Cam Lee Inquisition
Dragon Age: Inquisition producer Cameron Lee has become a fixture here at AusGamers. The Aussie ex-pat took tie out of his Gamescom duties to chat with us again. Check it out!
Wrestling Time
We take a look at 2K Games' latest WWE contender and find out just what the game has in store for fans of the wrestling series. Click here for our full preview!
Resident Evil Within
The Evil Within is creeping up just around the release corner, so we decided to take a look back at Shinji Mikami's incredible Resident Evil 4. Click here for more!
fella!
Wrapping up a tour in Australia and with Summerslam dominating August, we had a chance to chat with the Great White himself, Sheamus! Check it out right here!
AusGamers Games
Red Dead Redemption
Red Dead Redemption

PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Developer: Rockstar Official Site: http://www.rockstargames.com...
Publisher: Rockstar Games Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
18th May 2010
Red Dead Redemption

Genre: Action
Developer: Rockstar
Official Site: http://www.rockstarga...
Publisher: Rockstar Games
Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
18th May 2010
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Red Dead Redemption Video
Red Dead Redemption Review
Review By @ 05:12pm 18/05/10
XBOX360
I've been dreaming about horses. It's not something I've ever been known to do, but ever since Red Dead Redemption, I can't get them out of my head. In saying that though, they haven't always been dreams. Unfortunately I've been plagued by nightmares ever since the first horse I broke in the game - the steed I came to know and love - broke its neck falling from a cliff. You just can't get that kind of camaraderie buying a three-star stallion from the General Store.

I've been jumping at my own shadow lately. Again, this isn't something I've ever been known to do, and again, it's all Red Dead Redemption's influence. But you can't really blame me, there's nothing quite as jarring to your senses as feeling somewhat confident you're successfully getting the stealth drop on an unsuspecting gang-member, bounty or animal, only to be knocked from your perch by a powerful mountain lion who either puts you to the ground leaving you scrambling to get to your feet and jump into Dead Eye mode to take him out, or plain doesn't let up, smashing you about with his giant paws like some kitten batting a ball of wool, until you're dead.

I've found myself glaring off into the distance lately, even with no sun. Red Dead Redemption's unbelievably realistic day/night and weather system has left me longing for red dawn in the real-world, and so many sheer cliff faces to sit atop my horse on to watch as the sun rises, or sets, depending on my mood. I've also found myself coughing at the imaginary dust I'd be kicking up during a scuffle with a low-life in town attacking a woman, or just the dust trail my horse and I would be leaving behind us as we sped along the Mexican desert in pursuit of the bad-guys, or good guys, depending on which side of the revolutionary fence you're sitting.

I'm beginning to think I might need some help.



If you're a regular AusGamers reader, chances are you're aware of our excitement for this game, and may have even checked out our extensive extended hands-on preview we posted not so long ago, but since then we've been dabbling with the actual review build of the game, and even in the short time between preview and review codes, the game has come along in leaps and bounds.

But before we get too far into the mechanics of the game, let's actually have a quick look at the reasons you're stepping into the spurred boots of one John Marston (don't worry this is actually spoiler-free).

Having rode with a gang some years before, Marston's life was left in turmoil when during a bank robbery he was shot and left for dead by his so-called 'brothers'. He left the gang the day they left him, and instead of taking it personally, he instead tried to put his life behind him by starting a family and retiring his gun in favour of a simple farm life. Unfortunately his past has caught up with him, and he's been rather persuasively asked to help bring an old friend, Bill Williamson, to justice. Thus, reluctantly, Marston has been pulled from his attempt at a normal life and sent to the state of New Austin to find Bill and bring him in.



Most of this is revealed early in the game, but it's an important foundation for the events and gameplay ahead. Marston immediately comes across as the sort of Western hero we've come to know and love from film and literature. He's an amalgam of a number of heroes and anti-heroes throughout history, and his past and present give recourse for players to utilise him in the way they want. You can essentially embrace his violent history, shaping the world around you to fear your very presence, or you can help him cleanse said past with good deeds and a stronger sense of morality. Or, like me, you can maintain a fine balance between the two, truly embodying the anti-hero figure of the West.

As this is a Rockstar game, taking many of its cues from the GTA foundation, a lot of how Red Dead Redemption is both presented and played will be familiar. The same narrative structure is in place; players jumping between minor and major events replete with cut-scenes, voice-acting and driving story moments and arcs, along with options (often forced upon the player) to abandon story-chasing in favour of exploring all the game-world has to offer.

Missions can last anywhere between five minutes and a full 30, depending on their scale, and the further into the game you get, the more complex and time-consuming they become. The missions themselves are quite varied, ranging between roving the land as a farm-hand, saving herds of cattle from a Lemmings-esque end, to winning at a game of liar's dice - taking all of someone's belongings in the process, furthering the questionable machinations of some undesirable you've had the misfortune of meeting.



But in saying all of that, and clinically I might add, it's not nearly as cut and dry. You might very well recognise the above while playing Red Dead Redemption, but the game's organic structure of driving gameplay, and its delivery of narrative both in the backbone story and that of the overall game-world are so subtle, you're bound to be lost in its apparent boundlessness.

It's an important factor, and something I feel is more in-line with the likes of Fallout 3 than anything in the GTA system. Given the foundation for the game's setting, you could be forgiven for thinking it might be a little boring, but believe me, you're going to stop more than once in your travels to your next story or narrative destination - the game-world simply demands it.

This is not to be taken as a bad thing though. If anything, a game-world this rich in life and emergent gameplay as a result needs to become a sandbox/open-world game benchmark. And when I say 'demand', it's not always specifically the game telling you to look over there, or save that guy's mate from being lynched, or help those lawmen bring down the criminal they're chasing (but can't seem to catch), or give that poor lost lass a lift to town because her horse and cart were attacked by Road Agents, it could be part of your own agenda; something that will further Marston as the sort of character you want him to be, or maybe you just desperately want to collect some BlueBird feathers or Red Sage.



This is the ebb and flow of the game - it's organic because there are tools in place to constantly keep you preoccupied, but you're never tied to them. The decision to engage anything in Red Dead Redemption is yours and yours alone. But the tools in place are just so engaging and tantalising, you won't be able to resist, even if some of them repeat (there are a few game-world 'missions' you can do multiple times), and this is the beauty of what's at-hand.

I talked in great detail about the game-world ecology and eco-system in my extended preview, and in the final build it's as solid as ever. Hunting Challenges and Survivalist Challenges can actually be challenging, not just distractions, and they also creep up as a partial mechanic to other missions, forcing you to double up on your collections, but generating even more engagement with the game-world around you. This is also important, because you're going to become intimate with every part of the vast land available to you (there are three main areas), so much so, that the brave even have the option of turning off the mini-map for true visual navigation and that perfect cinematic experience, and I find t hard to believe any true gunslinger of the West would ever get lost.

And it is cinematic. The scripting here is second-to-none, dwarfing anything the leads at Rockstar have ever written. Red Dead Redemption is brutal, gritty and wearing. The West was not a nice place or time to live in, but they've done a stellar job of making you feel like you need to make the most of it, and the characters you meet throughout your journey are all memorable and in place with the world around you. I found myself not wanting to finish the game's narrative for fear of finality, it's that engaging.



Finally, as mentioned a little earlier, the review build I've been playing (on PS3), just looks amazing. There has never been a game-world that looks this good before, and there's so much diversity in the available space, it's hard not to get caught up in the scenery. The dynamic weather patterns, lighting and real-world bumps and bruises throughout give the game a unique colour and texture pallet that is ever-changing, meaning you're not only never really seeing the same thing twice, but also experiencing missions and story-sequences differently to anyone else (it's all real-time, unless the game requires a mission to be conducted at a certain time, and even then you're forced to wait the time out).

But it's not all perfect. There are a few issues that ended up creeping into my periphery while playing. For one, there was a lack of serious dynamism. Sometimes, dramatic game-world events just had very little affect on the overall game-world, and while some of these can be broached to re-complete with better times etc for Leaderboards, they detract and somewhat negate the ideal behind the organic flow at-hand (these would have been better served in the robust multiplayer portion). Moreover, the sheer idea that Marston dies as soon as he hits water more than knee deep is really stupid. I get that the idea is to stop anyone attempting to move to any of the other areas in the game ahead of time, but the term 'open-world' carries weight. This could have been better handled with the player dying in rapids after some attempts at swimming against the current or the like. It just seems very poorly bridged in the wake of all the awesome going on here.

By and large though, none of this is game-breaking. The full extent of Rockstar San Diego's vision is so fully realised here, that it's difficult to think they've been sitting on this gold mine for so long. I've actually avoided so much of what makes the game tick because I know that, for me, the true engagement came directly from the actual experience, and so much of all this being thrown at you unawares makes that up. From a reviewer's perspective, this is a blockbuster waiting to happen, but from a gamer's perspective, this is an experience waiting to happen; an engaging and rich experience rarely found in the multi-billion dollar world of videogaming.
WHAT WE LIKED
Incredibly realised, functioning game-world
Excellent scripting and great characters
One of the best-looking game-worlds to-date
Multiplayer is awesome
Pacing and organic, free-flow of missions and gameplay options is spot-on
WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE
Lacks the dynamism needed to complement the game-world they've created
Seriously, no swimming?
MORE...
WE GAVE IT:
9.5
OUT OF 10
AusGamers
Latest Comments
Blade
Posted 08:40pm 18/5/10
Awesome, now bring it out on PC.
ctd
Posted 08:56pm 18/5/10
$83 bucks @ BigW is the best I've seen. Getting all my work s*** out of the way this week so I can nerd it up this weekend on a consolefail.
konstie
Posted 10:05pm 18/5/10
thanks for the tip ctd :D
Josh
Posted 10:26pm 18/5/10
Great review
d^
Posted 10:31pm 18/5/10
Good review, however you didn't really delve into the multiplayer aspect too much.
E.T.
Posted 10:43pm 18/5/10
Well done Steve.

Are they being deliberately secretive about the whole PC release or dont they knwo when it will be?
Totenkopf
Posted 10:52pm 18/5/10
any idea where can i get the special edition?
Methz
Posted 10:59pm 18/5/10
Now I've just gotta pull myself away from Skate 3 long enough to give this a burl hahaha
Khel
Posted 11:16pm 18/5/10
Yeah, I'll be grabbing this on Friday for sure, sounds pretty damn awesome
Shroud
Posted 11:46pm 18/5/10
Its really good.. wish it was on PC.. i hate aiming with console so far.

They seem to have an 'auto-aim' system, sometimes when i press LT to aim it auto centres on a nearby target, other times i have to free-aim? seems weird.

I did a mission last night, I had to kill a guy off a WANTED poster, so its evening when im riding out of town, middle of the night when i track down his camp, he's set up a camp fire, tent and 3 horses nearby, he's there with 2 sidekicks.

So anyway, I take them all out and i decide to spend a bit of time looking around his camp, looting the corpses etc.

Suddenly out of nowhere 4 lads on horseback come along circling the camp and hollering and they kill me.

Dont know who they were, random bandits? Anyway I did the mission again and looted again etc. and noone came.. which made it even cooler.

Another cool random event i only saw once..

I was walking past a bar and a guy charged out holding a whore by the neck, tackled her to the deck and was screaming obscenities and calling her a f*****g whore and she was begging for her life. It was all happening right in front of me, I decided to save her to I shot him in the back, but he'd already stuck the blade into her ribs 3 or 4 times, there was blood everywhere.

I shot him in the back of the head and he fell forward off the deck and the whore lay there with blood oozing out of her.

They really made it feel like a living breathing world - it didnt have a scripted feel, it felt like its something that just happened.

I've only played 4 hours so who knows, maybe i'll discover this stuff happening again & again and it'll ruin the feel of it? Like with Assassins Creed.

Time will tell.
DM
Posted 12:23am 19/5/10
Judging from the reviews this is getting, pre-ordering this today was a good move as metacritic has it sitting at 94% for PS3 version (which I got).

Main issue i've had with these games (GTA4 specialy) is that they don't FEEL like a real world. You never see anyone get into any problems that you havn't caused. Never see cops chase down other people and arrest them and it just plays out as if the whole city revolves around you. Seems they have tried real hard to fix that in this. Good
Shroud
Posted 03:17am 19/5/10
DM havent seen the cops after anyone else yet, although I have helped the Marshal chase down a gang that murdered & hung some farmers & raped their women.
Steve Farrelly
Posted 04:03am 19/5/10
Shroud, use your inside voice - spoilers dude, spoilers...

d^ we already covered multiplayer in depth, which is linked in the OP, we also couldn't review MP with the review build because we had advance copies, so no one else was available to jump in. But, as I said, in detail, we already took it through its paces
kettels
Posted 07:39am 19/5/10
why couldnt this have been released 3 weeks later once all my exams and assignments had finished. Looks like its a must buy, shame theres no pc version but xbox shall do fine
Calsy
Posted 07:51am 19/5/10
DM on many occasions in GTA 4 I have seen that event which you claim does not happen.

You do see people being pulled over by police and put in the back seat without your interference.

Also most of GTA 4 feels right to me, just like life not much s*** happens people just walk around doing f*** all in most cases.
WetWired
Posted 08:02am 19/5/10
Yeah I remember being like 3/4 through GTA4 and actually stopping and walking slowly downa sidewalk. I saw a dude run past me to try and catch the green light at a pedestrian crossing. Ran through it just as it turned red, got cleaned up by a car, ambulance came and traffic started backing up.

My point is before that time I was too caught up playing the games story to slow down and pay attention to these things.
d^
Posted 09:06am 19/5/10
Shroud, use your inside voice - spoilers dude, spoilers...d^ we already covered multiplayer in depth, which is linked in the OP, we also couldn't review MP with the review build because we had advance copies, so no one else was available to jump in. But, as I said, in detail, we already took it through its paces



True, I was just curious as to whether it would have changed much but if you had an advanced copy that wouldn't count as a final release?
Resonate
Posted 09:15am 19/5/10
I heard the ps3 version runs at 640p and up-scaled to 720p just like in gta IV.
Khel
Posted 09:56am 19/5/10
but if you had an advanced copy that wouldn't count as a final release?


I assume it would still be the final release, but since its not out yet, there wouldn't be anyone online to play it with.
arclore
Posted 10:10am 19/5/10
Wish this was on PC.......
iTOM
Posted 02:01pm 19/5/10
big w have it for $83. i'm going to get jb to price match
Sc00bs
Posted 02:07pm 19/5/10
STFU stop f*****g whinging its not on pc, wait a few months or get it on console ffs.
MatchFixah
Posted 02:24pm 19/5/10
Man why can't this just come out on PC...

oh.. sorry.

I'll be getting this on the 360 when my uni s*** is over.
Tim Tibbetts
Posted 02:25pm 19/5/10
So, Xbox360 or PS3? Is anyone aware of any specific differences? Is the resolution thing actually real for the PS3?
ctd
Posted 02:38pm 19/5/10
Not 100% but a few sites are reporting it. Doesn't matter really cause all consoles look equally s***. I'll be getting the ps3 version because ps3's are black and therefore faster.
Khel
Posted 02:43pm 19/5/10
I have a black XBox 360, so BAM
arclore
Posted 02:47pm 19/5/10
My PC case is black! but alas.. it's not on PC. :(
Beanith
Posted 03:23pm 19/5/10
Getting my copy on the 360 cause that's the platform most of my mates have. And when ithey eventually release it on PC, I might grab it off steam when it's on special (GTA4 for $8 during steams mega sale, how awesome was that?) if there are any half decent mods.

http://www.thesixthaxis.com/2010/05/16/epic-president-the-moneys-on-console

Its a quote from an article from their next magazine so no doubts completely out of context with whatever point Epic president Mike Capps was trying to say but Its because the moneys on console.

Also Arclore, we get it already. Now show us where on the doll just where the mean console touched you inappropriately and maybe we can all move on with our lives.
arclore
Posted 03:47pm 19/5/10
English much?
Josh
Posted 03:50pm 19/5/10
I think he was saying that you act like a console molested you :/
Khel
Posted 05:09pm 19/5/10
Wow, EB's prices have reached a new level of retarded, I just got an email from them offering Red Dead Redemption for $99, if you trade in a game.
DM
Posted 05:44pm 19/5/10
Lol. That's some good overpricing! With awesome prices like that how can you NOT afford to shop at EB?
Calsy
Posted 05:46pm 19/5/10
2 more days, ahhh its got to be a console owner.
Calsy
Posted 05:47pm 19/5/10
good i mean
Spook
Posted 07:01pm 19/5/10
not you again
Calsy
Posted 07:44pm 19/5/10
hey thats not nice, I just made a statement about how awesome it will be in 2 days to play this game.

No need to be bitter.
konstie
Posted 07:50pm 19/5/10
Shh Calsy, the grown ups are talking.
MatchFixah
Posted 08:51pm 19/5/10
^haha, he does come across about 3 weeks premature doesn't he.
Calsy
Posted 09:21pm 19/5/10
and you come across as a premature ejaculator.
darkjedi
Posted 02:27pm 20/5/10
Street date's been broken, yo.

Reports of GAME and EB selling it - With the latter throwing down on their twitter feed that "RDR ON SALE NOW!".

iTOM
Posted 02:54pm 20/5/10
JB TOO!!!
Pirroh
Posted 03:15pm 20/5/10
So are you guys saying I should go down to my local JB and buy it?
Dazhel
Posted 03:34pm 20/5/10
I have a black XBox 360, so BAM

I see you take your XBox 360 like you take your men. Do you take your XBox 360 in your ass too?
konstie
Posted 03:45pm 20/5/10
I have a black XBox 360, so BAM
I see you take your XBox 360 like you take your men. Do you take your XBox 360 in your ass too?


Hmm... i'll give that a 6/10...

Should have left out the last sentence and let him draw his own conclusions!


BACK TO OP:

how much @ JB????
DM
Posted 03:57pm 20/5/10
Over at Sankaku Complex they have a comparison between the 2 versions. Pretty NSFW link too btw.

While they don't look vastly different from each other, if this paragraph is true then that is quite a shame.

The major difference is said to be a likely 640p resolution on the PS3 (upscaled to 720p), compared to full 720p on the Xbox 360, a not insignificant 20% difference. Other apparent inferiorities include less grass, rougher antialiasing and lower framerates.


Guess I will find out tomorrow then. Kind of bored with my PS3 now so i'm gonna sell it since nearly all the games that come out on it, are on 360 as well and usualy run better.

EarthwormJLX
Posted 05:25pm 20/5/10
Great review!

Can't wait to get my hands on this.
ctd
Posted 06:06pm 20/5/10
FYI Street date broken by DuckSmuthEluctrunucs. Got mine from EB for $82.95 with a print out of BigW catalogue. Haha the guy at the store didn't believe my print out so went to ring BigW to confirm. Then he is like "to get cheaper games you can trade in your old ones" YEAH BRO or I can find a decent price from kmart or bigw and make you match it.
konstie
Posted 06:08pm 20/5/10
Yep, just made eb match bigw.82.98. Have fun everyone!
ctd
Posted 06:11pm 20/5/10
Oh btw. My PSN name is ctd_au so add me unless the MP turns out to be bad.
KungFuCamel
Posted 06:17pm 20/5/10
jb are selling it for $83
Khel
Posted 07:47pm 20/5/10
Haha, well played Daz. Though its meant to be a two man show, I'm not sure it works so well when you do it all yourself, its like when one person tries to do a Laurel and Hardy skit by themselves, they just end up sounding crazy.

Also, for anyone who hasn't got me on XBox Live, my name is Khelzor, probably be hitting up some Red Dead multiplayer sometime soon after I've given the single player a good bash. Hell, even Free Roam multiplayer sounds like a heap of fun in this, with challenges to complete and gang hideouts to attack and stuff.
Sc00bs
Posted 07:57pm 20/5/10
screenshots on 360 look heaps better imo :( that sucks. f***** ps3
Methz
Posted 09:25pm 20/5/10
The release date for this game is f*****g hazy. the last week ive seen buses going past with the advert on the side saying it comes on the 20th,but then everywhere on the net says the 21st.

haha,the bus is winnar!
btw my xbox tag is RiverBiz,add me
I'll be keen for some MP once im through with the sp.
DM
Posted 09:26pm 20/5/10
The comparison shots don't seem all that different to me but there does seem to be a tiny bit better looking stuff on the 360 shots. Guess i'll find out tomorrow when it arrives.

On a totally unrelated subject how much you reckon I should put on my PS3? 60gb fatty, 1 controller, 11 games, 2 movies and a hori real arcade pro 3 stick?
ctd
Posted 09:29pm 20/5/10
If you can be f***ed... ebay all the games and additional controllers separately.
DM
Posted 09:45pm 20/5/10
EDIT - seems I misread what you said. I may do that. Though i'd prefer to sell all the crap together at once

last edited by DM at 21:45:20 20/May/10
scuzzy
Posted 07:04am 21/5/10
The release date for this game is f*****g hazy. the last week ive seen buses going past with the advert on the side saying it comes on the 20th,but then everywhere on the net says the 21st.
my house mate came home with a copy yesterday evening.
Methz
Posted 07:43am 21/5/10
yeah I picked mine up at JB yesterday too scuzzy
Tim Tibbetts
Posted 08:44am 21/5/10
I've only played it for about an hour, so I'm not ready to make judgement on it yet, but this seems sooo similar to GTA that unless something pretty significant changes I question a 9.5 rating score.

GTA is great, but the formula is really old, and if this is essentially GTA in a new environment, then I don't see how on earth it could get a 9.5

That being said, I have only played it for about an hour, so I will play it over the weekend, hoping for something different.
ctd
Posted 08:47am 21/5/10
^ Pretty much agree. Played a couple of missions and it is GTA:Horse. That was what I was worried about after getting bored of gta4 repetitive missions.

Will try again tonight.
do0b
Posted 08:52am 21/5/10
gta4 sucked balls :S saints row2 was heaps better

pls tell me this game gets better
konstie
Posted 09:48am 21/5/10
f*** me herding cows is f*****g annoying.

the second fkn mission is a horse race. *sigh*
Alize`
Posted 10:02am 21/5/10
I just went and bought this for PS3 without reading this thread. I'm nervous now as first few people have been disappointed. I should have bought for xbox 360 instead, if not waited a while to see if it was still worth buying.
Phooks
Posted 10:09am 21/5/10
I have read reports about the publisher bribing the big sites for positive reviews this game. So i'm curious;

1. Did ausgamers get contacted?

2. If you were already in the process of writing a very positive review (ie; this one), would you accept their gift since it would make no difference?

I'd think of it as bribing a police officer to arrest a serial killer :P
Khel
Posted 10:20am 21/5/10
Get some skills! Horse race was easy.

So far I'm loving it, far more than I did GTA4, there seems to be way more variation in the stuff you can do and way more unique random stuff that just happens in the world, plus its just awesome cos its a western. And I even heard a guy call someone a c*********.

The poker is pretty fun, I ended up playing till I busted all the other people but it was only the small stakes cheap-ass poker at the ranch so I only won like $50.

I pretty much lost track of time though, just riding around out in the wilderness, exploring stuff, finding gang hideouts and taking them down, rescuing random people on the side of the road who were being chased by coyotes or attached by bandits, hunting and skinning wild animals, collecting herbs and s*** for the survivalist challenges. I was planning on going to bed about 12 and when I looked at the clock it was suddenly 2am.

Already done so much and yet I feel like I've only just scratched the surface, this is a pretty epic game.

I like that all your challenges and stuff are properly tracked now. I'm not really a fan of the "Theres random stuff hidden throughout the game, go check every nook and cranny till you find it" type of thing like GTA4 did, I like how in Red Dead you get a bit more direction, whether its random missions from strangers or challenges or building outfits or finding treasure. I also like how you can buy maps that instantly explore sections of overall map and mark all the hideouts and landmarks, as well as the survivalist maps that can show you where the herbs and stuff are. I really like the secrets maps in Arkham Asylum, and these remind me of that; it doesn't serve the secrets up to you on a silver platter, but it does make your job a little easier.
konstie
Posted 11:46am 21/5/10
agree with khel 100%. Horse Racing is still a b**** though.

DONT EVER TAKE ANOTHER HORSE AND HITCH IT. I LOST MY TRUSTY STEED DUE TO MY RETARDATION.

Also, it has the same retarded knock people over when you barely touch them "physics" that Gta4 had. An example: I helped a cop round up some escaped bandids while on horseback, and when I went to return the prisoners, i accidently nudged the cop with my horse. Next thing I know I have a bounty on my head and 50 federalis chasing my dumb ass.
arclore
Posted 04:13pm 21/5/10
Well, just gave it the inital bash. Must say it's been pretty fun so far. Everthing seems quite interactive and the open plains seem lush with the lighting and the distance. Saw a few weird things, which kinda didn't make sense.. Eg, this guy that I saw along some road that had jumped off his horse to do something and then a couple of other people on horses come bolting around the corner of a mountain and straight passed us. The bloke saw them and then started bolting down the road after them into the distance, without his horse. wtf?

Also the piano player in some saloon seemed to stand up on his seat, turn around 360 degrees and then sit back down again. wtf?

Some cool bits: I was just walking around a town at night after a few drinks in the bar and all of a sudden I hear guns going off and thought there was a shootout in some bar somewhere or something. So as I'm looking around for it, this gang of dudes appear out of no where on horses, riding down the main street shooting their guns in the air and theres people running and screeming. So I preceded to quick draw and shoot them all off their horses while copping a few shots myself and then looted em while earning thanks from the townfolk. Since it all happened outside a saloon, I ducked in after the shootout and had a few drinks and played some poker. I ended up beating all 3 guys at the table and made a cool $140. After this I headed back out and funnily enough it was about midday (long poker game).

Outside I noticed the dead bodies of the gang members were still there on the ground where I had shot them the previous night and a preacher was standing there saying a few oaths to the townfolk. Of course I whistled for my horse, mounted up. Gave a last gaze over the place, shot the preacher in the head in front of everyone and slowely rode my horse out of town.

last edited by arclore at 16:13:21 21/May/10
konstie
Posted 04:14pm 21/5/10
shot the preacher in the head in front of everyone and slowely rode my horse out of town.

As you do.
Khel
Posted 04:14pm 21/5/10
I'm not sure if its just co-incidence or not, but I think bodies out in the wilderness end up attracting vultures and coyotes and stuff after a bit too.
Methz
Posted 05:07pm 21/5/10
Haha Konstie , it was a slight nudge with a HORSE,cmon :P

Ill be on later tonight if anyones keen from some multiplayer
d^
Posted 05:48pm 21/5/10
Nice advertising on the front page lads!
DM
Posted 08:46pm 21/5/10
Been playing for a couple of hours and really enjoying it. 1 funny moment though was when you have to accompany the 1st marshal (not sure if there are more or not) and I must of gotten ahead of him because he spent 10 minutes running back and forth between 2 points until I went and stood next to him
Khel
Posted 10:09pm 21/5/10
Yeah, I've noticed the piano player standing up on his chair a couple of times too, and one time at the ranch I saw a guy riding around on his horse standing up, but he was still actually holding the reins, it looked pretty sweet, like something you'd see in a circus.
DM
Posted 01:29am 22/5/10
About 5 hours in and some thoughts.

- The game is slower paced than GTA4 that's for sure but much more satisfying to me. I've never thought to myself yet "ffs hurry up already" when doing something.

- Bounty hunter side missions are quite fun. Capturing people is awesome and specialy how the gangs follow you trying to kill you on your way back to jail.

- I got the ps3 version and while there are a few framerate bugs when entering town and such, i've not noticed any serious issues.

- Love the characters. Getting really into watching the cutscenes now. Also like how you keep your outfit while the scenes are playing... with the exception of the bandana mask thing. That vanishes T_T during them. Gay.

- Been killed quite a few times oddly enough. People asking you to camp with them then opening fire when you slow down/dismount, or asking you to help them then getting raped by 5 other burly men.

- Law isn't all that smart. I went on a small spree killing 19 law officers, 21 civilians, stole 1 horse and then killed it and all I got was a $1950 bounty and few days in jail. Soon as your out of sight of the police they totally forget about you until you do something bad again. In such a tiny town, the second you step foot in there they should go bat s*** insane trying to kill you or arrest you.

All in all very satisfying game to me and glad I got it.
skythra
Posted 01:33am 22/5/10
I saw this at the mana bar and briefly played it. I was expecting GTA4 in the wild wild west, but really without stunt bonus's and so much empty landscape that you can seemingly get lost in seconds, it not really the kind of game I'd play like GTA. Of course i never did any missions with those games, i just drove around with stunt bonus's and running over pedestrians. So..

I'm sure the story should be a welcome change from the regular gta experience though
Khel
Posted 02:43am 22/5/10
Soon as your out of sight of the police they totally forget about you until you do something bad again. In such a tiny town, the second you step foot in there they should go bat s*** insane trying to kill you or arrest you.


True, but that would also probably make for pretty annoying gameplay. I guess in this instance they choose fun gameplay trying to simulate what would really happen (which imo is the way game design should always be).

I have been killed a fair bit too, and death seems a lot harsher too, no coming back to life, its just load your last save. Really sucked when I'd been out in the wilderness just riding around doing random s***, collecting skins and herbs and helping random people, but hadn't triggered an autosave for ages and hadn't saved manually, then I just get randomly faceraped by a mountain lion. I heard it roar, and turned around just in time to see it jump at me and eat my face, then it was reload my last save and lose all the s*** I'd been working to collect :(

I like it though, it makes things feel a bit more meaningful, in GTA4 I didn't really care if I acted like a jerkoff and went on a random killing spree and then ended up getting killed by the cops, cos I'd just come back at the hospital with all my s*** and be good as new.

I do love the bandana though, for those times you just want to do something nasty but don't want to ruin your good reputation, accept no substitute.

Also, I just found out tonight, you can ride alongside the train on your horse, and then jump from your horse onto the train while its in motion. So awesome.

Anyone know if its possible to rob banks and stuff? I've tried robbing the general store, robbing a bank, robbing people on the train, by holding my gun on them, and my character usually yells something like "WHERES THE MONEY", but then the guy I'm aiming at usually just cowers in a trembling heap on the floor or runs away screaming.
MatchFixah
Posted 09:16am 22/5/10
Yep, just made eb match bigw.82.98. Have fun everyone!
Why wouldn't you just buy it from Big W? seems like you're the one making the effort to give those pack of a******* your money. Stick it to em!
Nathan
Posted 10:17am 22/5/10
Yeh I'm always a bit confused by why people price match instead of just buying from the store who will sell the game cheap to anybody.

Shouldn't you reward (in this case) BigW for having the best price by buying from them?
Tim Tibbetts
Posted 10:35am 22/5/10
Normally I would, but there's no Big W at Indooroopilly, and I'm not driving 10 minutes to get it, when it's a 1 minute walk to JB.
iTOM
Posted 10:39am 22/5/10
i usually would buy from big w/dse for the everyday reward points... but i had some JB vouchers to use - that's my reason
Sc00bs
Posted 01:04pm 22/5/10
ppl are selling their unique codes for golden gun. war horse etc for $50-100 + on ebay... wtf, arent these items available to win/unlock in the game, or even download in a few weeks/months?
DM
Posted 01:28pm 22/5/10
Another thing I forgot to mention last night. The aiming.

Usualy when it comes to games, console aiming is utter s***e and hard as hell to use. They have actually fixed that pretty well in this I think. The small range auto lock on featurey thing they put in works brilliantly and its so easy to pull off headshots. A mouse would still be better but you certianly don't need 1 of those fragenstein mice to have fun with this.
Khel
Posted 01:30pm 22/5/10
ctd
Posted 01:39pm 22/5/10
Yeah I purposely didn't get the limited edition because those features sounded game breaking. Like having an instant awesome horse from the start of the game would take out a bit of fun finding a sicko horse and rooting it up the arse cause you are its master now.

Same goes for the other things that came with the limited edition.
DM
Posted 01:42pm 22/5/10
Yeah I have the code for Golden Guns here that I don't wanna use. Anyone else want it? Oh PS3 only though.

last edited by DM at 13:42:45 22/May/10
Sc00bs
Posted 04:14pm 22/5/10
yes pls
DM
Posted 04:20pm 22/5/10
Codes gone now. Scoobs got in first.
Steve Farrelly
Posted 05:39pm 22/5/10
Just a quick note, I reviewed the game on PS3 (in a debug), and thought it looked awesome, but have since picked it up in retail form on 360 - which looks soooo much better. You can definitely see a lot more detail and it's larger than life.

Who's been slogging it out in MP? I think it's possibly the most ambitious console-based MP ever, and they've done a stellar job.

Thinking about organising AusGamers posses - would anyone be interested in playdates on 360 or PS3 for some MP action?
Khel
Posted 05:48pm 22/5/10
Hell yeah
ravn0s
Posted 05:49pm 22/5/10
lol the dastardly achievement is f***ed up
Methz
Posted 12:45am 23/5/10
Yeah I got a fair bit of MP in last night and it was pretty sweet. free-roam is awesome
Khel
Posted 01:40am 23/5/10
lol the dastardly achievement is f***ed up


It would be even better if there was a "twirl moustache" button.
Tollaz0r!
Posted 10:34am 23/5/10
So the question is, If I could only buy 1 game in the next couple of months should it be Red Dead on 360 or Starcraft 2 on PC?
Sc00bs
Posted 11:52am 23/5/10
the misses limiting ur game buying mate :P
Sc00bs
Posted 11:58am 23/5/10
get read dead now and then starcraft later ;)
Tollaz0r!
Posted 12:11pm 23/5/10
Yer I'll probably do that ;D

Although I am interested in if people think Red Dead is better then SC2 (at least compared to the beta).
Khel
Posted 12:30pm 23/5/10
Pretty hard to compare them, they're wildly different games. People who like RTS are probably going to say Starcraft is better, and people who like open world third person action games are probably going to say Red Dead is better.

If you want a dose of top notch RTS, get starcraft, if you want a dose of top notch open world third person action with a western flair, get red dead.
Tollaz0r!
Posted 12:48pm 23/5/10
I'm aware they are very different ;P

Still if you could only have 1 and you liked the genera of both games equally, which would be the winner. I'm hearing very very good things about Red Dead, my favorite GTA game was GTA San Andreas, is the openness of the world of Red Dead at least as good as that or better?

edit: Also I'm getting Red Dead and Starcraft later, just that I want to know how much people like Red Dead, what DON'T you like about it?
Tim Tibbetts
Posted 12:53pm 23/5/10
Starcraft 2 is out in another 2 months, so it shouldn't really even factor into the decision.

That beings said I would buy SC2. The longevity is there, I will be playing SC2 for years to come, with Red Dead, probably a few weeks.
scuzzy
Posted 12:58pm 23/5/10
I like Apples because they are crunchy but I also like oranges because they are juicy, which one should I buy?
Tollaz0r!
Posted 01:05pm 23/5/10
If you had to choose I would say oranges because you can always freeze them to make them more crunchy.
Sc00bs
Posted 01:08pm 23/5/10
im really enjoying read dead.
lots of different things to do, hunting animals, catching guys off wanted posters, doin the missions, races.. its pretty fun and doesnt seem to get that same repetitive boringness that other games get, like assassins creed
Khel
Posted 01:14pm 23/5/10
Yeah, its probably the best open world game I've ever played, don't think I've ever enjoyed an open world game this much, usually I get bored of them pretty quick.
Tollaz0r!
Posted 01:30pm 23/5/10
Excellent, it's all falling into place.
Sc00bs
Posted 01:50pm 23/5/10
pretty cool how blood squirts all over the screen while skinning
Khel
Posted 01:59pm 23/5/10
I always laugh when you're playing blackjack, and the guy you play pays out all the other people at the table whenever they stand, even if they stand on good cards. Like last night I was playing and the guy next to me had 19 and chose to stand and my character is like "Bah, have you even got a set of balls in those pants you're wearing?"
DM
Posted 02:07pm 23/5/10
riding around and saw some guy stuck in the ground, riding a horse. You could only see him from the waist up but it was so funny
konstie
Posted 02:18pm 23/5/10
Yep, just made eb match bigw.82.98. Have fun everyone!

Why wouldn't you just buy it from Big W? seems like you're the one making the effort to give those pack of a******* your money. Stick it to em!


Yeh I'm always a bit confused by why people price match instead of just buying from the store who will sell the game cheap to anybody.

Shouldn't you reward (in this case) BigW for having the best price by buying from them?


Because mate, Big W released the game on the 21st, and I wanted it the day before. Couldn't wait the extra day, I didn't have time to go to the shops on the 21st. EB released on the 20th.

So i can get the game i want at the price im willing to pay.

Is that a good enough reason?

Does it make things less confusing?
Khel
Posted 04:00pm 23/5/10
I'm suprised EB even price matched it if Big W weren't selling it yet, they're normally super anal about stuff like that.
ctd
Posted 04:03pm 23/5/10
I doubt EB would be making much profit on an $82 game that is why I got it from them and not biggiedub. If everyone price matched EB and stopped paying 120 bucks you would see some changes.
Khel
Posted 04:09pm 23/5/10
Yeah, you'd probably see EB stop offering a price match policy.
ctd
Posted 04:27pm 23/5/10
in fact I couldnt give a f*** if down syndrome f*****s pay 120 bucks for games, most console games are s*** as well so it is even more funny.
konstie
Posted 04:41pm 23/5/10
I'm suprised EB even price matched it if Big W weren't selling it yet, they're normally super anal about stuff like that.


yeah i think i was lucky in that regard, i went to the kid in the store and avoided the manager :D
Dazhel
Posted 06:24pm 23/5/10
I always laugh when you're playing blackjack, and the guy you play pays out all the other people at the table whenever they stand, even if they stand on good cards. Like last night I was playing and the guy next to me had 19 and chose to stand and my character is like "Bah, have you even got a set of balls in those pants you're wearing?"


Hahaha
19... Hit me... 20... Hit me... 21... Hit me... 22... D'oh!
Sc00bs
Posted 06:59pm 23/5/10
i still cant seem to get the cheating in poker to work its hard :(
iTOM
Posted 07:04pm 23/5/10
just have to make the indicator slow down and stay in the middle of the hump... easy!
Khel
Posted 07:15pm 23/5/10
Yeah, its just like the horse breaking, just gotta keep the thing balanced in the middle.

I only bothered with it a couple of times though, cos it never actually gave me an advantage, the extra card I took from the bottom of the deck was never any good.
DM
Posted 07:50pm 25/5/10
Over at sankaku today they had this hilarious group of PS3 RDR bugs. F*****g lol

Bird People


COUGAR MAN!


The incredible Donkey Lady


EDIT - another from the same guys as the last 2. Laughed hard when he said "haters gonna hate"


last edited by DM at 19:50:52 25/May/10
Midda
Posted 06:13pm 12/6/10
Just saw this on Kotaku, apparently Rockstar have outright said that they have no plans to bring RDR to the PC.

http://www.kotaku.com.au/2010/06/red-dead-on-pc-dont-hold-your-breath/
lewd
Posted 06:46pm 12/6/10
started playing this today. the feel and look of the game are awesome but the beginning of the game is a tad boring.
also, i shot up all of bronnies homestead and was about to go into her house when someone i missed started shooting at me.
i then shot him and moved forward at the same time triggering the next cut scene where bronnie is talking all nice to me. even though i had just slaughtered all her kin.
nice.
paveway
Posted 07:32pm 12/6/10
yeah just got a ps3 today and this came with it

been good so far

the aiming is a bit gumby but i'll have to get used to it
trillion
Posted 07:37pm 12/6/10
you can change the aiming/dof filters in the options menu

oh ps3, insta fail.

paveway
Posted 08:23pm 12/6/10
well i'm comparing it to pc aiming

So it's a conslol fail

It made me remember why i'd never buy a fps game on it

But it's not that bigger deal for this type of game
lewd
Posted 09:22am 13/6/10
i enjoy fps on console and pc.
i have no dramas with either.
gotta set that sensitivity right up and have the skillz :)
ctd
Posted 09:30am 13/6/10
Yeah I will only be a little disappointed if it doesn't come to PC. I sold my ps3 copy because I got bored.

Weren't the GTA4 episodes xbox exclusive as well? Dunno how trustworthy they can be to keep word.
deadlyf
Posted 11:28am 13/6/10
I hate any shooter game on the xbox but I continually forget just how much and end up buying games like RDR only get the s**** with the slow movements and uncoordinated way of targeting. I just don't play them enough to be able to get into the game smoothly from the get go so the game sucks for the first several hours until I'm back into the inferior console control mindset.

That aside I'm liking the game at the moment, by the end of today the controls hopefully will stop pissing me off.
groganus
Posted 11:38am 13/6/10
yeah movement is slower on a console, thats why i turn the sensitivity up.

Took me a while to get use to, but is sooo much better.
paveway
Posted 12:53pm 13/6/10
trying to aim with those gumby joysticks will never be better than using a mouse

sorry but that's how it is, it's not an opinion it's fact

the fact they have to cut down the number of enemies compared to the pc version tells you something (i'm talking about cod4 here)
Charlie
Posted 02:09pm 13/6/10
Picked it up for $70 posted Friday for PS3, now I gotta wait :(
Sc00bs
Posted 02:36pm 13/6/10
the auto lock on feature is awesomeness compared to other rockstar games
groganus
Posted 02:42pm 13/6/10
sorry but that's how it is, it's not an opinion it's fact

the fact they have to cut down the number of enemies compared to the pc version tells you something (i'm talking about cod4 here)


Not denying it, i was refering to fact that movement in generally with the sticks is slower, cause most console games has the sensitivity set to noobness. infact i dont know anyone other then myself that changes the sensitivity all the way up before playing.

With a higher sensitivity you also lose some accuracy, but not enough to worry about it, most console games have an auto hit feature built in and being 100% accurate isn't required (even turning the auto aim function off i find its still there just not as bad)

lewd
Posted 02:59pm 13/6/10
^ i turns it up bro.....
WetWired
Posted 03:13pm 13/6/10
console games are designed to be played with a controller and as such are balanced and enemy numbers and AI are tweaked accordingly to give you a fun experience on that platform (good games at least, ignore bad ports)

Anyone who complains about the lack of mouse on a console game is a tard and is doing it wrong
Charlie
Posted 03:59pm 13/6/10
trying to aim with those gumby joysticks will never be better than using a mouse

sorry but that's how it is, it's not an opinion it's fact

the fact they have to cut down the number of enemies compared to the pc version tells you something (i'm talking about cod4 here)


And trying to aim with a mouse vs my real VR gun on my holodeck is just gumby. Doesn't make mouse looking s***, just different :)
Basket
Posted 04:07pm 13/6/10
f*** yeah pc vs console flame again lets do it!
Charlie
Posted 05:09pm 13/6/10
Your VR gun would fail in FPS as much as the console controllers. They each have their use, but anyone who tries to argue that FPS should be played on anything but a mouse and keyboard is kidding themselves.


That's what someone who doesn't own a holodeck would say.



Also:

Even in a global village there's idiots.

Should be: "Even in a global village there ARE idiots."

There IS an idiot VS There ARE idiots


Actually, it's correct. It's a quote, last I checked you don't correct grammar when directly quoting someone.
Charlie
Posted 06:07pm 13/6/10
14 years experience in FPS, guaranteed I could beat you in any FPS with a mouse and keyboard VS your VR Gun.


I'm going to say it one more time, HOLODECK. Yes dude, I really own a holodeck, I got it from the SS Enterprise. This is all trufax.

Also if it's a quote, put quotation marks around it ... last I checked, that's why they exist.


Last I checked it was bad form to WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA up over a joke enough to cry about someones signature.
Bah
Posted 06:11pm 13/6/10
I think he was referring to the instant 180 type abilities of a mouse, compared to being physically limited in a "holodeck".

controller and as such are balanced and enemy numbers and AI are tweaked accordingly to give you a fun experience on that platform
This just makes it worse imo, enemies that stand still giving you the chance to slooooowly move your cursor over them, huge amounts of health so you stay alive while doing this etc.
paveway
Posted 07:14pm 13/6/10
And trying to aim with a mouse vs my real VR gun on my holodeck is just gumby. Doesn't make mouse looking s***, just different :)


lol

i've used a gun on time crisis as has i'm sure most people here, might not be as fancy as your gun but the human mechanics of using a gun are still the same

and i can confirm that i would still dominate you

if not purely because you can't f*****g move anywhere while you have a gun in your hand unless you're playing time crisis or house of the dead or something
Midda
Posted 12:21am 14/6/10
All you console-hating b****** should cry some more. You're not getting the game anyway, pussies.
Basket
Posted 01:49am 14/6/10
pc > console... though consoles have come A LONG way over the last 10 years ill give them that, they are slowly becoming the better alternative just because of the need to not upgrade every 12months, but i yeah i stand behind the mouse and keyboard and computer for certain aspects though i do like the console for it's simplicity for turn on and fun fun fun :)
Charlie
Posted 02:51am 14/6/10
pc > console


It's a different ballpark. If you feel like chillin' out and yelling at people while sitting back in your lounge with a wireless controller consoles rock. If you feel like getting serious then PC's. It's not a worse then/better then thing, it's just a different thing.
paveway
Posted 08:21am 14/6/10
imo

fps and rts games are for the pc

rpg, car racing and fighting games are for the console

i just bought a ps3 on the weekend, i'm getting ok at the aiming in red dead enough that it doesn't bother me that much anymore but i've played GTA on the pc and it's just so much easier to aim.

red dead in HD on a sony 46" bravia is pretty hot
Spook
Posted 09:00am 14/6/10
rpg, car racing and fighting games are for the console


you know you can get peripherals like wheels and joysticks for pcs hay?

ps3 is fail
paveway
Posted 09:27am 14/6/10
meh mortal kombat on a pc would be lame, if they even made it for that

i don't use steering wheels for car racing games, just the controller

sorry but you're on your own with that one i think davey
eski
Posted 09:38am 14/6/10
meh mortal kombat on a pc would be lame, if they even made it for that

i don't use steering wheels for car racing games, just the controller

sorry but you're on your own with that one i think davey


I've got my PC steering wheel right here, it also works on my ps3. Dirt 2 and NFS Shift are loads better on PC imo.

Plus anyone with arcade joysticks would disagree with you on the mortal kombat call. Loads of people out there with their own MAME cabinets.
groganus
Posted 10:21am 14/6/10
i still don't understand paveways whinge.

Clearly anyone who can't grasp how to use a controller and pwn is a noob.
paveway
Posted 11:00am 14/6/10
it's inherently gumby is my whinge, no matter how much you think you 'pwn' with it

a mouse just works better and so much easier and you don't need auto aim

without the auto aim you wouldn't be pwning
Tollaz0r!
Posted 11:10am 14/6/10
I don't use autoaim because it makes it far to easy.
groganus
Posted 01:52pm 14/6/10
i pwn without auto aim, i play quite a bit of fps online games on my consoles, everyone is at a disadvantage as you call it.. i just call it an even playing field.

if we were talking about playing pc games online with the choice of a keyboard and mouse vs a controller.. well clearly.. you would pick the most precise tool for the job...

but we aren't talking about that..

your whinge is lame and makes no sense, infact anyone who claims that keyboard and mouse is better for gaming over what ever else is lame, you use what your given as the games are made for controller available... the only exception to this is super smash brothers brawl.. soo much better with game cube controller over a wii controller.
paveway
Posted 02:58pm 14/6/10
exactly it's just so much more streamline and fun being able to aim properly

i maintain my division of the types of games i'll get for pc and conslol
Sc00bs
Posted 03:00pm 14/6/10
CONSOLE WARZ!!!!!!!


Obinoodle
Posted 03:08pm 14/6/10
Im currently selling my Red Dead Redemption for xbox360 on ebay if anyone is interested for $55 AUD. Just search red dead redemption xbox 360. My listing is the only one with exactly $50 as the "Buy-it-now" price.
groganus
Posted 03:11pm 14/6/10
exactly it's just so much more streamline and fun being able to aim properly


Well that's just personal opinion, but fair enough.

Id probably play all online fps at my pc, if it wasn't for the fact that there are some decent ones exclusively on consoles.
WetWired
Posted 03:49pm 14/6/10
Anyone who complains about the lack of mouse on a console game is a tard and is doing it wrong


Your noob is showing.


lol...sure.

Anyway, I've never claimed a controller is a better interface, far from it, when it comes to multiplayer FPS games I'm exclusively a PC player. I play TF2 daily. But when it comes to single player experiences, console all the way, those games a designed for consoles and take advantage of that controller, gameplay is tuned for that controller specifically.

So anyone complaining about controllers just needs to suck it up and either shut the f*** up and not play the f*****g game to start with if you're so precious about a mouse and keyboard or stop being such an unco monkey and learn how to use more than one input device.
Bah
Posted 03:51pm 14/6/10
learn how to use more than one input device.
Why do you assume they haven't learnt how to use a controller?
Can you not enjoy console games with a controller, but prefer mouse/keyboard?
Khel
Posted 04:47pm 14/6/10
I probably still prefer mouse and keyboard, just cos I've used it so much over the years, but it doesn't really stop me enjoying console games, and these days I'm still probably more likely to buy a game on console than on my PC, cos I just find it more relaxing sitting on my lounge to play games than sitting in front of my PC to play games (sitting in front of my PC feels too much like work).

Also, I can't believe this argument is still going, you realise nobody can ever win this right?
Spook
Posted 04:50pm 14/6/10
in case no one had seen it

paveway
Posted 05:33pm 14/6/10
kinda hard to take his reviews serious, i think i've only ever seen him do like 2 positive ones ever
Khel
Posted 06:13pm 14/6/10
Yeah, I don't think I've watched any of his reviews for about 6 months now, the novelty wore off, and when the novelty wears off, they're actually pretty useless as reviews.
Spook
Posted 06:13pm 14/6/10
i actually find his reviews pretty honest
eski
Posted 06:18pm 14/6/10
Yeah, I think he is pretty spot on with his gripes. Hearing his reviews doesn't make me enjoy the games any less.
Khel
Posted 06:24pm 14/6/10
Sometimes he has legitimate points, most of the time its just his opinion or hes exaggerating to make the video more entertaining. Like complaining about how the horse chases aren't exciting or the game is boring, is like me saying Forza 3 is a s*** game, just because I don't like racing sims. Not really a very useful critique of the game.
paveway
Posted 06:41pm 14/6/10
yeah i agree with khel's first mini review of it back in this thread earlier

i've done a fair bit of stuff and feel like i've barely scratched the surface, there is so much random stuff you can do outside of the game missions, and i like how it's all god a bit more direction when you want to do missions while still giving you the option of going off and doing whatever you want
Dazhel
Posted 06:53pm 14/6/10
Haha Yahtzee's reviews are pretty useless to find out whether to buy a game or not. I find they're most entertaining watching after I've played the game for a bit of time and want to laugh at all the stupid s*** that happens.

Also, ZP reviews aren't ever positive, but I don't think they're meant to be. About the closests you're going to get to a positive review is "This game is absolutely awesome, but here are all the niggling bits where the developers have screwed up".
Commenting has been locked for this item.
165 Comments
Show
 
Log In
User:  
Pass:  

Advertise with Us | Download Media Kit | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2014 AusGamers™ Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
A Mammoth Media web development / Australian VPS Hosting by Mammoth Networks