AusGamers took Far Cry 4 for a hands-on spin last week. Read on for our full thoughts...
Far Cry 4 Hands-On Preview
AusGamers had the chance to sit down and chat with lead programmer and local Australian Ian Hern on all things Kraden’s Crypt.
Interview with Ian Hern on Kraden's Crypt
We take a look at all the local talent Australia has to offer for the gaming scene
Indie Friday: A Look at Australian Gaming
Joaby Gilroy takes The Sims 4 for a spin on PC and finds out just what the life simulator has to offer.
The Sims 4 Reviewed
Monster Hunter 3 Tri
Monster Hunter 3 Tri

Nintendo Wii
Genre: Role Playing Players: 1 to 4 (2 to 4 Online)
Developer: Capcom
Publisher: Capcom Classification: PG
Release Date:
April 2010
Monster Hunter 3 Tri

Genre: Role Playing
Players: 1 to 4 (2 to 4 Online)
Developer: Capcom
Publisher: Capcom
Classification: PG
Release Date:
April 2010
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Monster Hunter 3 Tri Video
Monster Hunter Tri Review
Review By @ 12:03pm 23/04/10
WII
The game designers at Capcom have pulled off an extraordinary feat with Monster Hunter Tri. They've created a game that successfully reboots an iconic franchise, tweaking and re-balancing every aspect of play. The combat is deeper, the monsters are more cunning, and the weapons and armour you can craft look more ridiculous than ever before. Newcomers and veteran hunters alike will face plenty of gripping challenges, and those who put in the time will discover that one of the most misunderstood franchises in gaming is also one of the most captivating.

Taken at face value, Tri is simply a third-person action adventure game where you hunt and subdue bizarre creatures in a Conan-esque fantasy world. But it's also a hugely complex simulation. Even though there are no life bars over their heads, monsters have both health and stamina, just like the player. Certain weapon classes, like the hammer, can take off huge chunks of stamina as well as health, leaving monsters lethargic, and more likely to stuff up their attacks. You can confuse their senses with flashbangs and sonic bombs, but this is also likely to send them into a rage, making their attacks faster and more erratic.



Monsters even get hungry. If a frilled-neck velociraptor you're fighting starts drooling and staring off into space, then that could be an opportune time to drop some poisoned meat, and get in some easy damage when it blithely wolfs it down.

Most of the major bosses in Tri are completely new to the series, and all have been designed to maximise not just their visual weirdness, but also their tactical versatility. Take the rock-headed T-Rex monster, the Barroth. It likes to roll in water to ease the desert heat, yet this also flips its elemental attack weaknesses. When dry, it's vulnerable to fire, and when soaked in mud, water element weapons are super effective. Then there's the Qurupeco, a big goofy bird that can imitate the distress calls of other monsters, summoning them out of nowhere. It can also perform songs to heal and buff itself, but if you hit its inflating neck sac in the middle of its routine you can steal those buffs for yourself.

Even returning wyverns like the Rathalos and the Diablos have had their move sets enhanced to make them more unpredictable. In short, these monsters are tougher to fight than ever before. And the harder the task, the greater the satisfaction when it's ultimately overcome.



The new underwater combat sequences work surprisingly well. Aiming and movement are straightforward, and you can hold your breath for what seems like minutes on end. Your offline co-op buddy, the incorrigible Cha-Cha, is far more versatile than the Felyne companions in the last Monster Hunter game, and on top of everything else, the interface has been streamlined to iron out a lot of annoyances.

This is the best Monster Hunter game to date. It's not the largest, in terms of content - a competent player should be able to complete the single player missions in 60 or 70 hours, compared to the 500-odd hours of action in Monster Hunter Freedom Unite on PSP. Yet with oodles of high-rank event quests and the added bonus of 4-player co-op available in the free online mode, there are enough challenges in Tri to keep you coming back for months.
What we liked
  • Brilliant graphics, especially for the Wii
  • Stacks of freaky new monsters to slay
  • Deeper gameplay, more attack combos
  • Plenty of online co-op quests
What we didn't like
  • Occasional slow-down
  • Minions are as annoying as ever
  • Offline co-op restricted to Arena Mode
More
We gave it:
9.5
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
ravn0s
Posted 12:42pm 23/4/10
gonna tell my little cousin to buy this so i can play it whenever i visit my aunty :P
Josh
Posted 01:42pm 23/4/10
Graphics look like a psp game, but I guess Im just spoilt.

Never was interested in the series and this game doesnt look like its going to change that.
d^
Posted 01:46pm 23/4/10
haha @ ravn0s. Nice review, can only figure Josh thinks that the graphics are s*** from screenies containing not much (landscape etc).
Josh
Posted 01:53pm 23/4/10
Yeah, just judging off screenshots.. I should have put that lol.

But then again its only a screenshot..
groganus
Posted 01:55pm 23/4/10
I did not enjoy reading this review, i wanted to know how the controls worked and felt and how complicated the gameplay would be to learn for someone new to the series,

also how repetitive the game is, and i hate to compare games, but i would of atleast liked to of known what other games it is like...

As the reviewer has stated, the game is quite under rated and often is a title that is ignored, but tri is getting some serious attention atm...
Just expceted a slight more indepth review i guess.

Also other then that the review was good.
DM
Posted 02:10pm 23/4/10
also how repetitive the game is

If you can't handle repetitive gameplay then this deffinatly isn't the game for you.

go out -> kill monsters -> carve them up for loot -> kill boss -> back to town -> accept quest -> go out

thats what you will be doing the entire game. I think the main reason it had never really kicked off as well as some would hope was due to it being on the PSP, and having really, no network play. Wii version fixes that so i'm guessing this will be pretty huge. I've already got my pre-order down.
ryudo
Posted 07:16am 26/4/10
go out? like physically outside of the house?
icewyrm
Posted 09:22am 26/4/10
Gave this a whirl at a mates place. The combat doesn't seem to flow too well in terms of the chains you use in my opinion, the way that the game picks your attack angle and keeps going in the same direction for every followup move is kind of terrible. I found it easier to hit the minus button for single attacks to hit any of the monsters that moved much.

The whole walking around and hit A 5 or 6 times to gather crap from its non-changing location spawn point (herbs, sharpening stones, mushrooms, whatever) seems like more of a chore than a feature.

Can't say I was too fond of the item wear system, where you have to sharpen your melee weapon after bashing like 3 monsters. But then, I haven't tried a monster hunter game before so I didn't know what to expect.

I thought the art style was decent but as its a wii game you'll have a tricky time seeing it as the textures are so low res :p

The multiplayer is an exciting aspect, and it may have warmed to me if I'd had more time with it.

But right now I don't feel compelled to go back to it.
Commenting has been locked for this item.
8 Comments
Show
Close