We chat with Blizzard's Hearthstone team on all the juicy info about the first expansion to highly-successful card game Hearthstone
Hearthstone: Goblins vs Gnomes Dev Interview
Follow on for our second entry in the on-going review of World of Warcraft's fifth expansion, Warlords of Draenor
World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor: Day 8 - Garrisons
We chat with Blizzard's Hearthstone team on all the juicy info about the first expansion to highly-successful card game Hearthstone
Hearthstone: Goblins vs Gnomes Dev Interview
We take a nostalgic look back at one of the best N64 games to ever be made, The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask
Throwback Thursday - The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

PC | PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Developer: 38 Studios Official Site: http://www.reckoningthegame....
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Release Date:
9th February 2012
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

Genre: Role Playing
Developer: 38 Studios
Official Site: http://www.reckoningt...
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Release Date:
9th February 2012
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Video
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Review
Review By @ 05:02pm 08/02/12
XBOX360
RPG juggernauts cast a gigantic shadow. Titles in the league of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, Dark Souls and even pseudo-RPGs like Mass Effect envelop the genre’s landscape, blotting out all in their wake and leaving an indelible mark on those that follow. It’s hard to go against the established conventions of any genre and cut your own path. Yet occasionally a small sapling can push through and, if carefully nurtured and attended to, grow into a mighty oak and cast a wide shadow of its own. What’s with all the hippy metaphors you ask? Just painting a picture of the little engine that could.

You see, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning thumbs its nose at convention. You say RPGs have weak combat and are more about expansive storylines and immersive worlds. Screw that. Why must they be mutually exclusive? Amalur’s developers raise a respectfully defiant middle finger to these set in stone notions and bring an action driven experience with a plethora of killifying options (it’s a word, look it up) that will force you to reassess your concrete ideas of what RPG combat should be.

Imagine a game that takes its cues from established action franchises like God of War. Then add a dash of artistic animation flair from comic book legend Todd McFarlane (the dude that done Spawn), a sprinkle of sultry sounds care of Grant Kirkhope (he made them tantalising tunes for GoldenEye 007, Banjo-Kazooie and Donkey Kong 64) and lavish lashings of lore by acclaimed fantasy scribe R.A. Salvatore (smashed out some Forgotten Realms novels for a dozen or so million fans). Carefully season and bake at 180 degrees under the watchful eye of Ken Rolsten of The Elder Scrolls III and IV fame and Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning comes together like an all-you-can-eat RPG buffet where it’s all pretty much on the menu.

The story, in broad strokes, isn’t going to blow your mind. It’s still an RPG after all and the usual rules apply. A gigantic douche-nozzle called Gadflow with delusions of grandeur has been “chosen” by a god-like entity to cleanse the populace and convert them to his way of thinking. Before you can say “welcome to the crazy house sir, what size would you like your straight jacket in?” he starts messing up everyone’s gloriously chill-axed way of life.


An epic brouhaha kicks off with the good guys getting trounced by his evil band of miscreants known as the Tuatha. Usually this would be no big deal with humanoids and Fae (think Elves) banding together to spank this little upstart and his cronies and rip him a new one. However evil plans are afoot. After a prolonged and costly battle with heavy casualties on both sides Gadflow makes with ze dastardly resurrection spell and runs a train across the remaining forces, twirls his moustache, arches an eyebrow and laughs maniacally. The world needs a hero and that’s where you come in.

It appears that Gadflow ain’t the only one working his mojo against Mr. Death. A couple of industrious gnomes have been tinkering about the Well of Souls. Using their stupid-dope skills they bring you back from the dead (yep, you died. We sent a fruit basket to your family with our condolences) have a mini freak out, declare you saviour of the world because you are no longer bound by fate, toss you a bunch of weapons to play with, pat you on the bum and send you on your way.

This “no fate” clause is kind of a big deal. Every life form is bound by fate but you, the Fateless One, are not. You can rewrite predetermined destinies and cataclysmic events by lighting them up with your staff of Ra, stabbing them in the face with your daggers, shooting arrows in their eyeballs, bludgeoning them with a hammer or clefting them in twain with a broadsword… you get the idea. And now we get to the meat and potatoes of the piece. The combat.

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is all about action and doesn’t want to constrain you to one style. You can play as your classic rogue using the longbow, daggers and faeblades (the coolest weapon around) and get all stabby-stabby quick-time stealthy assassin-ninja style. You can call down the thunder as a mage using staffs and other magically imbued items, or grab a hammer or any other monolithic sharp pointed-ended thing and simply beat the crap out of enemies as a warrior and that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

In no way are you limited to each class’ weapons. Mix and match to your heart’s content! You can stay true to a class, become a hybrid or use every bloody death-dealer in the game. As you level up you unlock new fate cards or “destinies” giving you bonuses dependant on your play style and Amalur doesn’t punish you for heading in the wrong direction. You can re-spec your character and completely re-outfit their skills and abilities AT ANY TIME. Just head on over to your friendly Fateweaver, cross his palm with silver and boom! You’re a clean slate ready to give something else a try. It’s all about freedom of choice, baby.

I favoured rogue bringing the pain with faeblades (like a double-bladed tonfun) using kickass daggers I crafted after maxing out Blacksmithing and Sagecraft to give it an elemental damage boost and backed them up with a horrendously overpowered longbow. I could easily dodge to avoid attacks and then hit unsuspecting fools with a slice ’n dice twirl, dive in headfirst with the faeblades and turn them into salsa, parry with my shield and become an avenging circular saw of doom to teach them the error of their ways. I was a whirling dervish of pain and that was only the beginning. I’d launch enemies skyward and pepper them with arrows as they fell, drop traps mid-battle, call down arrow storms, poison my blades for extra damage and even mini-teleport through groups carving a back-stab-tastic path through bone and sinew in the blink of an eye. The entire time I played the combat never got old and I’ve only touched on some of the moves at my disposal, and then there’s the whole fateshift thingy.


Mixing up your attack combinations earns you “fate”. Max out this bar and you can fateshift. In this mode you are pretty much unstoppable. Everything goes slow-mo and purplely, the colour of fate apparently. You dish out more and take less damage, you move faster while everything else seems like it’s wading through jelly. If you’ve quick enough you can chain together multiple kills before the meter runs out and trigger an epic finishing move. Doing so robs these enemies of their fate. You manifest a massive weapon be it sword, scythe, axe, arrows, whatever, and end their sorry existence with a satisfying coup-de-graces. Before the final blow you have a short QTE (quick time event) to maximise the extra XP you’ll gain afterwards. Stringing several deaths and a successful button mash can yield a massive XP bonus and is an unreal way to pacify pesky bosses.

On the subject of bosses, Amalur throws some pretty out there creatures your way with very few attacking exactly as you’d expect them to. Sure you’ve got the lumbering bruisers dealing heavy damage and sprightly… err… sprites taking flight, but you never can really tell. Some of the larger brutes lunge at you with surprising speed almost belly-flopping all over you. Smaller creatures attack in packs and try to surround you and some even slither about like snakes closing vast distances at breakneck speeds to turn you into a Happy Meal. The one I loved to hate the most was the Thresh.

Part tree, part mage, this beastie would send roots burrowing your way forcing you to dodge and before you had a sec to catch your breath he’d unleash a barrage of lightning bolts that would do Zeus and Thor proud and nothing made me happier than taking one down, with extreme prejudice. That’s the thing about Amalur. It’s constantly throwing harder and harder enemies at you so just when you’ve got a handle on it you need to rethink your strategies and evolve, and who doesn’t love that?

Now you might be getting to this point thinking what’s with the “8.7” down the bottom kozeeii old mate? Well it’s not all puppy dogs and rainbows. Amalur does have a few niggling issues. While load times are pretty damned fast, especially considering the length and breadth of what’s on offer, there were infrequent texture pop-ups as well as enemies that materialised out of thin air. I highly recommend installing to your hard-drive before you play to negate most of these, but even after I did, they did persist. The audio synching was also off (sometime hilariously so) feeling like a badly English dubbed Jackie Chan movie. Neither of these are deal breakers but they do need to be mentioned.


The only real negative was the sporadic bugginess of the combat camera. Usually, at the most inopportune moment mid super intense skirmish, the camera would wig out and obscure the battle or choose to focus on the grass under my character’s feet, or any number of other objects, angles or enemies, anywhere except where I wanted it to be. There seemed little rhyme or reason to it and while you can centre the camera behind you with a thumbstick click sometimes that momentary frustrating distraction is all it takes to get a one-way ticket to your last game save. Also not being about to jump anywhere except at predefined areas needs to go the way of the dodo bird. It’s kind of silly that the badass champion of the whole damn universe can be thwarted by a two centimeter high bump in the road. Just saying…

Still, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is one hell of a game. It leads the way for action RPGs bringing with it a whole new level of awesomeness to combat without sacrificing expansive plotlines or an incredibly immersive world. I sprinted through the entire game (literally) without knocking out a single side quest, avoiding anything that wasn’t directly in my way and it still took me nearly 40 hours. Yep. I speed ran my way through this baby and I still haven’t had even close to enough. Now leave me alone. I hear I’ve got another 160 or so hours worth of stuff to knock out. I’ll see you next month.
What we liked
  • Balls deep combat
  • Easy re-specing
  • Funky fresh look
  • Smooth score
  • Ridiculously long
What we didn't like
  • Dodgy camera moments
  • Occasional hit detection hiccups
  • Spotting lip synching
  • Texture and enemy pop-ins
More
We gave it:
8.7
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
eski
Posted 05:20pm 08/2/12
Oooo! This game has been getting loads of good reviews. Looking forward to release!
Trauma
Posted 05:28pm 08/2/12
I ordered this several days ago from Ozgameshop, glad to see it's getting good reviews and that it's long.
Tollaz0r!
Posted 06:46pm 08/2/12
In with the inevitable "How does it comapre to Skyrim?" question.
Trauma
Posted 08:31pm 08/2/12
In with the inevitable "How does it comapre to Skyrim?" question.

That question didn't cross my mind once.
Llian
Posted 08:08am 09/2/12
Game is fun, just pity about the lack of story/npc depth. Hits the right points/buttons everywhere else though.
Raven
Posted 09:28am 09/2/12
In with the inevitable "How does it comapre to Skyrim?" question.

Indeed, exactly what I want to read when I read a review of it. Reviews of Amalur can be summarised with one of two lines:
- It's better than Skyrim
- It's not better than Skyrim.

That's really all I want to know.

On the other hand, I trust IGN reviews more than AGN reviews, and IGN said 'buy'. So I will.
glynd
Posted 11:18am 09/2/12


On the other hand, I trust IGN reviews more than AGN reviews, and IGN said 'buy'. So I will.


really? I'm the opposite. I really don't trust IGN. I tend to take final score with a grain of salt and make my judgement on the "good" vs" bad" and highlights of the review.

and just bought. Hopefully it'll take up a bit of time.
ravn0s
Posted 11:20am 09/2/12
i thought it was well known that ign is the lest trust worthy when it comes to reviews.
deadlyf
Posted 11:28am 09/2/12
Are all the things listed as negatives issues on the PC?

I'm not sold on the look of this game, people have been talking it up in terms of gameplay but I'm finding it hard to get past it's kind of shiny over the top look.
ravn0s
Posted 11:36am 09/2/12
deadlyf, you should give the demo a try if you're not sure. it's available on steam. i downloaded it the other day but haven't had a chance to play it yet :(
Shroud
Posted 02:12pm 12/2/12
this game seems really f*****g easy.

Maybe Dark Souls has just made everything seem so easy in comparison?

I haven't come close to dying yet.. 5 hours in.
DM
Posted 02:15pm 12/2/12
Don't like the game at all. Retarded design choices for PC with something simple like equiping a weapon. usually it'd be C or I. Instead you have to go through like 5 menus. Mass effect type conversation windows without the options to select choices with numbers on the keyboard. Only made it like an hour in and it s***ted me.

I will give it props for cool stealth kill animations though.
glynd
Posted 09:28am 13/2/12
Try playing with a controller ... it feels a whole lot more fluent.

But so far, pretty disappointed. I went in with zero expectations which usually allows to enjoy the most mediocre of games. I guess I need to get further into the game before it starts getting really good
Outlaw
Posted 09:34am 13/2/12
Sweet game for console. The menu's work great with a controller, unlike Skyrim.
quix0tic
Posted 02:49pm 20/2/12
@DM ... tried actually pressing I .. to view your inventory? Game is smooth ... story is good ... combat is better than any RPG I've ever played ... camera can be completely broken at times, but seriously ... if everything was perfect, why would anything need to be reviewed.

Skyrim is clunky and uninspiring, from my perspective. A single player RPG shouldn't skimp on combat dynamics ... and Skyrim is rubbish in that department. So yeah I think this is better than Skyrim ... unless you like being extremely bored whilst engaging in combat.
eski
Posted 02:57pm 20/2/12
So yeah I think Skyrim is better than Kingdoms of Amalur ... unless you like being extremely bored whilst not engaging in combat.

I found the combat carried this game for about 5-6 hours , the loot grinding kept me going for about that again, and then I got massively bored and switched it off, never to return.

The combat was too easy imo, the game let you become way over levelled.
Outlaw
Posted 02:20pm 22/2/12
Check this s*** out. 10+ hit combo's in an RPG.

tvcars
Posted 01:27pm 27/2/12
Someone turned Tekken into an RPG.
gamer
Posted 01:29pm 27/2/12
Someone turned Tekken into an RPG.


I think this is a logical step forward and something very refreshing. I glad they did. We need more skill in RPGs and less 'rotations' and 'chance'.
Tollaz0r!
Posted 01:44pm 27/2/12
There are 3 main types of RPG;

1. Western style full-RPG. Heavy with character stats and chance. Two sub types:
- Single Character. eg. Fallout 1&2. (Although NPC characters are sometimes available)
- Multiple Characters fully controlled by the player. eg. Baldures Gate.


2. Japanese style full-RPG. Heavy with character stats and chance. Although these tend to include multiple characters with preselected 'classes'
- Single Character
- Multiple Character

3. Action-RPG. Light on stats and chance (item drops excluded) and more revolved around action. Could also be called Action games with RPG elements.
Diablo, and Kingdoms of Amalur, Skyrim to a lesser degree.

I love my Western style RPG's with multiple characters, although my favorite game of all time is a single character based western RPG (Fallout 2).

Gamer, the games for you seem to be Action-RPG. Leave the Western style full-RPG's alone, they don't need more 'twitch', they have plenty of skill in other areas.

last edited by Tollaz0r! at 13:44:21 27/Feb/12
Luke
Posted 01:47pm 27/2/12
Was an alright game though I found it way to easy even on hard. Have died twice to traps in the last 30 hours. never even close via enemies.
deadlyf
Posted 02:18pm 27/2/12
I ended up giving this a try. Potentially long rant inc.

The voice acting in this game is the worst I've heard, pretty much ever. Really ruins the already quite ordinary story and even the non-conversational dialogue is horribly done. You rescue a few hostages and as they run by one says "I have to get out of here" in the most bland, unaffected by months of horrible captivity and sudden elation of rescue ever. They could have been saying "I have to get out of here... and pick up some milk from the shop" with all the excitement the line was delivered in.

The story, at least as far as I've got, seems to be really simplistic. Even during side quests, normally in an RPG I will expect a twist or two but everyone you meet seems to be exactly who they claim to be, I continually doubt they are being genuine though because of how f*****g awful the voice acting is. Conversation options seem pretty pointless as well, you get given the option to listen to more horribly delivered information, the option to accept a quest or not and occasionally the option to use an ability like persuasion. All other responses seem pointless and while they might result in slightly different dialogue they end up with the same results.

The exception is the rare occasion where you are asked to make a decision but at this point no decision I've made seems to matter. I mean sure you get to choose to let someone live or die but I tried both options and it didn't seem to have any great effect. The game seemed to care less about my decision than I did and I really had very few f**** to give.

That said the combat is quite fun and the game world itself is actually quite good, not Skyrim good but much better than what some other RPG's might deliver. The graphics are very average but not distractingly so. The abilities you get as your character develops look amazing and make you feel quite powerful and being able to change your abilities and try new things is also a big plus.

If this had been an MMO as it was originally planed, I think it actually would have been one hell of an MMO. Combat would have been really interesting both for PvE boss fights and in PVP. As a single player RPG though, I'm pretty sure that when I get bored with the combat I won't have the motivation to finish the story.
XaartaX
Posted 05:14am 18/3/12
As one person put it, "this game has three difficulties, easy, easy and ..easy". Don't get me wrong, I wasn't looking for a game where I want things insanely difficult. But after playing for a good 5 or so hours I could still just run around one shotting everything and never have to bother using potions.

Talked to my mate who finished it to ask if it ever got any more difficult, "nope, and make sure you only use your super power at the last 10% of a boss fight to get the bonus xp otherwise that's too easy as well".
Commenting has been locked for this item.
23 Comments
Show