Cam Lee Inquisition
Dragon Age: Inquisition producer Cameron Lee has become a fixture here at AusGamers. The Aussie ex-pat took tie out of his Gamescom duties to chat with us again. Check it out!
Wrestling Time
We take a look at 2K Games' latest WWE contender and find out just what the game has in store for fans of the wrestling series. Click here for our full preview!
Resident Evil Within
The Evil Within is creeping up just around the release corner, so we decided to take a look back at Shinji Mikami's incredible Resident Evil 4. Click here for more!
handsome devil
We took the five winged, five week challenge with Hearthstone's first campaign and walked away less deathrattled than you might think. Read on for more!
AusGamers Games
Cities XL 2012
Cities XL 2012

PC
Genre: Simulator
Official Site: http://www.focus-home.com
Publisher: Focus Home Interactive
Release Date:
20th October 2011
Cities XL 2012

Genre: Simulator
Official Site: http://www.focus-home...
Publisher: Focus Home Inter...
Release Date:
20th October 2011
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Cities XL 2012 Video
Cities XL 2012 Review
Review By @ 01:08pm 24/10/11
PC
There are certain games that, by the sheer precipice of their design, enthral you with various possibilities. These titles are usually very developer hype heavy, with heaps of exciting gameplay demonstrations, amazing detailed screenshots and revolutionary new engines. CitiesXL 2012 is, or should I say was, one of those games.

Cities XL originally released back in 2009 to a relatively muted response. What was an incredibly ambitious project, involving taking the concept of Sim City to a global scale, failed spectacularly after the developers chose to make players pay a subscription fee for what was essentially the core aspect of the game – its trading functions. These functions effectively allowed you to connect your city to any other in the world, enabling you to customise the output (whether power, food, fuel etc) and become part of an essential ecosystem of trading.

This system, while impressive, was seriously flawed in its inability to manage when the player base was low, as it was when the game launched. A backup system of AI based trading was completely broken and made it all but impossible to expand or grow your cities when you did not have access to certain essential elements, such as food or electricity. Even the public transport system required links to other cities and didn’t effectively function as a feature, to the bemusement of city-sim stalwarts.



The reason I bring up an older version in a review of a new title is that, in all matter of the words, 2012 is the original with some minor tweaks and additions. The multiplayer element has been completely stripped out, and elements such as tax, public transport and trading have been completely overhauled. Unfortunately for the new developers, Focus Home Interactive, simply taking a property that was based around an MMO system and making it singleplayer focused doesn’t solve any problems, it just creates new ones.

But, firstly, credit where credit is due. The amazing sandbox that existed in the original edition is still there, and the UI has been given a much needed overhaul. Selecting new zoning types, gauging the mood of your demanding populace and checking traffic patterns can all be done in less than 3 clicks, making for a much faster and simpler play. The complexity hasn’t been lost either, with everything from jobs, to housing, leisure and education needs all requiring that micromanaged touch.

The engine has to be one of the best designed yet in the genre and everything from complex highway systems to enormous bridges and tunnels are just a matter of click and drag. Buildings are not bought in Cities but are developed by “zoning” squares which automatically form once certain pre-requisites (such as available road access and people to inhabit them) exist. Once established, everything seems to take on a life of its own, growing and changing as your city grows and evolves.

Things can get quite hectic as you fight to balance the growth of your city with the needs of the existing population. New inhabitants need housing and jobs, while your existing citizenry cry for better policing, activities and complain about your terrible road system. On more than one occasion I found myself bulldozing whole neighbourhoods to completely re-design a road network I had given almost zero foresight to.



The welcome changes to tax provide a much needed level of control over your income, and the addition of a working bus network provides some relevancy to real-world situations. That said, you’ll be almost overcome with frustration trying to manage the finicky and arbitrary “rules” around road spacing before the game grants you access to bus routes. What right minded person would build a new city in this century without buses and trains from the get go?

Sadly, it’s from this point where everything starts to fall down by putting obtuse obstacles in your path. As if you don’t have enough motivation to continue anyway, the game floods you with ridiculous milestones that range from the obvious (10000 citizens!) to the idiotic (you’re in deficit!). You can’t get access to things like freeways, trains and buses until the game considers you experienced enough to deal with them. Then when it does grant them, it doesn’t tell you how to use them effectively.

Strangely, though, you do have access to the powerful bridge builder at the beginning of the game, but it doesn’t give you any advice on how to take advantage of them. That said, by the time they are useful, you won’t have any available space to manage them effectively and will end up doing one of the various “mass bulldozes” that are inevitable due to poor planning on the games’ lack of proper progression mechanics.

Eventually, Cities will decide that it will unlock the various citizenry “demands” for fuel/food and so on, that used to centre on the online trading functions of the original game. But since there is no longer an online system, you’re then tasked to create various OTHER cities yourself to facilitate those demands. Sure, you can sometimes extract some oil or generate some power yourself, but good luck finding land to farm on the same map.



So after 6-7 hours of play, you’re left with a stark choice. Either abandon the city you’ve invested to much time in to go and create another city and start all over again, or find a map type that facilitates *all* of the various essentials that make up modern life and give it another go. Both choices leave pretty bad tastes in my mouth; you shouldn’t be expected to abandon your city, in order to create another city, to support the original city you started. I’m sorry Focus, but that’s not a good enough replacement.

When it comes down to it, Cities XL 2012 is even less of a complete title than its predecessor was. When the removal of a core gameplay feature isn’t replaced with an effective replacement, what you’re left with is a broken game. No effort has been taken to bring C:XL to “2012” standards in the way of a graphics overhaul, and it still runs like a dog with 3 legs to boot.

So, with great respect to fantastic sandbox that’s hidden under all of the various bugs, glitches and broken feature mechanics, it’s hard to recommend this one to anyone who doesn’t have a (very) strong urge to build their own metropolis.
WHAT WE LIKED
Amazing sandbox engine, building is a breeze
Concerted attempt to make the game single player friendly
WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE
The fundamental game is still broken, especially traffic and trading
Very poor performance, even on high end machines
Dated graphics, sound and overall presentation
Still full of the same bugs and glitches that plagued the original
MORE...
WE GAVE IT:
5.0
OUT OF 10
AusGamers
Latest Comments
Morax
Posted 04:51pm 24/10/11
Wow just read the review. Such a shame the way they went about it. The franchise had so much potential at first.

I spent a huge amount of hours playing around in the Cities XL beta, and enjoyed it a lot apart from all the bugs that needed ironing out. By the sounds of the review, a lot of the annoying things haven't been figured out at all.

We need a good new city builder game!
JamesPinnell
Posted 05:36pm 24/10/11
Agreed. I was hoping that the new developers had taken one some of the feedback in relation to trading and the completely stupid traffic system. Instead, they simply added useless themes and landmarks, and selling the game as a full priced release instead of the glorified patch.

I bet there's still a big market out there for a great city builder.
skythra
Posted 05:57pm 24/10/11
Good review James.
Morax
Posted 07:55pm 24/10/11
There needs to be a game that combines Sim City awesomeness with Transport Tycoon epicness!
carson
Posted 01:18pm 25/10/11
It's a shame this sucks so hard. I really want something like Sim City to fill the gap!

I agree with Morax 1000% though. Sim City + Transport Tycoon = f*****g epic awesome pie.
Trauma
Posted 03:35pm 25/10/11
I don't mind this game, but I never expected it to be like Sim City.
Commenting has been locked for this item.
6 Comments
Show
 
Log In
User:  
Pass:  

Advertise with Us | Download Media Kit | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2014 AusGamers™ Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
A Mammoth Media web development / Australian VPS Hosting by Mammoth Networks