At a preview event we had the chance to go hands on with the emotional, harrowing, and stunning The Last Of Us Part II – an experience that left us remembering every face and life we put an end to.
The Last of Us Part II Preview – Harrowing and Unforgettable
The side-scrolling 2.5D sequel improves on the Banjo Kazooie spiritual successor with some help from Donkey Kong Country.
Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair Review
Bustin' makes us feel good in this remaster of the unofficial Ghostbusters 3.
Ghostbusters: The Video Game Remastered Review
Elements of the Souls-like wrapped up in a tale about human augmentation with chunky pieces of metal you’d refer to as limbs.
The Surge 2 Review - Sci-Fi Souls Returns
Grand Theft Auto V Next-Gen
Grand Theft Auto V Next-Gen

PC | PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
Genre: Adventure
Developer: Rockstar Official Site: http://rockstargames.com/V
Publisher: Rockstar Games
Release Date:
November 2014
Grand Theft Auto V Next-Gen - High-Res Chaos Review
Review By @ 12:04pm 02/12/14
XBOXONE
In my Grand Theft Auto V review for PS3 and Xbox 360, I lamented a handful of minor things including the game’s sometimes lower-end textures and minute moments of pop-up. It was hardly game-breaking and certainly never took anything away from the experience, but it was noticeable nonetheless.

Welcome to next-gen Los Santos then, a highly-detailed and texture-rich update to the place we visited before, also now brimming with more life and more things to do, resulting in more options for fun and chaos.



I’ll get to the skinny, because that’s all you want and need to know. If you’re after a detail-heavy review on the base-game, here’s my original 9.8/10 write-up. For full transparency, and so you don’t need to go to the bottom of the page, the new content, updated visuals, enhanced life and first-person mode is worth more than .2, but there’s nowhere else to go, so the next-gen (and eventual PC) version of Grand Theft Auto V is a 10/10 game. The second 10 I’ve delivered this year and only the fourth in my career.

It’s hard not to go that high though. This updated version of GTA V -- the most successful entry in the series and one of the most successful videogames of all time -- is not just a res’d up port. There’s care, love and forethought thrown into the game, like it was being developed for the new machines all along. No stone is left unturned, and you can cite all the marketing bullet-points you like, such as an expanded 30-players online, returning player rewards, all previously-released content retail packaged in, those updated visuals and more, but it’s the coalescence of these things as a whole that flesh out what is easily one of the best experiences you’ll have in a game in 2014.

The base stuff remains the same. You’ll play through the story and all that has to offer, with dynamic options along the way, as you did before. Obviously if you’re a returning player you can make different decisions to the ones you may have before for a different outcome, but the truth is there’s nothing overly new from a campaign sense. Oh, wait there is -- you can play the damn thing in first-person now, which fundamentally changes the game, and in many cases for the better.



The unique nature of this idea is that the last GTA outing (and Red Dead Redemption), along with GTA V, featured Euphoria skeletal physics for characters and animals. Movement is a tad slow, but more realistic than canned animations, because momentum and terrain affect your body’s physical motion. This is why missions with players hanging onto moving objects, with one hand or whatever, are so much fun in this series, but in first-person the game feels even more realistic to a point that it’s thoroughly in your face, in a good way. You might discover that some sequences clearly haven’t been designed to deal with your being able to get your face right up in the game’s grill (the drunken Freaks and Strangers mission Trevor performs early on is a great example of this), but these minor sequences are few and far between and usually offer a bit of hilarity anyway.

The first-person viewpoint isn’t a tacked-on system, either. It’s a fully customisable option designed to give you the ultimate GTA V experience, as you’d prefer it. You can even set the game to play in third-person while you’re on-foot, and flick to first-person when you enter a vehicle. And that’s just one example. It also doesn’t feel like a floaty shooter. Movement is defined by your actions and the first-person sensation is reflected in this. You’re also not always walking around poking a gun in the face of everyone you see, which is a weird twist for such a twisted game like GTA, but the majority of the time you’re just looking at your hands or feet. Oh, but be warned, melee combat in first-person, with the foot stomp is… well it’s brutal.

The game’s already rich world, as I’ve touched on a bit already, is now bolstered with more life and variety. Early on I parked a car I’d stolen as Franklin outside Michael’s house. Hours later (like, three or four) the car was still there. I’d never seen any consistency like that in the previous build before, and it’s just one example of what the new power in the new machines offered the team. Cars are no longer repeated based on the one you’re in, and the game’s wildlife, peds and foliage is upped to the nines. It’s just so densely layered it’s hard to put a single finger on any one thing that stands out this time around (though if I had to, I’d put it on water. Fuck it’s gorgeous to look at, ride on and swim in).



And let’s not forget that the PC version isn’t even here yet. We may have to raise our scoring system to 11 for that one, but at its most base level, GTA V is a long and inviting investment of fun and engagement, but with everything else now added in the updated versions, it’s like they finally put a ring on it. If we’re to use that metaphor, consider the first release as a dating partner and GTA V next-gen as our newly minted engagement. Maybe the PC version is wedding bells then? Either way, you’re stuck with this bad-boy for life -- for good and for bad, for better or worse, except there really is none of that, sticking it out with Rockstar’s magnum opus is more akin to a lifetime of fun -- the perfect partner who gives in double what it takes, and all it takes is your time -- time well spent, in my opinion. One of the year’s gaming’s best and not to be missed.
What we liked
  • Gorgeous visual update
  • More life on the roads, footpaths and in the wild
  • first-person mode changes the game
  • Bolstered online mode
  • Eons of content to devour
  • That water... so gorgeous
What we didn't like
  • Open the casino already!
  • Some sections of the game aren't supposed to be seen in first-person mode
More
We gave it:
10.0
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
Jeffro
Posted 12:50pm 02/12/14
GTA Online has a few bugs on Xbox One but they have been adding a lot of patches to it lately so hopefully it will be running smooth soon. It is still very playable though. A lot more so then it was at the 360/PS3 launch anyway.
Lewk
Posted 05:55pm 02/12/14
How can you give any game 10.0 out of 10? It's absolutely not possible. There's no such thing as a perfect game.
Audi
Posted 07:11pm 02/12/14
Lets be honest PC Watchdogs looks a f*** load better than this "next gen" version of GTA.
FSCB
Posted 10:21pm 02/12/14
Yeah but it isn't about graphics alone audi
Llian
Posted 10:26pm 02/12/14
Eh....scrolled to the bottom and read the rating. 10. So.... a perfect game then. Apparently.

Looking at the screenshots, yes it is a nice looking console game. Still, nothing to write home about compared to what it should look like on PC.

Also, "Certain hardfail scenarios could have been handled with a more dynamic player-driven outcome" Is this fixed? If not, it is a not a perfect game still.
Whoop
Posted 11:13pm 02/12/14
How can you give any game 10.0 out of 10? It's absolutely not possible. There's no such thing as a perfect game.

uh oh, #ausgamersgate

Every time I hear the hype about GTA V I think s*** yeah, gonna buy this. Then I see gameplay videos and my enthusiasm dies. It just looks boring. Maybe it's not boring but all the gameplay videos I watch make it seem like it is.
groganus
Posted 11:27pm 02/12/14
Its a tad slower paced that previous iterations but it can be as fast and fun as you want it to be. They really nailed the sandbox with GTAV. I wouldn't be so quick to dismiss it.

I've been playing the s*** out of the next gen version, slowly working my way through the storyline again but most of my time is spent in GTAO. I kind of gave it a skip on the the last gen systems cause it was so unstable at launch. But now its f*****g awesome experience and I'm having tons of fun in it. Never short of activities to do and randoms to screw over.
Viper119
Posted 11:54pm 02/12/14
I only got half way through GTA 5, but it's awesome, the missions / main storyline was super fun and interesting.
zaraq
Posted 12:38am 03/12/14
Lewk Chaos Theory got 10/10 and voted the best game in the known universe year after year and as far as i know no other game has ever come close not even Hitman Absolution 3/10 sn*****.
Eorl
Posted 09:31am 03/12/14
The rating 10 has never been positioned as a perfect game on AusGamers, more that it stands as an excellent game that offers incredible features and above all else amazing gameplay.

Grand Theft Auto V is definitely this, especially more so on new-gen/PC. I'm playing on PS4 and am once again being blown away by just how alive the world feels over the past-gen consoles. Animals are everywhere, people are everywhere and cars are everywhere. The world now feels truly alive, with no emptiness in sight (unless in the sense of desert being deserted). I actually get stuck in traffic because there are more than five cars on the road.

If you haven't played GTA V, or even if you have on past-gen consoles, I definitely recommend grabbing this. You can find it super cheap at typical stores, and the experience is just so damn awesome, especially with first-person mode.
Meddek
Posted 07:23pm 03/12/14
Yeah I played this on Xbox 360 and finished it, once they announce FPS mode I pre-ordered.

Playing the game in FPS mode is fantastic the game feels brand new again and I notice so many little things that I didn't notice before, well worth playing again.

GTA5 online is fun as always
Jeffro
Posted 06:20am 04/12/14
I am level 123 on GTA Online and have my own crew so if anyone on Xbox wants to join let me know. At the moment it's just me and my nephew in my crew but we are probably going to need more people for heists.
Meddek
Posted 07:50am 04/12/14

So the soccer mum petition is doing the rounds again, obviously someone bought it for their kids...

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-12-03/target-pulls-grand-theft-auto-5-game-off-shelves-over-sexual-vi/5939184

Target Australia has pulled video game Grand Theft Auto V (GTA V) off shelves over controversy about the game's depiction of violence against women.

A Change.org petition calling on the retailer to withdraw the game from sale gained more than 38,000 signatures.


groganus
Posted 09:24am 04/12/14
Yeah what a crock of s***, Typical jump reaction from target. Take Two's response basically sums it up...

“We are disappointed that an Australian retailer has chosen no longer to sell Grand Theft Auto V — a title that has won extraordinary critical acclaim and has been enjoyed by tens of millions of consumers around the world,” said Strauss Zelnick, Chairman and CEO of Take-Two Interactive Software. “Grand Theft Auto V explores mature themes and content similar to those found in many other popular and groundbreaking entertainment properties. Interactive entertainment is today’s most compelling art form and shares the same creative freedom as books, television, and movies. I stand behind our products, the people who create them, and the consumers who play them.”



But at the end of the day it means very little, Target is full of bulls*** soccer mums and bratty ass kids. It's a second choice location for buying games, if they don't want to stock something cause it may upset the core demographic of there sales then it makes perfect sense for them not to stock it.

No problems selling 50 Shades of Grey and American History X however.
Tepid
Posted 02:45pm 04/12/14
dont get wrapped around the axles
LiddyRose
Posted 12:03am 09/12/14
Banning GTA is ridiculous, I think this opinion piece says it best (NSFW) “Morons move to ban GTA V because… sexism?” http://www.dan-isms.com/2014/12/morons-move-to-ban-gta-v-because-sexism.html
Commenting has been locked for this item.
16 Comments
Show