to the moon, athena
AusGamers caught up with 2K Australia and Randy Pitchford to discuss the recently revealed Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel and why Australia is making an impact on the moon. Click for more!
Welcome to Planet Nexus
We take a brief dip in the MMO pool with Carbine Studios' WildStar, and find out just what Planet Nexus has in store for us. Check it out in our preview for more!
oracle of ages
Batman: Arkham Knight is set to be Rocksteady's final in the Arkham series, so it's fitting that it's just so damn big. And Batmobiles. Nuff said. Click for more!
Trial By Dirt Bike
We take a look at the fourth title in the Trials series, and the first to hit next-gen platforms. Does it live up to the name? Find out in our review!
AusGamers Games
Gran Turismo 5
Gran Turismo 5

PlayStation 3
Genre: Racing
Developer: Polyphony Digital Official Site: http://www.gran-turismo.com/
Publisher: Sony
Gran Turismo 5

Genre: Racing
Developer: Polyphony Digital
Official Site: http://www.gran-turis...
Publisher: Sony
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Gran Turismo 5 Video
Gran Turismo 5 Review
Review By @ 12:16pm 07/12/10
PS3
It’s been many years in the making, and after several false starts, one of the most anticipated games of 2010 (which for a while looked like 2011), Gran Turismo 5 is finally here.

To ease the load times, the game offers the option of installing game data onto the Hard Disk Drive. It’ll take anywhere between 40 to 60 minutes (it took 47minutes for me), and use up 8GB of HDD space. It’s a pretty hefty install, but proved to be a wise investment as even after the install, the load times weren’t exactly quick, so I shudder to think how long the load screens would’ve been without it.

Cars are divided in two different classes: Premium and Standard, the main difference being the Premium car models are of a higher quality. Around 20% of the cars are classified as Premium, and one of the differences between the two is the inclusion of a cockpit view for Premium cars. The cockpit view is superb; the work gone into capturing the detail of the car’s interior truly is amazing and goes as far as having working windscreen wipers for races held in rainy or snowy conditions. Racing from this viewpoint certainly enhances the realism, and became my preferred viewpoint, which just made it disappointing that the option wasn’t available to Standard cars.



Another difference is that Standard cars are limited to minimal damage, usually consisting of scratches and minor dents, while the Premium cars have more extensive damage modelling. Overall, I was less then pleased with the damage modelling, as it wasn’t realistic at all. I found that even slamming into walls at high speeds had no adverse affect on the car’s performance and just resulted in a minor dent to the front bumper, and this was in a Premium car which had a greater damage model.

Visually, the car models in Gran Turismo 5 are superb, though, as mentioned above, the quality of the Premium cars is way above that of the Standard ones. In saying that though, the same can’t be said of the graphics quality for the game’s tracks. It’s not that it was particularly bad or game-breaking, but it’s just not to the same photo-realism that so many of the game’s cars are.

While the car damage is unrealistic, Gran Turismo is still number one in terms of realistic driving simulators. An aspect of Gran Turismo 5 that’s done well is the realistic handling of the cars. The sense of weight is achieved well in the game, as you’ll be able to distinguish between driving a go-kart; which is light and zippy and being behind the wheel of a NASCAR, which is far heavier. Unfortunately, the overall racing experience is hampered by the AI drivers, which lack any personality and drive like robots. The AI tends not to deviate at all from the racing line; which results in them ramming you if you get in the way, and their cars always seem to be bunched together.

A feature that is a major disappointment has to be the Course Maker, as it doesn’t actually let you create your own track, only edit a collection of themed tracks. And even then you’re limited to options such as number of sections on the track.



The game offers two modes: GT and Arcade mode. It’s in Arcade mode that you’ll be able to take your chosen car out for a spin on the track of your choice, and boy does Gran Turismo have options. Here you’ll get to drive around many tracks from several different locations, which include snow and dirt tracks, actual cities such as Rome and Tokyo, real life tracks such as Daytona, Monza and the Top Gear test track.

It’s only in the Arcade mode that you’ll be able to transfer and drive up to 50 cars that you earned in the PSP version of Gran Turismo; which kinda sucked as all the cars unlocked on the PSP aren’t available to you in the GT mode. The Arcade mode is also where you can try out the new Head Tracking feature using the PlayStation Eye. It can be finicky to set up, and can only be used on Beginner level races. It definitely felt like more of a tacked-on novelty; offering very little in the way of anything special to the game.

GT mode is the career mode in Gran Turismo 5, and is where earn your licenses, buy cars from new and used dealers, sell cars and tune them up to drive them in races. A-Spec races allow the player to take on the role of the driver and race in different events, while B-Spec allows you to give directions to your created driver. Directions are limited to telling them to decrease, increase, maintain speed and ordering them to overtake. Apart from using AI to get around, it also affords you a chance to just sit back and watch the race.

To progress in GT mode, players must earn experience points, which are then used to level up. The higher your level, more options such as better cars, challenges and races become available. So for those who received the special cars via DLC will have to leave those cars in the garage till you achieve a high enough level to be able to drive them.



The License tests return, and along with the levelling up, licenses are required to unlock races. I found that it wasn’t difficult to achieve a pass rating, which is the Bronze trophy, but to unlock the Silver trophy I needed several attempts at the test, while a Gold trophy was achieved via near flawless driving. In the end, the goal was to earn the license and that could be done by just earning passing grades, so I didn’t really see the need to try and earn gold for all the tests, but that is something I can definitely see the more hardcore driving fans out there sinking their teeth into.

In Special Events, the game offers several different challenge scenarios, which include karting, NASCAR and WRC challenges. Many of these challenges are similar to the license tests, and can be frustrating, especially when trying to achieve the gold trophy rating. But unlike the license test, where just passing is good enough, the payoff for achieving gold is worth it as you earn large amounts of experience points and credits to expand your overall experience and progress into the game even more.

Gran Turismo 5 is fun and addictive. It still follows the same pattern of previous games, and while it features a fantastic and realistic driving experience, it still feels somewhat let down by a number of annoying features, most likely due to the game being pushed out this year when, despite all the time in development already, it clearly needed more time in testing and bug-fixing.
WHAT WE LIKED
Cockpit View
Photo-realistic car models
GT mode
A huge number of drivable cars
Inclusion of WRC, NASCAR and Super GT licenses
Huge array of locations and tracks
WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE
Unrealistic damage modelling
The Course Maker
Inability to use cars unlocked on PSP in GT Mode
Head Tracking seemed tacked on
Lack of cockpit view in Standard cars
MORE...
WE GAVE IT:
7.6
OUT OF 10
AusGamers
Latest Comments
Resonate
Posted 01:00pm 07/12/10
Good review. I think the thing that pisses me off more than the damage or standard vs premium car differences is the AI. They are not afraid to slam into you, if you go anywhere near their driving line you practically invisible to them.

last edited by Resonate at 13:00:48 07/Dec/10
Yerolo
Posted 01:14pm 07/12/10
Good review. I think the thing that pisses me off more than the damage or standard vs premium car differences is the AI. They are not afraid to slam into you, if you go anywhere near their driving line you practically invisible to them.


So in other words the AI is the same as every other GT
Enska
Posted 01:43pm 07/12/10
I find the AI to scale much better once you open up some of the more serious races.
MatchFixah
Posted 02:25pm 07/12/10
So it's an above average game that certainly is not worth the $300 that teq paid for since he likes to think he's a bogan petrol head.

Nice.
Sc00bs
Posted 02:50pm 07/12/10
if u enjoy car games its the best car game on ps3...

its fun

damage and ai could have been better, along with some of the car models and wtf is up with the paper spectators still? i mean did they just copy and past that shit from gt4 or what!

anyone seen the endurance races you get towards the end?

think there is a 4hr one and a few 24hr ones.
paveway
Posted 02:54pm 07/12/10
as in 24 hours real time?
Sc00bs
Posted 02:58pm 07/12/10
thats what i read.

apparently you cant stop and save it and come back to it later.

You have to pit and change tires etc aswell at certain times. Sounds like a fuckin waste of time.

imagine the rage if you did the 24hrs and spun out on the last lap and lost
paveway
Posted 03:08pm 07/12/10
haha sounds alright to me, apart from the spinning out bit

you'd just have to pause the game when you want to go bed
teq
Posted 07:48pm 07/12/10
GOTY
Crakaveli
Posted 07:51pm 07/12/10
haha sounds alright to me, apart from the spinning out bit

you'd just have to pause the game when you want to go bed
I'm assuming it's like the other GT games where you have a co driver who will do laps etc for you.
SwissCM
Posted 07:54pm 07/12/10
So whats the deal with reviews not comparing GT5 to Forza 3? They're both highly popular realistic driving simulators consisting of nicely modeled cars with accurate physics released on competing platforms. Is it not considered good form or something?
Whoop
Posted 08:03pm 07/12/10
So whats the deal with reviews not comparing GT5 to Forza 3?

Hasn't forza 3 been out for a few years now? Sure they're the two competing driving sims but forza3 hardly has fresh oil on the dipstick. Might have been worth a compare had they both been released at the time but.
you'd just have to pause the game when you want to go bed

Dunno if ps3's suffer the same but if you left ps2's on pause for too long apparently they melted the laser because on pause it never spins the disc down or turns off power to the laser. I've seen the melted laser but not exactly sure if that was the cause so take that with a shovel full of salt.

last edited by Whoop at 20:03:33 07/Dec/10
SwissCM
Posted 08:05pm 07/12/10
It's still an apt comparison. It's only been out for a year now and feature wise it's still quite competitive with GT5.
Nitro
Posted 07:21am 08/12/10
The game is shit but its still the best.

That's GT5 in a nutshell for me. Sony needs to move development of game play, menu interfaces and testing to a european development team and let the japs just do the driving mechanics and car models. There are so many simple moronic design decisions that stop a good game from being great.

myWhiteWolf
Posted 08:24am 08/12/10
There are so many simple moronic design decisions that stop a good game from being great.
expand? its everything i was expecting from gt5, worth 5 years of development? probably not, but certainly a worthy candidate for my $77. better than another call of duty rip off anyway.
fpot
Posted 08:53am 08/12/10
There are so many simple moronic design decisions that stop a good game from being great.
Ones I can think of off the top of my head after spending a day and a half in bed as sick as a dog.

- no fast forward/rewind control in reply mode (lol)
- 200 decent looking cars, 800 shit ones
- terrible AI
- only enough content to last till when you hit about level 20 before you get to start repeating races again
flatbeat
Posted 02:38pm 08/12/10
I bought a PS3 specifically for this game. It was pretty much exactly what I thought it would be, good but not great. The 5 years of development time was a dead give away that it would be slightly disappointing.

Still I love cars, I love racing and it's still the best driving sim available.

Gaz
Posted 02:48pm 08/12/10
We're just scratching the surface here, more things are in store for GT5.

Benchmark for all racing/driving games on any console.
fpot
Posted 02:51pm 08/12/10
rfactor is better on the PC and forza 3 is better on the conslols.

Denial ain't just a river in egypt fellas
flatbeat
Posted 03:04pm 08/12/10
rfactor is a better sim but doesn't have fuck all licensing therefore all of the content is user-made. Furthermore rfactors graphics the last time i looked at them weren't as nice.

Forza is good but not as good of a sim as gt. Its only better if you want to add aftermarket body kits to already exotic cars. However i have to concede that the xbox controller with the triggers gives better throttle and brake feel than the ps3 controller.

fpot
Posted 03:13pm 08/12/10
Aftermarket bodykits on already exotic cars what? I'm pretty sure the only things you can add are front and rear wings.

And how exactly is gt5 a better sim exactly? It's got shoddy ai so realistic racing is pretty much impossible, and customisation is kinda gimped in that you can't upgrade brakes on cars and you also can't alter individual gear ratios, just the final drive.
myWhiteWolf
Posted 03:28pm 08/12/10
how is rfactor even close to the quality of GT5 or Forza?
fpot
Posted 03:30pm 08/12/10
In the physics department.
Spook
Posted 06:33pm 08/12/10
which is what matters

handling (for me) is the most important part of any driving simulation

more important than how pretty it looks, what mods you can do, what cars you can drive.

other things are important, but it all comes down to handling

thats why i like dirt :)
Nitro
Posted 08:40pm 08/12/10
If you aren't playing it with a good FF wheel you can't really comment on the simulation. Seriously the game comes alive when you play it with a wheel and turn all nancy shit off. At first when you switch from controller to the wheel you try to play it like you are still playing a game, but the more you treat it like a real car the better your driving gets.

Stupidity in the game is reared in things like this..

Winning a car
- pop up message from the game telling you won a car
- you then click on go to your car tickets section
- you select the ticket
- games asks you if you want to use the ticket to get your free car
- you say yes and redeem your car.
- game then shows some stupid cut scene thing of your car driving in and telling you that you now have blah blah car.
- you then have to decide whether you want to use the car now or not.

I MEAN WTF? How about at the end of the challenge "you won XX car - use now/go to garage/continue". MORONS.


Paint
You can't choose colour options when you buy a car. You have to win a car first (lets say its purple) you can then spray a car purple if you want.

Cars
- 200 premium cars. Yet most of the game either requires or you benefit from buying from the used car dealership (non-premium cars) so many of your cars are non premium.

- There are some really shit premium cars that could be non-premium cars and we wouldn't care too much, meanwhile things like the Veyron are non-premium - wtf?

Tuning
- Stock brakes through the whole game? wtf?

Online
- Can't level up racing online
- Leaderboards?? community??
- I tried to find a race when I started playing the game. I hopped in to the lobby and all the games looked pretty much the same besides different tracks. I join a race on laguna seca in my fkn civic while an F40 and McLaren F1 basically do donuts around me. /leave


Shit that doesn't matter
- NASCAR.. was this an afterthought? I mean its fun but if I had to cut something to get this game out at a decent level I would start with this.
- Rally.. still yet to give a shit about rally in GT.
- B-Spec.. I DON'T WANT TO WATCH THE COMPUTER DRIVE THIS IS NOT FUN.


Sound
Cars still sound like vaccuum cleaners though there are some that have been improved. Overall really lacking behind the standard of modern racers.


Things that get sucky quick
- damage. Its crap and why does it only become a factor at later stages? I don't want training wheels.
- AI. So far from what I've seen LITERALLY HAS NOT CHANGED since GT on psx. You're either coming last eating their dust or you are driving miss daisy half a lap in front. They break stupid as well.
- Used car lot. It's random. Sometimes you need a certain type of car to do a certain challenge but there'll be nothing available. For ages. So you go grind for a bit.
- Settings. Literally every bloody race I have to turn the assists off. Why can't I set this as default in the game options? Also why can't I display my speed in KPH?
- Top Gear test track. Why can't I do a standing start like the stig on the show?


If this game were a gift it'd be like getting a pink Ferrari for your birthday. Cool a Ferrari but WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYY PINK??? WHOS DECISION WAS THIS?? IDIOTTSS. That's GT5.

I expect GT6 will be amazing and Sony will manage Polyphony more closely because they really fucked this up.

Infidel
Posted 08:56pm 08/12/10
wow thats a lot of complaints, think I'll just stick to throwing on dirt 2 and forza 3
Spook
Posted 09:06pm 08/12/10
sounds to me like it was rushed to market . .. . . .
paveway
Posted 09:13pm 08/12/10
i do agree the brake upgrade situation is gay

but you don't run on stock brakes, they upgrade as the car gets faster

because you'd be fucked otherwise
fpot
Posted 09:17pm 08/12/10
Also no mechanical damage in single player, and mechanical damage in multiplayer has just been patched in a few days ago. What the fuck is with that?
Nitro
Posted 09:50pm 08/12/10
What spook said was my immediate reaction when they announced the release date, because like 2 weeks before hand they said it would be another 6 months.

Its very obvious the game hasn't been play tested at all besides the driving component.
HeardY
Posted 09:53pm 08/12/10
I am having fun with it, but haven't played it heaps yet...
scooby
Posted 08:39am 09/12/10
nitro speaks the TRUTH ! fucking well said

about the brakes, the only real reason for upgrading is HEAT
(yes if you upgrade brakes before youv managed to overheat your current setup you have wasted your money, im guilty of this)

so they havnt modelled brake heat in the game, so upgrading is kindof moot.

brake feel is gumby in the fact that you cannot change the pedal 'sensitivity' to match you real life road car like i can in every other PC sim out there.

so gt5 fails again

Enska
Posted 10:36am 09/12/10
Not being able to turn my head while in cockpit view shits me to tears as well.
teq
Posted 10:38am 09/12/10
Also why can't I display my speed in KPH?


I'm using KPH, I dunno where I changed that setting
paveway
Posted 11:54am 09/12/10
it's in options
teq
Posted 12:09pm 09/12/10
Sc00bs
Posted 12:20pm 09/12/10
it reminds me so much of kaido racer on ps2

all the long-winded useless menus that you have to use to get anywhere.

vito
Posted 12:32pm 09/12/10
Not sure why everyone is hung up on the (lack of) damage. Who wants to drive, let alone race a damaged car??

The AI is frustrating. In some of the Specials you can get disqualified for colliding with another car if you hit them hard enough, but the robots on the track can ram your arse for a whole lap, with no consequences.
teq
Posted 12:40pm 09/12/10
yes I find that very annoying too, I'm trying to get through the super car italy race at the end of the 4th license
I have all gold on everything except that last race and you have to fight tooth and nail just to get around the track, let alone without hitting them
fpot
Posted 12:41pm 09/12/10
Not sure why everyone is hung up on the (lack of) damage. Who wants to drive, let alone race a damaged car??
It adds a bit of risk vs reward for passing manoeuvres.

Word around the campfire is that mechanical damage is out because the ai is so bad as to make it unworkable. Cool game guys! I'd be feeling pretty awesome if I paid $300 for it. What is it they say about suckers and their money again?
teq
Posted 12:49pm 09/12/10
jealousy is a curse?

i blew 300 hunje on it and still have money to buy your mum a nice kfc dinner after I'm through with her
I stole her wet wipes to clean up afterwards

my son does love the little toy car that came with it too, extra bonus
fpot
Posted 01:02pm 09/12/10
^ hahaha man. Your canned 'internet tough guy' responses are hilarious.
teq
Posted 01:04pm 09/12/10
tough guy? lol wut
I was being hard, but only with your mum
fpot
Posted 01:08pm 09/12/10
I suppose if you pay $300 for a shit game you must be used to playing dumb, or it just comes naturally.
teq
Posted 01:21pm 09/12/10
is money that important to you that you make distinctions about other people based on their ability to not care about how much something costs?
i got extra cars, entry into the draw for the real mercedes, usb stick, leather wallet, gt5 keychain, coffee table book, book on all the cars etc

I'd hate to be poor, your life sounds gay


paveway
Posted 01:26pm 09/12/10
all the long-winded useless menus that you have to use to get anywhere.


and it's still not as bad as dirt lol
fpot
Posted 02:20pm 09/12/10
Hey teq, I think you need to go see the chiropractor, that fluid in your back needs to be manipulated again.

No, it's just funny to see people suckered out of money, and even funnier watching them try to defend it once it becomes obvious they've been suckered out of their money.
myWhiteWolf
Posted 02:34pm 09/12/10
my main gripes with the game are similar to nitros

Paint: WTF were they thinking to implement a paint system like this?
Winning a car: Agreed, way to drawn out.
AI: can't drive, hell, even in B spec my guy kept on spinning out in my rear wheel drive car.

the other 2 aren't a big deal but IMO they really need to fix the AI,

Didn't notice any problems in the sound department? I like how the tone of the exhaust changes when you change the exhaust over.
Sc00bs
Posted 02:47pm 09/12/10
whats everyones favourite car to play around with?

i love driving the hpa r32 from winning gold in the tuner championship. So much fun.

the audi rs6 is pretty fun aswell once you do it up to (900+hp) and get rid of all the weight.
Sc00bs
Posted 03:01pm 09/12/10
haha told

Sc00bs
Posted 03:15pm 09/12/10
hahahahahaha swamp donkey

that or pig dog has to be the best way to descirbe some ppls misses hahahahahahhaa
paveway
Posted 03:52pm 09/12/10
hey can you gaylords keep your arguments in the useless drug thread plz
Gaz
Posted 09:35am 10/12/10
This skill that people get to take away from this game is immensely helpful in the real world.
paveway
Posted 09:38am 10/12/10
so scooby would tell you lol
fpot
Posted 09:41am 10/12/10
Like how if you crash into a wall, nothing happens!
Gaz
Posted 10:01am 10/12/10
'Cause you clearly haven't progressed, so stop muttering and play more.
trog
Posted 10:04am 10/12/10
hey can you gaylords keep your arguments in the useless drug thread plz
seconded. Give it a rest plz.
paveway
Posted 10:12am 10/12/10
fpot do the cars in forza pancake when they hit a wall at say 100km/h like a car hitting a wall would in real life?
paveway
Posted 12:19pm 10/12/10
also this is a question for anyone further along in the game

at some point do you win access to be able to drive the top gear test track in whatever car you want?
t
Posted 01:08pm 10/12/10
just get rfactor, then you can drive the top gear test track with whatever car you'd like (and there are thousands)

but with realistic physics
myWhiteWolf
Posted 01:16pm 10/12/10
oh, it was the top gear test track! i thought i was driving on a cardboard box, can't tell with the quality of the graphics.

really though, other than bouncing off the walls, afaik the physics in rfactor and the physics in GT5 are almost identical.

also this is a question for anyone further along in the game

at some point do you win access to be able to drive the top gear test track in whatever car you want?
I haven't really gotten very far in the "special events", but i would imagine the track becomes available when you finish all the top gear test track special events?


last edited by myWhiteWolf at 13:16:43 10/Dec/10
t
Posted 01:16pm 10/12/10
mWW you're confusing rfactor with mario kart for N64.
paveway
Posted 02:21pm 10/12/10
I haven't really gotten very far in the "special events", but i would imagine the track becomes available when you finish all the top gear test track special events?


ah yeah that would make sense, looks like that's my new mission

done the kombi van one, the lotus one is fucking gay

last edited by paveway at 14:21:50 10/Dec/10
`ViPER`
Posted 04:13pm 10/12/10
mWW you're confusing rfactor with mario kart for N64.


Watch it, Mario Kart 64 has the best drifting physics ever, you telling me your car DOESNT get a turbo boost then your come off drift?
fpot
Posted 04:29pm 10/12/10
'Cause you clearly haven't progressed, so stop muttering and play more.
There is cosmetic damage only. What a joke.

And no pavedude, but at least they start to underperform a bit.
scooby
Posted 04:58pm 10/12/10
t knows the score, hi5

the lotus is very tricky due to the MR layout, and the incorrect steering sensitivty in GT5
Sc00bs
Posted 05:04pm 10/12/10
lotus one was bullshit annoying.
dazedandconfused
Posted 10:45am 12/12/10
Game only has minor problems in my opinion (the shadow detail is poor on replays but immaculate on photos, and some of the tests are fucked, dont know how many times i got disqualified by being either turned into by another car or fucken smashed up the rear by another car).

Driving is perfect, but I think GT4 had it pretty much nailed anyway, GT5 is a minor improvement on this.

AI is in my opinion average to poor (better than GT4, which was just poor). The AI copes fine when the track is not at all crowded, and allows the inside line if youre on it, but when there are cars everywhere, they go batshit.

The other problems that have been outlined in this thread are basically nothing. The menus are fine. The damage is better than any other gt game and the premium cars are a significant upgrade to gt4, considering the time it takes to properly model the interiors of the cars, i dont see how it could be marked down for not modelling all 1000 cars.
EniGma
Posted 11:17am 12/12/10
Comparing GT5 with GT4 it doesn't do too bad.
Compare GT5 to today standards of race sims....it fails, HARD.

"Hey guys have new game, it's the old shit with better graphics. I care not cause I made a bucket developing the R35 hur hur"

WTB progressive tyre grip and the seesaw action is seriously over done.

Top Gear test track using the Lotus can only be done when on 2-3 Valiums while listening to Diana Krall. Other wise you get a snapped steering wheel and a PS3 console "inserted" into a LED TV.
fpot
Posted 11:21am 12/12/10
So you don't think that for the real driving simulator it's a bit weak to have non-upgradeable brakes and non adjustable gear ratios? Plus design decisions that are just dumb like not being able to paint your car any colour you like? Just yesterday I found out that there isn't even a decal editor like the one in forza 3. Read through the list of faults Nitro listed again, the faults are many and they are mostly dumb faults that really shouldn't be there.

And yeah I guess it is a bit much to expect for 1000 cars to be accurately modeled (forza 3 had 400 and is up to about 500 fully modeled cars with DLC btw). But instead of having 1000 cars and a lot of them being shit and not worth driving, why not cut it down to a smaller number (around the 500 mark) but have all cars accurately modeled outside and inside? The reason they didn't is so they could say 'look guys! 1000 cars!' and gullible fucks would hand over $100 (or for the super gullible $300) for the game.

last edited by fpot at 11:21:25 12/Dec/10
Sc00bs
Posted 11:23am 12/12/10
yer why the fuck is there 6 different models of yaris to buy

no1 is going to be buying a yaris to do up and drive around in u noobs
fpot
Posted 03:05pm 12/12/10
The Yaris Driving Simulator.
dazedandconfused
Posted 03:36pm 12/12/10
So you don't think that for the real driving simulator it's a bit weak to have non-upgradeable brakes and non adjustable gear ratios?


Fully customisable transmission is for sale in the tuning shop. I assume that it is actually fully customisable?
EniGma
Posted 07:41pm 12/12/10
yer why the fuck is there 6 different models of yaris to buy


LOL.
As Eddie would say "It's just so ridiculous"
scooby
Posted 08:18pm 12/12/10
fuggin lol fpot !

yes the game lacks basic features that even prologue had.

example - in time trial, every lap you did was uploaded to the server and you were given a global ranking in real time. this doesnt exist with the full version wtf.

and in online races, theres no lap timing at all recorded (only the total race time), so no one has any idea of what kind of lap pace they had compared to the winners
and in the 'warmup' theres no listing of peoples lap times, only the current pole lap. fail

last edited by scooby at 20:18:32 12/Dec/10
paveway
Posted 08:06pm 12/12/10
OH NOES YOU WON"T KNOW HOW MUCH OF AN ADVANTAGE YOUR DRIVING GLOVES GAVE YOU
scooby
Posted 08:25pm 12/12/10
gotta be the fastest, at all times
http://www.natsoft.com.au/cgi-bin/results.cgi?05/12/2010.LAKE.P1
.

last edited by scooby at 20:25:11 12/Dec/10
EniGma
Posted 09:11pm 12/12/10
HAHA!

pave's just jealous he can't cut a sub 60 pass on Sprint circuit @ QR. :p

with or without gloves.
paveway
Posted 09:20pm 12/12/10
oh you got me

so jealous
arclore
Posted 10:46pm 12/12/10
I bought this gave this arvo (traded a couple games for it) and I'm drinkin some import beers and smashin out the best lap times ever and also buying cars and such! I'm also on holidays aswell, pretty cool huh?
fpot
Posted 03:00pm 13/12/10
Fully customisable transmission is for sale in the tuning shop. I assume that it is actually fully customisable?
You can only adjust the final drive, not the individual gears.

This is only going by what I've read though. Can someone confirm/deny it?

And paveway watching you defend such blatant missing features that really seem like a basic requirement to me seems pretty pathetic. I mean come on not being able to compare lap times?
paveway
Posted 03:06pm 13/12/10
i wasn't defending anything
fpot
Posted 03:07pm 13/12/10
Then what was all that sarcasm about.
paveway
Posted 03:21pm 13/12/10
scooby acts like he's a v8 supercar driver because he holds some records over a bunch of shit cunts at qr or lakeside - as if everyone cares

and it carries on to driving games, as his post below my sarcastic ones implies about 'having to be the fastest' lol

the driving gloves comes from an in car video of a lap at qr and he has like gardening or work gloves on or something - fully pro

last edited by paveway at 15:21:26 13/Dec/10
Sc00bs
Posted 03:22pm 13/12/10
hahaha gardening gloves
fpot
Posted 03:23pm 13/12/10
Oh, real life stuff.

Carry on :)
paveway
Posted 07:47pm 13/12/10
omg you're so fucking awesome
Commenting has been locked for this item.
93 Comments
Show
 
Log In
User:  
Pass:  

Advertise with Us | Download Media Kit | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2014 AusGamers™ Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
A Mammoth Media web development / Australian VPS Hosting by Mammoth Networks