We chat with some of the engineers at NVIDIA and go behind the scenes of the impressive Quake II RTX mod.
NVIDIA on Quake II RTX as the First Fully Ray-Traced Game
The city builder meets conquest series has been around for many years, and this new entry take the series back to the past to re-capture some magic.
Anno 1800 Review - Going Back to Move Forward
We sit down with Blizzard and the Hearthstone team to talk about what goes into designing a new card set and mechanics.
Talking Hearthstone and the New Rise of Shadows Expansion!
Does it hold up almost a decade after first exploding onto the scene?
Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition Review
Civilization 5
Civilization 5

PC
Genre: Strategy Players: 1 to 0 (2 Online)
Developer: Firaxis Games Official Site: http://www.civilization.com
Publisher: 2K Games Classification: M15+
Release Date:
24th September 2010
Civilization 5

Genre: Strategy
Players: 1 to 0 (2 Online)
Developer: Firaxis Games
Official Site: http://www.civilizati...
Publisher: 2K Games
Classification: M15+
Release Date:
24th September 2010
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Civilization 5 Video
Civilization 5 Review
Review By @ 02:06pm 22/09/10
PC
We’ve spent a fair amount of time this year bringing you the latest involving 2K Games’ Sid Meier’s Civilization V, but the time for hope, speculation and dreams of dominance has reached reality phase, and we’ve been slogging it out in this latest iteration of the famed series for quite a while to offer up an in-depth, honest look at what is arguably the year’s most complex and engaging PC strategy game.

So let’s look initially at the game’s changed mechanics, and how these go towards altering your overall experience.



There are actually a few major changes that will fundamentally alter your game based on how you would normally play a game of Civilization. If, for example, you're a military type of player; someone who grows the might of their chosen civilisation with plans for world domination in the bullying department, you might find the new hexagonal tile movement system very alien. There’s no more stacking of units either, so you can’t just park a tile stacked with 10 different units at another civilisation’s gate and bombard them till they fall anymore, and now with city defences attacking cities in general is just that much harder.

This also means movement across the map is equally different, and it’s a lot easier to trespass now, too.

On the other hand, if you’re more of a cultural player - the type of person who attempts to maintain peace throughout your campaign and emerge victorious through enlightenment, the game’s new Policies system might also seem a bit odd at first. Gone are representations of specific religions, now it’s all a ubiquitous unnamed religion (not sure what the thinking here was, but I, for one, like it), and policy trees are grown through the a cultural currency system (you basically ‘earn’ culture in the same way you earn gold in Civ V. You can adopt new policies when you have enough culture to spend, and each new policy gives your civilisation perks, with small trees offered within each policy. It can be pretty daunting the first time you play, especially because of how new it all is, but ultimately it makes for a far more engaging play experience with a more streamlined, yet deeper micro-management system.



Exploration has also changed in that you can now set your units to “Embark”. This means they basically become boats (so you don’t need to build a Settler first and have them wait for you to build a Trireme to move them over water). This is dependent on your technology level, but it can make settling other continents and setting up deeper trade routes with other civilisations much easier. There are more dangers lurking in Civ V though, with the Barbarians now essentially their own nomadic civilisation spread throughout the land; they have various encampments basically located on almost every chunk of land, and several units running around scaring the pants off you, other civilisations and City States (more on these guys in a second). Conquering barbarians nets you small rewards in gold and the like, but ultimately they’re only in the game to get combat off the ground from the outset.

While you can tackle a large number of other civilisations in your game, there are also new NPC-esque City States. These are basically smaller, autonomous civilisations you can have limited interaction with in terms of gaining their favour or wiping them out. They’re place within the game is to offer more strategic options in both cultural or military victories as lending aid, and handing over gifts to a City State can see them coming to your aid in a fight against another civilisation, or in voting for you at the United Nations for a peaceful victory. They also offer different Resources to exploit, though not being favoured can see them calling for their neighbours to come and help them rid you out of their borders, which can, of course, lead to full-scale war.

While the depth of the City States is difficult to gauge in even the 30-odd hours I’ve put into Civ V, they will take some time to get used to. I felt that my first few play throughs saw them as more of a distraction than anything else - a deeper level of interaction with them wouldn’t have gone astray, or at least an option to mould them in different ways within or around your own civilisation would have been nice, so I’m hoping we see them evolve somewhat during the game’s post-release life, or maybe in expansions down the track.



Another major area that has changed is in customisation, as in, there’s very little. In the past you could actually name each of your cities and forge your own customised civilisation with an amalgam of perks, abilities and bonuses from various other civilisations. Now, however, you’re locked into choosing a pre-existing civ but it’s not at all a bad thing. Each one comes with a specific set of bonuses based around their real-world cultural impact so, Japan for example, can make Samurai units who will attack as if they’re at full health regardless of their HP. While Siam can generate powerful Elephant units to trample cities. There are varying degrees of bonuses based on your civilisation of choice making for a heady amount of replayability within the game’s complex make-up.

Management and growth of your civilisation is, again, based around exploration, settling cities and generating income and culture through the cultivation of the map’s resources. You can generate different types of maps, including an Earth-like one along with maps with continents, peninsulas; large and small. The Random button is also available if you just want to test your growth mettle against what the game can generate, but in these areas, everything is still very much the same as it’s always been.

Your cities will grow based on how you manage the land around you, as well as trade and what city improvements you build. Every time your city grows, your resources are consumed that little bit more, however, this can be balanced by keeping your citizens happy with whatever it is they’re demanding. So if you have a city that is devouring your food resources and on the verge of starving, but they require Pearl resources, you need to contact a City State or rival civilisation that has Pearls as their resource and work out a trade agreement with them. Once you’ve done that, your citizens will be happy and will work harder; generating more food so no one starves. And that’s just one example of the sort of city management you’ll be engaged in.



Running off a new engine, Civilizatrion V looks pretty damn neat. It’s a bit of a system cruncher though once its going through copious civilisation turns and calculations. So the bigger your game gets, the more you’re going to see your machine suffer. My rig is quad core monster, running a GeForce 8800 and at turn 274 (current game), with 12 civilisations it’s beginning to take longer and longer for each turn to generate results. It’s not a game-breaker, and almost a testament to how much they’ve managed to get out of the new tech, just expect a fair bit of slow-down, pop-up and the like if you’re on a similar system or lower.

Also, in single-player, it must be said that despite the game having four different ways in which to emerge victorious (Science, Cultural, Military or Score), the game’s AI, even on some of the lowest difficulty settings are very, very aggressive. Once your borders start to clash and your growing alongside supposed ‘allies’, it doesn’t take much for them to turn on you and declare war. Moreover, some of them are so aggressive they won’t settle for any peace negotiations, which means you need to divert your attention to defending your civilisation which can be annoying if you’ve been carefully managing your civ to win the game in a peaceful manner.

Again, this isn’t a game-breaker as it does add another level of required strategy, but being turned down time and again on the peace negotiation front can get frustrating later in the game when you have so much to manage.



Through it all though, I haven’t had a single bad experience yet. The levels of management are very deep, but not so daunting thanks to the more streamlined nature of things. Your advisers are far more helpful and navigating your way around the various options the game has like spending money buying tiles to expand your borders, gifting units to City States or undermining other civilisations in secret pacts with partners and allies is actually pretty intuitive. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself locked into the game for lengthy play sessions (my longest session was an eight-hour marathon), it’s really that addictive.

There’s very little to fault here, and the main changes to the game are definitely for the better. Veterans of the series will re-discover the game’s magic while re-learning how to play and newcomers will find the deep gameplay tools and mechanics surprisingly inviting and easy to engage meaning Civilization V is actually a game of inclusion, not exclusion - easily the best Civilization yet.
What we liked
  • New tile system changes the game's combat strategy for the better
  • Easily the best looking the series has been
  • Massive amount of depth, but not at all daunting
  • Copious amounts of replayability
What we didn't like
  • AI can be a little too aggressive
  • A system cruncher
  • City States need more levels of engagement
More
We gave it:
9.2
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
Sc00bs
Posted 02:22pm 22/9/10
cool i only just finished playing civ 4

Prettier graphics will be nice
kettels
Posted 02:57pm 22/9/10
to get the demo:

Start > Run > steam://install/65900

played a bit of the demo this morning and didn't like the interface, probably cause i have been playing Civ IV again recently and am just slow to adjust.
Sc00bs
Posted 02:59pm 22/9/10
how bigs the demo
kettels
Posted 03:00pm 22/9/10
how bigs the demo


it was pretty big like 3.5gig or something
Sc00bs
Posted 03:03pm 22/9/10
gay, why doesnt optus offer free downloads on steam.. or on anything for that matter :@

150gb a month runs out rather quickly
Obes
Posted 03:12pm 22/9/10
No where in this review did it mention that Australians are being charged nearly twice the price Americans are.
Sc00bs
Posted 03:14pm 22/9/10
that should heavily impact on the score.

con
Oz paying nearly 60% more and gettin raped again
Hogfather
Posted 03:20pm 22/9/10
No where in this review did it mention that Australians are being charged nearly twice the price Americans are.
Dan
Posted 03:30pm 22/9/10
No where in this review did it mention that Australians are being charged nearly twice the price Americans are.
This is hardly a new phenomena. I agree that pricepoint is important, but I don't know that it's fair to Civ 5 and it's developers to take points off the game because of a local market distribution decision that basically every other publisher is equally guilty of and hasn't been a factor in any other review on this site.

If international price disparity bothers you, import it, it's the same game and if enough people do it, maybe the publishers will actually take notice and fall in line.
Sc00bs
Posted 03:33pm 22/9/10
im sure if the developers start kicking a s*** about people not buying their products because they are overpriced in certain parts things would change aswell.

Maybe some bad scores due to rediculous prices in Aus would gain the attention of the developers and make them do something.
Jabroney
Posted 03:33pm 22/9/10
yea not sure if ill bother with downloading the demo. I think ill be getting this game anyway, and i kinda dont wanna waste the downloads. telstra aint free on steam im guessing
Hogfather
Posted 03:38pm 22/9/10
This is hardly a new phenomena. I agree that pricepoint is important, but I don't know that it's fair to Civ 5 and it's developers to take points off the game because of a local market distribution decision that basically every other publisher is equally guilty of and hasn't been a factor in any other review on this site.

If international price disparity bothers you, import it, it's the same game and if enough people do it, maybe the publishers will actually take notice and fall in line.

This is an Australian gaming website and should be concerned with local issues, local flavour is why we read AusGamers!

I don't know about taking points off, but the price disparity is an issue of concern to your readers. It at minimum warranted a paragraph and some useful import options / links.
eski
Posted 03:37pm 22/9/10
Just buy from Direct2drive instead, they always seem to have to US prices available for Aussies.

http://www.direct2drive.com/9611/product/Buy-Sid-Meier%E2%80%99s-Civilization-V-Download
Hogfather
Posted 03:39pm 22/9/10
^
Like that, for example.
darkjedi
Posted 03:47pm 22/9/10
What happened to the comment trog made in the old thread about Civ5's pricing? Something about "using this game as a point to highlight the regional price gouging" or similar?
TiT
Posted 03:55pm 22/9/10
Has anyone bought from
http://www.g2play.net/store/Sid-Meier-s-Civilization-V-Steam-Key-Pre-Order.html

is it legit? does it work... as i still want it on my steam account with all my other games
Tollaz0r!
Posted 09:48pm 22/9/10
I to am disappointed that Trogs comment from the previous thread didn't seem to impact this review at all.

Surely ausgamers is a big enough boy to start putting in harsh judgments that the community would like to see.
Sc00bs
Posted 09:50pm 22/9/10
weak qgl
natslovR
Posted 11:46pm 22/9/10
I think a 10% penalty for the dirty feeling in my stomach over the price, or for the added risk involved in having to buy on the grey market through places like g2play or using Valve gifting (Valve could easily, on a whim, say these alternative methods of purchasing like gifting don't apply) or where your 'friend' in the UK could easily just keep your money.

Even better would be reducing the review score by the % its over priced but that's pretty extreme.

Something needs to be done and awarding it 92% and pretending everything is ok since you didn't buy your copy is not it.
Nakor
Posted 07:19am 23/9/10
direct2drive doesnt work for aussie IP's either, so still left with having to find a workaround
Cyber-shot
Posted 08:42am 23/9/10
I pre-ordered from MightyApe (www.mightyape.com.au) - they are a NZ company.

If you pre-order from them its $69.99 + $4.90 shipping. Prices are in $AUD.

If you guys do buy from there, use this link below so I can get $10 referral credit XD

http://www.mightyape.com.au?r=1702883
Obes
Posted 08:55am 23/9/10
Perhaps Ausgamers/Mammoth have an expectation on them to only provide non-negative reviews ?

I find it bizarre that Dan tried to defend not talking about the price gouging ?

It should be the complete opposite. It should have a dirty big red symbol on it highlighting that this product is trying to rip Australian gamers off.

Until the local marketing executives understand that it is an issue, it won't get resolved.
Dan
Posted 09:02am 23/9/10
Something needs to be done and awarding it 92% and pretending everything is ok since you didn't buy your copy is not it.
Everything is not ok and nobody is pretending it is. But this issue isn't just limited to this one game, it's nearly every damn piece of digital software and consumer electronics that are inflated in price to the Australian market.

It's all just creators manufacturers pricing their products at a point that the market is willing to pay. If that seems too high to you, that's not the publisher's fault, it's the market's, it's supply and demand. IMO it's just plain not fair on the hard work of the developers to negatively affect the awarded rating of their work simply because Australians are willing to pay more for stuff.

If you're really that worried about dealing with importing and other options (admit it, you're not) and it truly is overpriced for the Aussie market, then it would sell poorly and end up dropping in price as a result so you could just wait a few months and buy it when it hits the bargain table (or buy it second hand and stick it to the publisher).

I don't like it either, but that's just how things are here and the only way we can change that is by refusing to pay that inflated price.
Nerfosaurus
Posted 09:02am 23/9/10
I've been trying to get into the habit of paying for games, but they're making it really unappealing with this unique treatment bulls***.
Dan
Posted 09:17am 23/9/10
To clarify: don't get me wrong, price can be a factor in reviews and I have definitely mentioned it in some of my own in the past. The awesome value of Valve's Orange Box bundle, or the budget price of the terrific XBLA game Shadow Complex, but these were all relative to the pricing of other games in Australia. Civ 5 just isn't out of line with new release Australian games pricing.

I wholeheartedly agree that way too much s*** is overpriced in this country and as a result I've been buying more and more consumer goods from International merchants, most recently a new camera and a laptop (it's ridiculous that I can add $75 in shipping from a US online store and still be under the lowest price that JB hifi are willing to offer me). What I don't agree with is lynching any one specific product/publisher for having a higher price here than overseas.
Obes
Posted 09:43am 23/9/10
I don't think we are asking for one specific product/publisher to be lynched.

We are asking you as a reviewer of games for Australians to factor that into your review, FOR ALL products/publishers!

Thundercracker
Posted 09:46am 23/9/10
Imho just have a multiplier. Say a game scores 9/10, and the price is $89 US in australia, but $50 US in the states.

So (50 / 89) * 9 = 5.

Win!
Cyber-shot
Posted 09:58am 23/9/10
I agree with Dan, just import and let the demand for games in Australia fall.

Then they (publishers/marketers) will see that theres something wrong with their pricing policy.

Or we could just stage a nation-wide protest...
tHeBoRg
Posted 10:38am 23/9/10
When it comes to Steam and inflated Aussie price gouging isn't 2K Games the number one culprit in sticking it to us.

Boarderlands and all the DLC's
Mafia 2
Bioshock 1 and 2 and all there DLC's
Civilization V

Why the hell would I digitally download a game at the same price I could buy the boxed game. The digital download should be cheaper and on a lot of games on Steam it is...Fallout New Vegas for example $89.99 in EB probaly around $79 in Game but I can buy it for $49.99US and that is how it should be.
TiT
Posted 10:43am 23/9/10
http://www.g2play.net/store/Sid-Meier-s-Civilization-V-Steam-Key-Pre-Order.html

Ahh this only works for Western European Countries... FAIL
Donkey
Posted 12:07pm 23/9/10
Its pretty easy to change your IP address to purchase the game with plenty of free IP proxy programs out there.
Obes
Posted 12:33pm 23/9/10
When it comes to Steam and inflated Aussie price gouging isn't 2K Games the number one culprit in sticking it to us.

I dunno.
At one point Civ4 and it's addons was $5 or maybe $9 for US folks.
$54 or $64 here for just the original. Heck at one point, you could not even buy 2k Games from Steam in Australia at all! They wanted to force you to go to your local games store and get some landfill with your digital content.

But regardless, I don't think any of us are saying only do it for this one game/publisher. I imagine most of us would prefer it if we all got charged a vaguely similar price.

TiT
Posted 12:38pm 23/9/10
Its pretty easy to change your IP address to purchase the game with plenty of free IP proxy programs out there.


This does not work anymore
Hogfather
Posted 12:56pm 23/9/10
It's all just creators manufacturers pricing their products at a point that the market is willing to pay. If that seems too high to you, that's not the publisher's fault, it's the market's, it's supply and demand. IMO it's just plain not fair on the hard work of the developers to negatively affect the awarded rating of their work simply because Australians are willing to pay more for stuff.

I'm cool with market forces and charging what you want for stuff - I'm in business after all. But publishers AND developers are definitely going to lengths to ensure that regionalisation locks Aussies into local pricing and closing down importing avenues as much as possible. That's damn close to market manipulation.

Quite a few people got an epic shock when they imported StarCraft II for instance and couldn't play with their friends for eight weeks.

How long is it before game DRM itself starts checking regionality, locking people into local pricing regimes? Will it be worthy of commenting about in reviews then?
boba
Posted 01:36pm 23/9/10
so I played the demo of this. never played any civ games before and now i'm going to have to buy it after hitting the 100 turn limitation of the demo =)
Dan
Posted 02:03pm 23/9/10
How long is it before game DRM itself starts checking regionality, locking people into local pricing regimes? Will it be worthy of commenting about in reviews then?
Absolutely. This is a different beast and something that I agree should be curb-stomped.

It hasn't been so much of an issue in the history of console and PC gaming, because it's generally been completely trivial to circumvent. But the protections are becoming more and more sophisticated and with downloadable purchases and online verification rising in popularity the power is there for publishers to really start hard-lining that kind of thing.

SC2 is definitely a prime example of that garbage gaining traction - it shouldn't matter where you buy a copy, you should be able to have the same experience as anyone else that bought a copy. But then you have consoles like the PS3 which doesn't have region coding for games at all (X360 does).
trog
Posted 03:02pm 23/9/10
Perhaps Ausgamers/Mammoth have an expectation on them to only provide non-negative reviews ?
don't be a moron.

We've covered the price gouging, I think, more than any other company in Australia. We are one of the only companies that I know of that provides pricing comparisons on our game pages (though at the time of this writing, Civ5 isn't listed, something which I will correct right now).

We talked about this a bit and decided that our responsibility is to review the games as critical pieces of whether they're good games, in the context of what they cost compared to other titles at the same 'level'. This is a AAA title and it costs what all AAA titles in Australia cost.

What, out of interest, do you think we should do, practically, here? If it's just put a note in the review I'm happy to do that. But at the end of the day buying the game is like buying anything - you should research the best prices yourself and make sure you buy it for the best price - we shouldn't have to put "this game is awesome, but it sucks if you buy it from EB because it will cost you 20% more", for example.

The rest of it is a DRM and regionalisation issue; again I feel AusGamers is at the forefront of these issues and bringing awareness to gamers about them. We're strong supporters of the EFA (I am a member and have donated personal money to it) and look forward to working with them on issues like this in the future.
Sc00bs
Posted 03:07pm 23/9/10
this game is awesome, but it sucks if you buy it from EB because it will cost you 20% more

but its not just eb if its every shop in australia.

Maybe if you, and other review companys, start pointing out that we are getting rorted and score accordingly, then developers and producers will change there price scheme.

Something has to be done other than, "whats us putting a little note at the end of our review going to do"

Pricing effects the amount of people that buy the game, whether or not its an awesome game or not. if its an entire country thats overpriced not just one store.
Hogfather
Posted 03:11pm 23/9/10
What, out of interest, do you think we should do, practically, here? ... But at the end of the day buying the game is like buying anything - you should research the best prices yourself and make sure you buy it for the best price

Help on identifying the disparity for online buys and help finding the best deal would be a good start!

Reading the review is part of the research process, not something done separate from it. It would be helpful to know that the publisher is using Steam to rape the wallet and what the alternatives are...
Nerfosaurus
Posted 03:18pm 23/9/10
What, out of interest, do you think we should do, practically, here?


Buy me a copy of the game so that I don't have to languish under these outrageous pricing practices. Write it off as a competition or somesuch of course. :P
Dan
Posted 03:31pm 23/9/10
Pricing effects the amount of people that buy the game, whether or not its an awesome game or not. if its an entire country thats overpriced not just one store.
But that's just it, in the opinion of publishers, the people in the business of making money from the games they are invested in, game RRP in Australia isn't overpriced.

With the rising costs of game development and the massive marketing spends they make to get their games known, they actually think that the U.S. market is actually _under-priced_ for games RRP, but they don't dare budge there because of how massive and competitive it is over there and how important North American popularity is to the success of a game.

How true that is, I can't really say - I'm certainly no economist. Just playing a little devil's advocate to illustrate that it's not just as simple as evil publishers raping our wallets.
fpot
Posted 03:33pm 23/9/10
Price gouging is a silly enough phenomenon as it is. I don't want to see it starting to affect review scores. Reviews should be purely based of the merits of the game, that is it.
Hogfather
Posted 04:03pm 23/9/10
Yeh I don't want the score affected, but some assistance in finding an appropriately-priced product would be great.

I don't mind local retailers setting whatever price they want for their imported boxes, but restricting trade with NA retailers and sources seems a bit contrary to the FTA?
ctd
Posted 04:30pm 23/9/10
I would like to see noobs helped out in buying games. Maybe a buying games from steam/OS guide and link to it on reviews? "before you buy make sure you check out our buying games guide to make sure you get the best price"

If enough noobs (the people that keep EB in business) start clueing onto OS purchases then maybe something will be done.

Then again wtf do I care as long as I know to check out prices before I buy.
Hogfather
Posted 04:52pm 23/9/10
Then again wtf do I care as long as I know to check out prices before I buy

Yeh but everything keeps changing because the c**** keep trying to close the import loopholes, and its getting tied up in DRM and regionalisation. See StarCraft II example ><

I reckon that a summary of local pricing, import options and regional issues could surely be a worthy addition to AGN major reviews? For most games it could be a star "this title available on Steam for the same price as USA customers" or "Steam borked. Options include xxx"?
Freewheelin
Posted 07:14pm 23/9/10
Wonder how long till they release the DLC titty pack.

Then you'll all realise you're really playing Civony 5
krell
Posted 10:11pm 23/9/10
Dungeon Crawl in Melbourne have it for $68.50...

http://www.dungeoncrawl.com.au/p-2280-sid-meier-civilization-5-v-pc.aspx

k
Obes
Posted 10:18pm 23/9/10
don't be a moron.

F*** off trog.
Dan is rabid defending not mentioning the price as part of a review.

The rest of it is a DRM and regionalisation issue; again I feel AusGamers is at the forefront of these issues and bringing awareness to gamers about them. We're strong supporters of the EFA (I am a member and have donated personal money to it) and look forward to working with them on issues like this in the future.

But it didn't rate a mention ?
Tollaz0r!
Posted 11:02pm 23/9/10
Perhaps Ausgamers should do a strong article detailing the differences of price for Australians, with examples, however in the end will it even make a difference?
Does Ausgamers have enough of an audience to influence the market?

Unless multiple media in the country get on the bandwagon nothing will change. ABC's Got Good for example should be covering it often.



diaglyph
Posted 10:42am 24/9/10
Just a heads up - check out www.ozgameshop.com
They are in the UK and are offering Civ5 for $39. I've ordered my copy, hopefully it will arrive in a week or so.
natslovR
Posted 11:00am 24/9/10
So.. it's after 10AM Sydney time which by my calculations means it's now live for non-yanks right? release date was Sep 23 5pm PST.
boba
Posted 11:06am 24/9/10
tis unlocked on steam
Thundercracker
Posted 11:17am 24/9/10
And I'm at work :(
TiT
Posted 11:20am 24/9/10
i wish steam vpn while buying stil works :(
just gotta find a freind in the uk
natslovR
Posted 11:41am 24/9/10
did it take long to get running ?
trog
Posted 11:50am 24/9/10
Our 'buy' page now correctly lists Steam AU, US and EU pricings:

http://www.ausgamers.com/games/civilization-5/buy/
Sc00bs
Posted 12:01pm 24/9/10
yay

power to the people!!!!
HeardY
Posted 12:22pm 24/9/10
Our 'buy' page now correctly lists Steam AU, US and EU pricings:

http://www.ausgamers.com/games/civilization-5/buy/


The third steam price should be AUD, right? If so you need to fix that page.
tHeBoRg
Posted 12:46pm 24/9/10
This was posted on the Whirlpool forums and am not sure if it is true but apparently this is from the G2PLAY site concerning the european version (UK) of Civ V...

REGION LOCK CONFIRMED! from G2PLAY
IMPORTANT NOTICE – REGIONAL RESTRICTIONS APPLIED! This key can be activated ONLY in Western European countries including Austria, Belgium, Germany, Holland, France, Italy, Spain, UK. It cannot be activated in Australia, Scandinavia or Eastern Europe. We are currently working to ensure supplies for the excluded regions.
Time to start the s*** storm at 2k GAMES. Regional pricing, Regional locking wtf is this bulls***.
Since their key is European (same thing appilies to dvd uk,thehut, zavvi, ozgameshop). i bet you all the european shops that ship to AUS will complain to the suppliers now cause they lost customers...
EDIT:Confirmed for UK,European keys NOT USA Keys ATM

Might be wise to make sure it will work here in Australia before purchasing from the UK Steam Store.
trog
Posted 12:52pm 24/9/10
The third steam price should be AUD, right? If so you need to fix that page.
All Steam prices are delivered in USD, even when you're in Australia. So that ridiculous USD price for the third Steam thing is actually the Australian price, in USD.
Sc00bs
Posted 12:53pm 24/9/10
what a load of horse s*** different f***** region keys. make 1 f***** game and put a chose country section in there, which automatically lets you play on those servers.

Problem fixed.

F***** wankers trying to syphon more and more money out of us. F*** buying this game, they can shove it up their ass
HeardY
Posted 12:57pm 24/9/10
All Steam prices are delivered in USD, even when you're in Australia. So that ridiculous USD price for the third Steam thing is actually the Australian price, in USD.


Ohh, OK., that makes sense then
Vash
Posted 01:52pm 24/9/10
so... will the US version work in Aus?
tHeBoRg
Posted 02:18pm 24/9/10
It seems like keys from the US will work as there is no warning on the US Steam page that the keys are region locked. But I guess "buyer beware" is apt as there is no such warning on the UK Steam page about those keys being region locked.

The warning that is on the G2Play site only appeared this morning, justifiably upsetting quite a few people in the Whirlpool forums who purchased it from the G2PLAY site in the previous few days.
Hogfather
Posted 02:39pm 24/9/10
Holy s*** I'm f*****g psychic. Can't I get a million bucks from that Randi dude now?

So Dan, I guess we should get the DRM region locking bulls*** included in the review?! :P
Vash
Posted 02:48pm 24/9/10
reading OCAU, im gonna use a VPN and grab the USA version.
TiT
Posted 03:01pm 24/9/10
steam and vpn doesnt work anymore
Sc00bs
Posted 03:16pm 24/9/10
They have got rid of that so those sneaky australians trying to get it at a reasonable price cant.
Vash
Posted 03:17pm 24/9/10
what if you buy via the steam website using vpn?
TiT
Posted 04:31pm 24/9/10
it doesnt work... only way is gifting now... so maybe if you create a new account with vpn link then gift it acorss... but i think they check to see if its australian credit card... but not 100% sure
trog
Posted 04:38pm 24/9/10
it doesnt work... only way is gifting now... so maybe if you create a new account with vpn link then gift it acorss... but i think they check to see if its australian credit card... but not 100% sure
I wouldn't trust gifting either; there's nothing technically stopping them from disabling your account or ungifting it.
Sc00bs
Posted 10:22pm 24/9/10
http://www.ozgameshop.com/pc-games/sid-meiers-civilization-v-5-game-pc

Sid Meiers Civilization V 5 Game PC

$39.99 In stock

Us version
fpot
Posted 10:32pm 24/9/10
F*** off trog.
Dan is rabid defending not mentioning the price as part of a review.
lol f*** you are retarded. First of all of course he is rabidly defending it because it is clearly the right way to go about things. Secondly the old 'hur hur hur I tink they might be getting paid for teh good reviews' is one of the most childish assertions you could possibly make about this particular situation.
Nerfosaurus
Posted 04:51pm 25/9/10
I may have just spent near a hundred dollars on a computer game with the addition of really needing to focus on some contracting work for the next few days. willpower lawl.
Thundercracker
Posted 05:24pm 25/9/10
I had mine gifted from a mate in the UK. So far so good.
FraktuRe
Posted 08:41pm 26/9/10
I just bought this from the uk steam for 29 pounds.

vpn does work for credit cards, not paypal.
Crakaveli
Posted 08:48pm 26/9/10
This does not work anymore
Rubbish. I bought LFD2 using a uk proxy the other day and it worked fine.
Nerfosaurus
Posted 08:09am 27/9/10
Heh I do not recommend attempting to play this with 2gb of ram.

(trying to load a game that's been going for a while with a current game running, it crashes after about 10 minutes of raping my virtual mem, have to exit and reenter. load times are a b****)
rawb
Posted 02:20pm 27/9/10
Just picked this up at JB, anyways I can't even get the game to install what a f*****g POS. Whether I try to install it off the CD, or download the content it says "steam servers are to busy to handle your request" WTF? The steam help forums is s*** too, no help at all with this issue.
Nerfosaurus
Posted 02:35pm 27/9/10
Might be very temporary, think I had that issue once on a release day or something and it got better soon after.
rawb
Posted 02:41pm 27/9/10
K, although it has been f***ed for 2hrs so far and whilst trying to fix this I reinstalled steam, had no idea it would delete all my games FFS!
Sc00bs
Posted 02:45pm 27/9/10
AHHAHAHAHAHA
NoLogic
Posted 02:46pm 27/9/10
holy s***e rawb that sux :(
Jay
Posted 11:54am 29/9/10
Buy it from D*** Smith, its currently 80 bucks there.
boba
Posted 11:55am 29/9/10
i'm into 419/420 moves of a huge world map game and the f*****g thing keeps crashing =( was just about to pwn egypt too
lifestyle_lad
Posted 12:49pm 29/9/10
Easy solve on price here - eBay - region free - $30
step
Posted 01:19pm 29/9/10
Easy solve on price here - eBay - region free - $30
Sure... considering the hooplah over the regionalization already. I'm willing to throw away my money to some dodgy guy with only 1 post.
FraktuRe
Posted 02:29pm 29/9/10
$45 aud if you buy it from steam uk, no problems at all.
lifestyle_lad
Posted 02:29pm 29/9/10
Work for me step - go have another drink.
Nerfosaurus
Posted 08:57pm 30/9/10
30 hours played now, thoughts are as follows:

The Good
- Hex grids are awesome
- Expandy borders are awesome and make for great looking territories
- The reduction of city spamming through happiness is good, but maybe a little bit too harsh
- New combat is great
- The UI is very slick, minus a few overlay issues like going into a city while the quick build option is open
- New road system makes for very pretty maps and interesting combat
- Music is pretty good at forming a constant background theme

The Bad
- The music is way less epic than previously
- Not enjoying the focus on leaders, characters are soulless, and can't evolve past inbuilt hatreds.
- Addressing factions by leader name instead of civ makes it difficult to know what's going on.
- I kind of preferred the civics in the last civ, but the new system is ok
- City states are incredibly annoying and gimmicky after a while
- Performance is *horrible* - a game without anything actually changing should not run this badly, load/save/turn times get exponentially slower and becomes unplayable in the renaissance.
- The lack of religions and random events introduced in Civ IV's expansions, those little bits of narrative really makes half of the gameplay for me (I personally have been playing these since I was a kid because I like to build an empire, not play a balanced and sterile game)
- Everything is being streamlined to the point where you shouldn't be building unless it's part of your winning strategy, as the upkeep will ruin you. I miss being a perfectionist and building cities with a measure of carefree construction, maybe it's because I upped the difficulty.

The Downright Weird
- Catherine of Russia is really attractive, I like the way she rustles..


Overall, good game, different enough to not be a cash in, a few steps forward and a few annoying steps backwards, but with performance as is it's too frustrating to play beyond the early ages.
Sc00bs
Posted 08:59pm 30/9/10
Addressing factions by leader name instead of civ makes it difficult to know what's going on.

tottally agree, this is pissing me off.

the music is boring old lady music, i just listen to winamp.

performance once u get up to industrial eats d***. turns take forever
FraktuRe
Posted 09:02pm 30/9/10
No performance issues here. You can turn city states off. AI can be randomised too.
Nerfosaurus
Posted 09:10pm 30/9/10
Yeah I started again, turned most everything off and brought it down to about 6 civs, since I only really want to play a game of empires anyway. Need a big map though, can't stand when neighbours are cramping my perfectionist empire style.

Don't want random AI, just want AI that might be greatful if I save their ass instead of slowly creeping back into predefined hatred... Tbh I don't think they should be going with earth civilizations, it wasn't factored in as much in the earlier versions and by now I feel we should be inventing our own.
HardCalibre
Posted 10:15am 04/10/10
it's a great game, you really need a high end rig if you want to crank up the settings and play large maps with many civs on it. There are a couple of bugs at the moment plaguing the game (isnt that always the case) some problems with the opening video cut scene and the game loading at the same time. More seriously there is a runtime crash when loading saved games that are large (70+ cities) and the game crashes or freezes when you conquor 70+ cities on a huge map.
Sc00bs
Posted 12:00pm 04/10/10
instead of slowly creeping back into predefined hatred

yer, none of the ai are pleasant. they all just want u to give them s*** and keep complaining when u expand or do anything.

Good game otherwise, im loving germany & france at the moment =)

+2 culture is awesome for france and so is the german taking %50 chance for barbarian to join
infi
Posted 12:59pm 04/10/10
instead of complaining about DO SOMETHING. Aussies are the most pathetic bunch of whinging victims...
FraktuRe
Posted 01:01pm 04/10/10
I just had a pretty hard game, though it's pretty easy to beat the ai when you figure it out.

A good navy is key on water maps, 3 or 4 naval ships can take almost anything out in one turn, and once they get range upgrades you can lay into cities with no fear of reprisals :)

If you have an empire on your borders you want taken out, just line your units up 2 deep on the border and declare war. Then wait for the ai to throw everything they have at you, defeat that and they have practically nothing left :)
Nerfington
Posted 02:46pm 04/10/10
instead of complaining about DO SOMETHING. Aussies are the most pathetic bunch of whinging victims...


Wtf are you talking about? If you mean make your own civ, well yes actually I have designed one in my head since starting civ 5, and at about 6 items down my todo list I might actually start.
infi
Posted 02:49pm 04/10/10
haha yeah make your own game, awesome!
just buy the game overseas from somewhere cheaper instead of calling the wahmbulance about Steam.
Nerfington
Posted 04:49pm 04/10/10
Oh right, I thought you were talking about people whinging about cons in the game. :P
Twist
Posted 08:49pm 04/10/10
In regards to the pricing thing, from what I can see there is two seperate issues.

I usually don't have a huge problem with the inflated retail price in Australian stores, as there are additional costs involved, and there is a usually a decent amount of competition between retailers and mail order companies with most major title releases.

There is NO justification however for the disgracefully inflated DD price that a few companies have started regularly using on the Australian market, while at the same time throttling competition.

While I do not think it should directly lower the review score, in my opinion local reviewers would be doing both Australian gamers, and, in the long term, the industry a favour if the first paragraph in every 2K review was something like this.

'Note - 2K Games regularly uses predatory pricing practices on the digital download versions of games released to the Australian market, this title is one such game.'

The same would apply to Bethesda by the way, and I know there is another distributor I can't think of right now that also does it.
Nerfington
Posted 12:01am 05/10/10
I take back what I said about the music not being epic enough, the way the russian theme morphs so perfectly into battle music is awesome beyond words.
FraktuRe
Posted 12:08am 05/10/10
I just got ass raped by siam, I'd just beaten montezuma, but i'd lost most of my army... straight away siam declares on me. I lost 6 cities before I managed to hold them back on my last 3. I only survived because a boat from napoleon on another continent came, and I managed to get them to declare war on siam.

I got one of my cities back, now we're at peace, but siam has like 25 cities :*
Nerfington
Posted 12:12am 05/10/10
He always seems like such a nice guy to me...
FraktuRe
Posted 12:17am 05/10/10
That's what I thought, then the f***** backstabbed me.
Nerfington
Posted 12:21am 05/10/10
That's something I'm really not liking, all the leaders seem identical. If your borders begin to touch, no matter how well you were getting on previously, they will go to war as soon as possible. So much for loyalty, and there's no alliances or the like. :(
Darkhawk
Posted 04:15pm 06/10/10
Awesome addition to the series, stuff the demo just go out and buy it. Combat is way more interesting, I had a great laugh when a rival Civ weakened a French city close to my borders and I sent a solitary unit in and ganked it (Napoleon had been snooty towards me for most of the game but was wise enough to not attack me!), then had the audacity to call me dishonourable!

I noticed the screenshots were the same ones used in PC Powerplay, never knew AG was associated with them.
Nerfington
Posted 01:15am 19/10/10
Nakor
Posted 08:11am 19/10/10
patch definitely looks like the winner, enough to take this to a polished game (price still sucks but hey), so lets hope all those fixes actually work
Tollaz0r!
Posted 12:12pm 19/10/10
They need to do a lot more then what they have with the Military AI. It is far too stupid to be even remotely challenging. I should not be able to defend an attack from an entire civilization with 3 units..
Raven
Posted 08:51am 20/10/10
Addressing factions by leader name instead of civ makes it difficult to know what's going on.

You just need to get used to the naming. The problem is you think in terms of "France, Germany, England" - really it's no different to another game (eg, Starcraft) where you come up against BlahBlah and Zorkmid - in this case Napoleon, Bismark and Elizabeth.

So far I've only started/completed a single game, because they just take so damn long.
The thing that bugs me is that cultural influence grows far less in V than in IV, so it's near impossible to assimilate a neighbour state by cultural influence as I used to do in IV - ie, just set up a town near them, and make the cultural radius absorb the neighbour state without ever having to declare war or do so militarily.
I've so far been unable to achieve this in V even in cities of 35+ population.

It also takes way too long to build some of the late-game units. Tanks and Mechanized Infantry can take as long as 80 turns to a new city, as does the factory or other similar that helps increase the work rate to build them quicker. Would have been nice for this to be fixed.
StopShootingMe
Posted 09:04am 20/10/10
The changes to the cultural system bothered me at first, but they make sense now. I played for a Utopia Project victory yesterday as France, never had more than one city the entire game, just slamming out wonders and social policies.

The shift from culture as a form of creep to a points system to buy buffs is actually really good. The negative effect of having large numbers of cities on social growth is also a good thing, since it forces you to play in a completely different way (if you are going for cultural dominance and not just steamrollering every other nation militarily).

Did you try using a Great Artist's Culture Bomb on a neighbouring city? I was going to see if it forces a conversion, but spent him on a golden age instead.
mongie
Posted 09:56am 20/10/10
Its ridiculous that Steam actually show the Australian and US price in USD.

I dont understand the justification of having a game $30 USD more expensive when its just a digital download.

Artificially inflating prices because "thats the going rate" is a cop out.

They're just backing each other up - If you want the game you either have to get owned by EB/GAME/Whatever, or you get owned by Steam just as bad.

ACCC should investigate this, its bulls***.
Sc00bs
Posted 09:20pm 20/10/10
cultural wins are so easy with france.

I made germany an ally early on and they pretty much went around destroying all the other civs while i cruised along and got heaps of culture =)
Dan
Posted 10:00am 21/10/10
I noticed the screenshots were the same ones used in PC Powerplay, never knew AG was associated with them.
We're not. Publishers release screenshots through press channels in the lead up to their game release and they usually offer a reasonably good representation of the game so it's far less time-consuming to use those rather than try and take our own during the process of the game. Particularly for console games which generally have no simple method of taking shots.
Obes
Posted 10:25am 21/10/10
ACCC should investigate this, its bulls***.

They won't / can't.

Because the companies doing it are not based in Australia, and despite the FTA with America that lets them make breaking copyright a terrorism offence, we can not prevent or circumvent regionalised pricing.
Raven
Posted 10:51am 21/10/10
Because the companies doing it are not based in Australia, and despite the FTA with America that lets them make breaking copyright a terrorism offence, we can not prevent or circumvent regionalised pricing.

The ACCC investigate international claims.
Sc00bs
Posted 11:16am 21/10/10
make breaking copyright a terrorism offence


Big brother america has to watch out for the world dude. They are saving us from all those dirty terroist copyright infringers.

thanks america ur the best
Hogfather
Posted 11:21am 21/10/10
The ACCC investigate international claims.

Really? Do you have an example?

I'd be astonished if they had any authority given that the transaction is taking place in the USA, in USD?
rich1
Posted 01:15pm 26/10/10
I've been a fan of Civilization from its earliest incarnation - many, many hours of pleasure and challenge.

With Civilizaiton 5 however, I am very disappointed. Predatory pricing in Australia, yes - and quite unjustifiable in any terms.

What does annoy me though is the unreasonable overhead imposed by Steam. I don't want Steam or the spurious products it keeps trying to shove down my neck everytime I want to play Civilization. If I want to play Civ while not connected to the web Steam seems to take that as a personal affront and tries to prevent me playing.

I'm going back to Civilization 4, Beyond the Sword. They can stuff Steam.
Nerfington
Posted 05:28pm 26/10/10
You can play in offline mode, and considering other approaches, steam is actually quite nice for both parties.

That being said I do feel this Civ is well done but not that enjoyable.
Mike
Posted 05:13pm 09/12/10
A complete newbie question from someone buying this game for my partner's son and I'm not at all familiar with this game. He is about to go to the UK for 6 months for uni. If I buy this game here for him, will the DRM issue stop him from playing while over there, and converse question, if I give him the money to buy once he gets to the UK, will the game be unplayable when he returns to AUS in six months time ??

Thanks for any flame-less helpful responses !!
FraktuRe
Posted 06:21pm 09/12/10
The game runs on steam, which is region free for any games you own.
Mike
Posted 09:47pm 09/12/10
Thanks for the quick reply
trog
Posted 10:15am 10/12/10
Frakture, once I make the achievement for helping people, you will get one (remind me about this thread if I forget)
Commenting has been locked for this item.
126 Comments
Show