Cam Lee Inquisition
Dragon Age: Inquisition producer Cameron Lee has become a fixture here at AusGamers. The Aussie ex-pat took tie out of his Gamescom duties to chat with us again. Check it out!
Wrestling Time
We take a look at 2K Games' latest WWE contender and find out just what the game has in store for fans of the wrestling series. Click here for our full preview!
Resident Evil Within
The Evil Within is creeping up just around the release corner, so we decided to take a look back at Shinji Mikami's incredible Resident Evil 4. Click here for more!
handsome devil
We took the five winged, five week challenge with Hearthstone's first campaign and walked away less deathrattled than you might think. Read on for more!
AusGamers Games
Mass Effect 2
Mass Effect 2

PC | PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing Players: 1 to 0
Developer: Bioware Official Site: http://masseffect.bioware.com/
Publisher: Electronic Arts Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
26th January 2010
Mass Effect 2

Genre: Role Playing
Players: 1 to 0
Developer: Bioware
Official Site: http://masseffect.bio...
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
26th January 2010
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Mass Effect 2 Video
Mass Effect 2 Review
Review By @ 11:37am 29/01/10
PC
When the original Mass Effect was announced for Xbox 360, it was promised as a trilogy - aiming to span the expected life-cycle of the console. A believable task given the expected longevity of this generation's tech. In the games industry though, it's generally safer to take long-term promises with a grain of salt. Delays can blow out and even the greatest development studios can fall apart if they have even a short bad run or lose key team members - especially ones who are owned by a major publisher. With that in mind, it makes it all the sweeter that even after being scooped up by Electronic Arts, the mighty BioWare have continued to make good on their word and delivered a worthy sequel in Mass Effect 2.

Mass Effect 2 once again takes the form of a traditional role-playing videogame (RPG) mixed with a third-person shooter in an original galactic sci-fi setting. From the RPG side, it takes player character progression with currency-driven upgrades, an epic Universe with intricate lore, extraordinarily fleshed out characters with hours of fully voiced dialogue and from the shooter side it takes action-packed gun battles against dozens of enemies, a variety of weapons all suitable for different circumstances and of course, real-time combat.



The sequel once again sees you filling the space-boots of Commander Shepard, a character now galactically renowned from the efforts in the first game and the story initially kicks off right where you left off. An incredibly powerful alien force is threatening the entire Galaxy and the many sentient species that dwell within it. As a human, your species is still relatively new to the whole intergalactic cooperation thing, but it's up to you suit-up for humanity and save the worlds. Without spoiling anything (this all happens in the first minutes of play), the game freshens up the scene quite cleverly by kicking events forward two years - all your original crew thinking you're dead and gone for good. This makes room for the construction of a fresh roster of interesting characters while also paving the way for a bunch of touching reunions with old friends. The whole thing is very well executed and manages to push the story along rapidly without you losing any control of your player's actions and decisions in the interim.

I won't daly too much more on the background of the game as most of that really should be learnt by playing the original Mass Effect (AusGamers Review (9.0)). While this game could absolutely be enjoyed greatly without knowledge of it's predecessor, I strongly recommend only playing them in sequence. The interactive story is so rich that if you go back to number one only after finding out how engrossing number two is, you will loose out on some of the experience - factors such as the urgency and magnitude of your mission and the emotional attachment to returning characters are undoubtedly heavily enhanced by an existing knowledge of events and more importantly nostalgia.

That interactive story is the meat of this game, and you will be spending a generous portion of your playtime engaged in dialogue. While some aspects from Mass Effect have been modified for Mass Effect 2, the awesome dialogue system remains the same. When speaking to other characters in the game, you control the conversation via a "dialogue wheel". Unlike other RPG's that either don't let you influence discussion or just feed you full lines of what your character can say, Mass Effect 2 neatly lists a selection of summarised conversation options arranged in a circle. You choose the reaction you want to have or the question you want to ask, and your character will respond, fully voiced (and subtitled if you prefer), with a more complete and eloquently worded sentence. A single addition to this in Mass Effect 2 is the ability to interrupt with aggressive or supportive actions during conversation, but only at pre-defined key points. For instance you may get the option to sucker-punch someone that won't shut up, or knock the gun from the hand of an emotional squad-mate before they fire a shot they will regret.



Navigating the dialogue is perhaps the most important aspect of gameplay as it shapes the entire direction your story will take. In addition to challenges ahead in the action of the resulting real-time missions, the lives of team members, your crew and entire races can be affected differently depending on the decisions you make during conversations. The polarity of your personality can also open up yet more options. Much like the light-side and dark-side of the Star Wars "force", Mass Effect 2 continues the the concept of paragon and renegade. If you take the aggressive or selfish paths, your character gains more renegade levels, likewise with paragon for showing compassion or support. Both of these modifiers increase your abilities to successfully persuade people (compassionately or aggressively, respectively) when opportunities present themselves.

Like the rest of the dialogue, BioWare's trademark romance scenarios are executed particularly well here, with more options than ever before. All completely optional and auxiliary to the story of course, but you are able to seemingly choose among most of your party for that special someone to get to know a little more intimately. It's all enhanced by a stellar (or should that be interstellar) voice-cast that includes the likes of Martin Sheen, Yvonne Strahovski, Tricia Helfer, Seth Green and way more top talent than I can mention here. Then there's the music - electro-synth reminiscent of retro sci-fi films paints the whole game with an appropriately sublime ambiance.

The overall story still has a definitive start and end point, but with several specific variables that are controlled by the decisions you make. Firstly, the game enables a degree of non-linearity by dynamically levelling enemies so that they are always roughly the same difficulty no matter how high your player level is. This allows you to tackle many of the missions and side-missions in any order you feel like, resulting in slightly different experiences depending on the sequence that you pick items and characters up in. Secondly, your decisions in conversation have actual persistent effects in the Universe - a point that is further solidified by the game's ability to utilise imported saved-games from the previous game. This means that any of the conflicted decisions you made in Mass Effect that resulted in, for instance, a party member living or dying or a character adoring or hating you can carry on into Mass Effect 2. The resurrection scenario also provides a chance for existing characters to change their appearance - seriously cool. If you don't have your old saves, a default scenario is chosen for you with no option to vary, so if you want everything how you left it, hold onto those saves!

The impacts of these persistent variables are admittedly handled a little cheaply in some instances (this character died last game, so here's his brother instead), but for the most part they are well executed and go a long way to making you feel your decisions really are shaping the game's Universe. Moreover, some of the choices prompted in Mass Effect 2 are even more significant and you can potentially lose a lot of major characters, so it's going to be really interesting to see how they handle them in the next game (fingers crossed).



Graphically it slightly passes the bar set by the original. The odd tweak here and there has made things even prettier. The limited scripted camera movement in dialogue scenes no-doubt helps them squeeze more goodness out of the engine without the player noticing dropped frames, so everything is prettier still when you get close up. All the lip-sync and gesturing animation is top notch, making for some character interactions that could put some Hollywood movies to shame. It's hardly James Cameron's Avatar, but then this is rendering real time, not 36 hours per frame.

Performance wise, having both observed quite a bit of the game on the Xbox 360 as well as playing the PC version through to completion, I'm happy to report that it was all smooth sailing on both accounts. With Windows 7, I'm running a rig that's a few years old now: Intel Quad Core, 4GB Ram and a GeForce 8800GTX and it purrs along without issue. Load speeds and of course screen resolution and texture quality make PC the clear winner here, but realistically these differences will have little bearing on the quality of your overall experience.

The same goes for combat and exploration, BioWare have created some truly scenic vistas and there's no shortage of sweet, shiny, memorable environments throughout the game. Even the scummy Omega mining station commands awe as you walk its streets. Lighting, lens flare and reflective surfaces are used to grand effect, keeping a sci-fi vibe alive even when your adventures lead to a distant planet's tropical beaches investigating a distress signal.

While conversational gameplay has remained largely unchanged, combat, exploration and character progression have all had reasonable overhauls. Missions still consist of docking on a planet and making your way from one end to the other while blasting away bad guys, but the inventory and weapon system has been completely reworked. Now instead of ending up with dozens of guns and the frustrating task of comparing, selling and dealing with the dreaded full-backpack, your arsenal has been condensed down to a base selection of weapons with only minor differences to weigh up. For example, as you progress you'll only need to figure out if you want a sniper rifle that shoots powerful shots with a long reload, one that rapidly shoots weaker shots or something in between, rather than sort through an inventory of 20 different rifles that you've been carrying since Eden Prime. A new assortment of heavy weapons has also been introduced, adding some cool missile, laser and plasma action to help with the bigger enemies.



All guns still recharge from the same energy ammunition (with the exception of heavy weapons) but they no longer overheat, instead you have to collect ammunition rechargers from fallen enemies. Biotics and Tech powers are back - Mass Effect's sci-fi equivalents to fantasy RPG's magic, mana and conjuring. These abilities are all unlocked progressively through points as you level up and access to them depends on your chosen player class and those of your party members. The new additions help keep things fresh, but there's nothing terribly exciting. This aspect of the game has definitely diverted away from the RPG roots and perhaps a bit too far towards the more simplified shooter.

As the cover system is still pretty cumbersome and movement is relatively sluggish, these simplifications takes a little bit too much of the strategy out of gameplay for my tastes. As a result, combat can get pretty monotonous at times, you can only fight so many waves of zombie husks before it starts to get tiring. Fortunately, however, you never go too far without bumping into someone interesting or discovering something cool about the place you're exploring. So when things do start to get boring, it never lasts too long.

Back once again are the hacking mini games - futuristic lock picking to get to the better loot - and as before they start out cool, but the novelty wears off on your 50th hack. Since you no longer collect items, your general upgrades are managed via a resource limited research interface. This might have worked okay if not for the fact you have to perform an incredibly dull planet scanning mini-game over and over to gather enough resources. It's as if the developers were pressed for time and slapped it together, or maybe they just wanted to appeal to all those MMO players who love a good grind [ed: jokes, we love you guys].



A failing of the original game were the side missions - there was a reasonable quantity of them, but they were so simplistic and content-sparse that they really weren't fun or interesting at all. This has largely been addressed in Mass Effect 2, which comes packed with dozens of optional missions that can be discovered by both conversation and exploration - each has their own story and purpose-built architecture; no more boring procedurally generated landscapes.

Additionally, Mass Effect 2 comes with downloadable content support that is set to add yet more of these auxiliary quests. The feature is accessed via the game's Cerberus Network menu and any DLC purchases will be available to all your character profiles in the form of new missions, weapons, armour and characters. A redemption code for the first DLC is provided out of the box to encourage players to check out the system.

Once you add all of this content together, you have a game that edges well over 24 hours of solid playtime and while that might be pretty standard for an RPG, it far exceeds the single-player campaigns of most shooters. Some of the simplifications to the inventory and combat system have gone a touch too far but the result is still an end-product that exceeds the quality of the first game.

If you played and loved Mass Effect, picking this one up is a complete no-brainer. Fans of regular shooters however, may want to exercise more caution. If you don't care much for sci-fi or don't generally have the attention span for drama and just want to blow stuff up then your mileage may vary, but if you love a good yarn this game should touch you in all the right places. With terrific script-writing, exceptional voice-acting and yet more substance added to an already wondrous Universe, Mass Effect 2 is as good as interactive storytelling gets.
WHAT WE LIKED
Storyline and the methods used to deliver it are good as it gets
Transition between the two games is masterfully executed
Eye-candy and soundtrack matches the quality of the narrative
Most faults of the first game have been addressed
WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE
Some RPG elements have been oversimplified, limiting customisation
Mini-games and resource grinding gets old, quick
MORE...
WE GAVE IT:
9.6
OUT OF 10
AusGamers
Latest Comments
Spook
Posted 11:51am 29/1/10
ive started it this morning, its f*****g awesome.

sheppard looks exactly like me!
groganus
Posted 12:19pm 29/1/10
Awesome game, alot of hard choices to make later on, some have made me really s***** with myself after making the choices, especially the way it autosaves straight after you made the choice, and if you wernt smart enough to save prior to that then your f***ed.

Other then that the story is way better this time around and you can feel the effects of what happened in the previous game quite well through out the universe...

i just wish id played mass effect recently and kept my save file so some of the choices i made were still in effect in mass effect 2, in saying that though.. all the choices are made were pretty much what had been made with the default chacter in mass effect 2, so its not a huge loss.
Mantorok
Posted 01:41pm 29/1/10
Yeah, I managed to piss off that Aussie chick for good when she had a fight with another crew member, didn't have the paragon/renegade score to settle it peacefully. Everyone else is happy with me though.
Spook
Posted 02:04pm 29/1/10
yer, i wish i had my save game still too :(
konstie
Posted 02:09pm 29/1/10
so is this the "empire strikes back" of the series?
groganus
Posted 02:41pm 29/1/10
Yeah, I managed to piss off that Aussie chick for good when she had a fight with another crew member, didn't have the paragon/renegade score to settle it peacefully. Everyone else is happy with me though.


Thats the instance i was talking about
Spoiler:
however i reloaded my game and decided to take miranda's side instead of jack's... best thing ever.. cause now if i work my paragon up i can convince her i was just saying it to come off cool
Mantorok
Posted 03:02pm 29/1/10
so is this the "empire strikes back" of the series?
If you mean "sequel that's better than the first", then yes.

groganus: Well... Spoiler:
The same is true with Miranda, I've just been unable to raise my paragon/renegade score enough to win her back. I'm pretty even for paragon/renegade, need to be closer to the extremes
konstie
Posted 03:09pm 29/1/10
how did u guys buy it? steam? how big is the download?


"props" to ausgamers for listing all the prices on the "buy it now" tab
groganus
Posted 03:11pm 29/1/10
Mantorok - i nearly have full paragon and im yet to recruit the last member of my squad and complete grunt and that dumb lab dudes personal missions or thanes.
Bah
Posted 03:54pm 29/1/10
Yeah i pissed miranda off too, not quite full paragon yet, so i can't win her back, but in the meantime i have been working on tali, but she wont give it up yet because she is afraid of syphilis or something, but she has that burqua mystique thing going on and i'll find out whats under that mask even if it kills her.
Mantorok
Posted 04:40pm 29/1/10
Kelly (the personal assistant) is pretty easy to flirt with.
Chuckeh
Posted 05:12pm 29/1/10
where is this 'buy it now tab'?
trog
Posted 05:14pm 29/1/10
http://www.ausgamers.com/games/mass-effect-2/buy/ yo!

Note: gamelane is apparently a grey importer; they are getting dropped from our list soon pending further discussion about how to deal with them.
Methz
Posted 07:06pm 29/1/10
Loving this game atm.
Such a vast improvement over the first.
Methz
Posted 07:10pm 29/1/10
Btw the d/l was 11gb on steam
shrapse
Posted 11:22pm 29/1/10
Whose crazy idea was the price list?
Pinky
Posted 11:23pm 29/1/10
Skipped through all above posts to say that me and a mate are just playing through the original now. We're behind schedule...enjoying it though.
Thundercracker
Posted 12:00am 30/1/10
I never played the first so I feel like I have missed a bunch of back story, but I'm still really enjoying this one. It has a great cinematic quality to it.
konstie
Posted 02:13am 30/1/10
sold. downloading now.

mad idea with the "buy tab" trog, quick and easy way to see a price comparison.
Khel
Posted 02:28am 30/1/10
Its so cheap on steam, but my savegames are on my 360 :(

Without spoiling ME2, can someone who's played through it tell me how much impact the choices you made in ME1 actually change the game, if you import your savegame?
Bah
Posted 04:56am 30/1/10
I didn't import a save game, but there were parts in me2 where someone who i saved in me1 was dead which i guess is fairly noticable, but for a lot of the references it was just "oh yeah i vaguely remember blowing something up" because i played the original aaaages ago.

I guess one of the major plot points at the end of me1 was whether or not you saved the council, without a save from me1 the game assumes you let them die (which i did anyway, c****), wonder what the difference is if you saved them in me1? Probably something cheesy like humans taking control anyway, and the game plays out the same way?
Raisty
Posted 10:02am 30/1/10
I imported my save game, and so far I've encountered loads of people/things I saved in ME1 (went full paragon path in ME1). Its pretty cool, it seems to have a fairly big impact on the way the universe is setup. I'm only 7hrs into the game too.

I also recall in an interview on majornelson podcast they said that some of the results from your choices in ME1 wont be visible until ME3, so well worth importing the save game.
Mantorok
Posted 10:32am 30/1/10
groganus
Posted 12:13pm 30/1/10

Without spoiling ME2, can someone who's played through it tell me how much impact the choices you made in ME1 actually change the game, if you import your savegame?


standard mass effect 2 character...
note* dont read if you havent played mass effect one
Spoiler:

wrex is dead.
kaidon is dead.
you f***ed ashley williams.
you let the council die and an all human council now exists.



pretty much the grunt of it.
konstie
Posted 04:54pm 30/1/10
ahh "grunt" of it.
Ivonin
Posted 09:28pm 31/1/10
Already clocked up 27 hours and 37 minutes. The missus just kicked me off so she could play the Wii when she found out, hahahaha.
Pharcyde
Posted 09:41pm 31/1/10
So let me get this straight - if I never finished ME1, I could still happily enjoy ME2? It fills in the blanks quite nicely from the previous game?
neffo
Posted 09:47pm 31/1/10
Playing the first one is a good idea, a lot of the character reference don't make much sense other wise. Like how Saren was your father and that.
groganus
Posted 11:52pm 31/1/10

Already clocked up 27 hours and 37 minutes. The missus just kicked me off so she could play the Wii when she found out, hahahaha.


WHAT! completed 100% in 25hours and 40minutes..... thats with doing every quest and going to every planet, and getting every upgrade *well all thats available with one play through*

Brilliant game.
konstie
Posted 09:02am 01/2/10
have any of you guys had trouble loggin into cerberus in the menu?
Khel
Posted 10:05am 01/2/10
WHAT! completed 100% in 25hours and 40minutes


Spose it also depends how fast you move through the game though, and if you're reading all the codex entries, etc. Like I've heard people who played Dragon Age and completed all the quests and stuff on their first playthrough and did the game in 30 - 40 hours, whereas for me it took almost 70 hours for my first playthrough. I guess I just stroll pretty casually through rpgs :P
groganus
Posted 12:56pm 01/2/10
i wouldnt say i rushed, i took my time playing it... i cant say i read the codex though... some things i wanted to know more about.. but not everything.
deadlyf
Posted 01:30pm 01/2/10
I'm glad I bought this on PC instead of keeping with the xbox despite losing my saves. The game play is 100% better, plus it looks fantastic.

Spook
Posted 02:38pm 01/2/10
plus it looks fantastic.

i thought it looked pretty much like the first one

konstie
Posted 02:57pm 01/2/10
plus it looks fantastic.
i thought it looked pretty much like the first one


+1

also, someone make a thread so we can talk about spoilers.
Bah
Posted 03:02pm 01/2/10
Don't romance tali, you get gipped by the gypsy.
You don't even see her face, i'm not going to spoiler that, i consider it a public service announcement so people don't waste their time.
reload!
Posted 03:10pm 01/2/10
You mean I've been trying to f*** that 3 toed sloth for nothing!?
Bah
Posted 03:15pm 01/2/10
Unless she is going to give you the shocker with those three toes, then yes.
deadlyf
Posted 03:31pm 01/2/10
i thought it looked pretty much like the first one
I'm comparing between Xbox and PC. I have no idea what Mass Effect 1 looks like on PC or what Mass Effect 2 looks like on Xbox, all I know is that Mass Effect 2 looks much better on PC than Mass Effect 1 did on Xbox.
Khel
Posted 03:57pm 01/2/10
Yeah, I ended up buying it on Steam last night, couldn't justify spending the $40 - $50 extra to get it on 360 just to carry over my saves. Only played it for a little bit last night, but so far it seems most of the choices are the same as what I made in ME1, except I f***ed the blue chick, not the racist b****.
Mantorok
Posted 04:39pm 01/2/10
deadlyf - Comparing PC to PC it looks better.
Commenting has been locked for this item.
41 Comments
Show
 
Log In
User:  
Pass:  

Advertise with Us | Download Media Kit | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2014 AusGamers™ Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
A Mammoth Media web development / Australian VPS Hosting by Mammoth Networks