
Pop in characters
Expectation of familiarity
MORE...
WE GAVE IT:
8.4
OUT OF 10
AusGamers
Latest Comments
Trauma
Posted 06:49pm 13/4/12
I got the boxed PC version (no steam), so how do I go about updating this to the enhanced ed whenever it's available?
Dan
Posted 07:14pm 13/4/12
If it's like the enhanced edition for the first Witcher, there will t be a downloadable Patch.

However, this time around, they're actually letting boxed copy owners activate with GOG.com for a backup copy. Which -- in addition to being a completely awesome thing to do -- means you'll be able to download the entire Enhanced Edition from them if that's easier.

'm not sure if that gog.com backup thing will mean that they won't release a redistributable upgrade patch as well though.
Trauma
Posted 07:40pm 13/4/12
Righto, thx.
Khel
Posted 07:43pm 13/4/12
Is the patch for the PC version actually out now too?
Midda
Posted 07:54pm 13/4/12
I loaded up the game to see if the launcher would ask to update, abd had a link down the bottom which said "Enhanced Edition available for pre-download now. Click here to start the update!" It linked me to an "update downloader" which is getting it now.
Zevalra
Posted 11:38pm 15/4/12
Great review! Well thought out and nicely detailed. Really made me want to go out and buy this!
Commenting has been locked for this item.
6 Comments
Show
 
Log In
User:  
Pass:  

Advertise with Us | Download Media Kit | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2014 AusGamers™ Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
A Mammoth Media web development / Australian VPS Hosting by Mammoth Networks