Bethesda tells us why ANZ will be first to Battlecry's beta!
Battlecry Beta First in ANZ!
We check out the fast-paced third-person Xbox One exclusive Sunset Overdrive to see just what it has in store.
Sunset Overdrive Reviewed
We take a look at Firaxis' sci-fi take on the Civ universe
Civilization: Beyond Earth Reviewed
We sit down with Blizzard's Ion Hazzikostas to talk all things World of Warcraft, including upcoming expansion Warlords of Draenor.
Talking Draenor with Ion Hazzikostas
Duke Nukem Forever
Duke Nukem Forever

PC | PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: First Person Shooter
Developer: Gearbox Software Official Site: http://www.dukenukemforever....
Publisher: 2K Games
Release Date:
10th June 2011
Duke Nukem Forever Review
Review By @ 05:50pm 10/06/11
XBOX360
About a decade ago, a bright eyed and bushy tailed gamer strode into EB Games filled with determination. When he declared to the staff that he wanted to cancel a pre-order they went into ‘retention mode’, trying to dissuade him from cancelling said pre-order. They finally asked what game it was for and when he responded they burst out laughing. The game was, of course, Duke Nukem Forever, and for the record, I’d put a pre-order down for it some 18 months earlier.

Duke Nukem Forever puts you in the stomping boots and fingerless gloves of the wise cracking, cigar smoking, babe loving Duke Nukem in what can only be described as one of the least complex game plots to ever grace screens. Those same nefarious aliens from Duke Nukem 3D are back for revenge and they’re hitting Duke where it hurts, taking all of the world’s babes. This is something Duke cannot abide and so it’s time for him to load up to kick ass and chew gum… minus the gum.

For the record, multiplayer has not been taken into consideration for this review.



If you’ve watched any of the recent trailers or read any single-player previews, you’d know that Duke Nukem Forever is an extremely self-aware game. It’s difficult to round a corner in the first few hours of the game without some pop-culturally relevant one-liner, slight at other games (or even at the Duke Nukem series) or tongue-in-cheek references to our beloved entertainment medium. If you buy into this type of humour, you’ll have a ball with this side of Duke Nukem Forever; and when it works, it works particularly well. But in my experience, a lot of these were more miss than hit and despite Duke’s initially expansive repertoire of one-liners, they became more and more annoying once they started being recycled later in the game.

Perhaps the biggest problem with Duke is how poorly he has aged. There are plenty of visible wrinkles in the form of terrible voice synching, noticeable dated gameplay mechanics and flat-out ugly graphics. I reviewed the game on Xbox 360 and while certain sections aren’t the ugliest thing I’ve ever seen, such as the self-referential opening boss fight, the bulk of the game is filled with ugly textures, graphics pop and other noticeable rendering issues. Worst of all, this lack of prettiness is made more frustrating by lengthy loading times. Even with the game installed to the Xbox 360 hard drive, there was still a noticeable pause between sections or when revisiting the respawn screen that added to the overall frustration.

Stepping further into the dangerous fields of outdated land, Duke Nukem Forever reeks of a game that should have been released 10 years ago where it could have been appreciated and, more importantly, relevant to the accepted FPS gameplay conventions of the time. The real nasty side of this is when they’ve attempted to integrate more modern mechanics into the old-school formula, such as rechargeable health and limited weapon options.



Duke Nukem Forever replaces a health bar with an Ego meter that refills when not taking fire from enemies. While this would normally be all well and good, the problems come when the game actively encourages you to refill your Ego meter by performing various acts: checking yourself out in the mirror, benching 600 pounds or fondling weird alien breasts that grow out of walls. This attempt to combine the old-school approach of collecting health kits with the newer approach to regenerating health is a tad on the illogical side.

But the two-weapon limit is a whole lot more frustrating. This is exactly the same gripe I had with Bulletstorm: why create an old-school shooter whose humour partially involves its arsenal if you’re going to restrict the amount of weapons you can carry and, thus, the amount of fun you can have with wanton in-game destruction? Couple this with the aforementioned fact that Nukem can apparently bench 600 pounds and it makes him seem like a little girl when he can’t carry more than two weapons; particularly, when one of those weapons is a pistol.

At least Duke’s very faithfully adapted arsenal still kicks all kinds of arse. The shotgun, particularly, wins back its rightful crown as king of short-range weapons, putting more recent piss-weak attempts at toning down shotgun damage to shame (Killzone 3 springs to mind). Other returning weapons such as the Ripper, Shrink Ray, Freeze Ray and Pipe Bombs are ever-satisfying and provide a hearty bang for your buck. It’s just a pity that the new arsenal choices don’t come close to being on par with the awesomeness of Duke’s older weapons.



Unfortunately, the mostly solid gun cabinet does little to mask the repetitive nature of the combat that’s only exacerbated by laughably stupid AI. When they’re not running at you in a straight line, their attempts at intelligence tend to fall short. Certain foes try to make use of cover and then stay on a corner for easy flanking; others try to launch themselves at you but blatantly miss or get caught up in the all-too-frequent physics fails; while others still attempt to teleport behind you, but putting your back to a wall renders this move useless and they end up reappearing in front of you for an easy melee takedown. Suffice it to say, friendly AI is an almost non-existent affair which, in fairness, isn’t that much of a deal as I get that the game is supposed to be Duke versus an entire alien race.

While Duke Nukem is faithful to his misogynistic and badass roots, he does have the odd character slip-up that stands as a glaring inconsistency and makes him almost politically correct at times. One moment he’s unarguably Duke, throwing one-liners and Pipe Bombs at alien bastards or declaring that he’s going to save the chicks over an assault on a place of tactical significance. But the next moment when dishing out merciful deaths to alien-infested babes he’s apologising to them and justifying what he’s doing instead of taking another obvious leaf out of Bruce ‘Ash’ Campbell’s repertoire with, “Honey, you got real ugly!” Duke doesn’t strike me as the apologetic type.

The real surprise of Duke Nukem Forever is that the mostly violence-free interactive sections are often more engaging than the many, many firefights you’ll find yourself in before the credits roll. Whether shooting pool, swinging a crane’s wrecking ball or driving a remote-controlled car (both with a controller and as a miniaturised Duke), these interactive moments were often quirky and went a long way to breaking up the mundaneness of the abundant formulaic shooting sections. It’s just a pity that the environmental puzzles were so obvious and didn’t really require much grey matter to see what had to be done.



Without a doubt, the biggest problem with Duke Nukem Forever is how long it’s been in development. Many believed that it wouldn’t live up to the hype and they were right; and probably just as many people believed that it would never see the light of day. Duke Nukem Forever sits in a unique and privileged position in that it almost demands that you play it for yourself to make up your own mind.

The game really tries hard to show that a traditional approach to first-person shooters can still be relevant, but even filled with fond memories of Duke Nukem 3D and a burning desire that Duke Nukem Forever would be amazing, albeit rounded off with low expectations from reading/writing various previews, not even my heavily tinted nostalgia glasses could make me overlook some of the glaring flaws of this game that’s been some 14 years in the making.

Alas, what many had hoped would be a glorious trip down memory lane, is a muddled affair that lacks spit and polish across the board. Hail to the king, baby? No. Sadly, it’s more akin to, ‘Fail to the king, baby.’ And I’m genuinely disappointed that I couldn’t love the game more. In a weird way, I hope that Duke Nukem Forever makes enough money for us to see another game in the franchise—one that doesn’t take 14 years to produce—so that we can have a Duke Nukem experience with gameplay that takes genre advances into account and not one that relies too heavily on us wearing old-school-gaming goggles to appreciate a game that is desperately outdated.
What we liked
  • Stepping into Duke’s boots
  • The fact that it was released
  • Effective one-liners
  • Solid nostalgic arsenal
  • High level of interactivity
What we didn't like
  • Ugly graphics
  • Long loading times
  • Dated gameplay mechanics
  • Atrocious AI
  • Lack of polish in key areas
  • Should have been released 10 years ago
More
We gave it:
5.0
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
kirkoswald
Posted 06:02pm 10/6/11
AHahhahahahaha......... hahahahahahahaa
Denominator
Posted 06:04pm 10/6/11
oh well I hope it is fun
bepatient
Posted 06:07pm 10/6/11
Oh man about to start this game now. 5.0. Ohhh s***.
nachosjustice
Posted 06:07pm 10/6/11
Read the review, bepatient. Or, alternatively, read the third-last paragraph ;).
Rhys84au
Posted 06:08pm 10/6/11
iam about an hour in at this point, glad i didnt REALLY pay for it (traded at jb 3 old crap games) the graphics are nothing on todays standards and whilst its memorable and bringing the memories back its def not a game worthy of such a long dev time ect from what i have seen thus far. (PS3)
CHUB
Posted 06:08pm 10/6/11
Brutal, funny how you're struggling to fill in the "What We Liked" column at the end, just throw in a bunch of irrelevant s*** :)
nachosjustice
Posted 06:11pm 10/6/11
I have no idea what you're talking about, CHUB...
Rhys84au
Posted 06:12pm 10/6/11
wish i wish for an edit so i could add, the points the ausgamers review have listed are pretty spot on... getting to be duke again is pure win, the game tho... not worthy.
CHUB
Posted 06:14pm 10/6/11
I have no idea what you're talking about, CHUB...
Stepping into Dukes Boots (weak) vs Ugly graphics
The fact that it was released (weak) vs Long loading times

etc.
eski
Posted 06:19pm 10/6/11
They shouldve made duke all sad and old at the beginning of the game and then all badass by the end of it. It wouldve formed a more interesting character arc than wtf is going on in the game so far. I can so imagine duke looking in the mirror at the beginning of the game holding his gut and groaning. Instead he's just annoying the crap out of me.

I dunno, maybe some interesting s*** happens further into the game, but so far it feels like a waste of good nostalgia.
nachosjustice
Posted 06:20pm 10/6/11
I may or may not have been sarcastic in my original reply, CHUB ;).
Mr.Bumpy
Posted 06:21pm 10/6/11
Not surprised. At least it's out!?
DeadlyDav0
Posted 06:22pm 10/6/11
Damn. 5. Was expecting maybe a 7 or 8 for fun but bad AI just makes me cry. I havent gone back to Homefront or Crysis 2 after the AI i saw within 10mins of gameplay.
Reverend Evil
Posted 06:31pm 10/6/11
Why didn't I wait for this review god damn-it!!

I think giving it a 5 is being generous. The game just feels boring. Right from the start when Duke had to crawl thru air ducts I knew this game was fail. I f*****g hate games these days that make you go thru those things. 10 years ago it might have worked but now it just feels dumb.
Dazhel
Posted 06:31pm 10/6/11
Hahaha. Duke Nukem Forever: The only game that earns a free review score point just for hitting the shelves.
Stalfax
Posted 06:46pm 10/6/11
I see no one here has mentioned 3D boobs? Are they worth the effort? :P
Sc00bs
Posted 06:48pm 10/6/11
they really lost by not releasing this around doom3 time.
nachosjustice
Posted 06:57pm 10/6/11
Wow, I totally forgot about the boobs, Stalfax... I guess that shows how much I wasn't enjoying this game.
Rhys84au
Posted 07:01pm 10/6/11
best part was the twins in the beginning....
Rhys84au
Posted 07:02pm 10/6/11
i know they were in the trailer but the "added" sound effects topped it off.
Fixah
Posted 07:05pm 10/6/11
What we liked: The fact that it was released

What we didn't like: Should have been released 10 years ago
Awesome.
sudbobo
Posted 07:34pm 10/6/11
the game to me so far is very dull in terms of actual gameplay, but things they did like the christian bale rant was priceless
jconradr
Posted 07:45pm 10/6/11
D:
DM
Posted 07:48pm 10/6/11
Ugly graphics

Ugh. Graphics are good enough. Not Crysis 2 level or anything but they are good enough for me. DoF though is horrid and wish I could turn that off on its own.

Long loading times

Takes me around 5 seconds on PC. Sucks to be you with your 360 version.

Atrocious AI

This AI is no different than what every game since HL1 has had. They run, take cover if they find something big enough, charge right at you when they have a clear path and isn't too far. Not much different for any other FPS out there.

I'm having a blast with this game. Playing on Come Get Some and i've died around 20 times already. S**** f*****g HARD. Haters gonna hate.
Randy Cambell
Posted 08:26pm 10/6/11
I think it should of been reveiewd on P.C!
Randy Cambell
Posted 08:28pm 10/6/11
Note Xbox outdated!
carson
Posted 08:40pm 10/6/11
Haha, I knew it'd be pretty cruddy. Shame it'll do well on name alone!
Dave and Willow
Posted 08:41pm 10/6/11
Honestly what were people expecting, it's not supposed to contain a strong narrative, state of the art graphics or sophisticated comedy. The Duke is a B Grade Action Hero, the pinnicle of masculinity of the 90's, its a nostalgia trip back to the days when, beers, naked women and violence in the movies cosumed 90% of a young males attention span. It's crude, sexest, ridiculous but, overall, funny, fun and a great ride. The Duke is back and he dosen't give a s*** what "critics" who have never enjoyed toilet humor, bought a playboy or enjoyed a mindless action flick have to say. The Duke dosent take himself too seriouly and neither should some of the self important so called critics out there. Kudos to Gearbox for having the courage to bring back the duke as he was.. and not some stuck up emo wannabe vegetarion with a pot plant named limp as a pet.

8 out of 10
Midda
Posted 08:48pm 10/6/11
Hahaha, I'm loving the fanboy defense force.
Dave and Willow
Posted 08:56pm 10/6/11
If you are having a problem with the graphics, as the Duke says "Put your beer goggles on".
Door
Posted 08:56pm 10/6/11
Honestly what were people expecting, it's not supposed to contain a strong narrative, state of the art graphics or sophisticated comedy. The Duke is a B Grade Action Hero, the pinnicle of masculinity of the 90's, its a nostalgia trip back to the days when, beers, naked women and violence in the movies cosumed 90% of a young males attention span. It's crude, sexest, ridiculous but, overall, funny, fun and a great ride. The Duke is back and he dosen't give a s*** what "critics" who have never enjoyed toilet humor, bought a playboy or enjoyed a mindless action flick have to say. The Duke dosent take himself too seriouly and neither should some of the self important so called critics out there. Kudos to Gearbox for having the courage to bring back the duke as he was.. and not some stuck up emo wannabe vegetarion with a pot plant named limp as a pet.


Gearbox employee damage control.
Punisher911
Posted 08:58pm 10/6/11
Just finished the campaign, and I quite enjoyed this game. (Played on the PC)
The graphics are dated but I wouldn't call them bad, I've seen worse.
Friendly AI is a bit on the 'meh' side, if you stand in front of them they just keep firing, thankfully you don't seem to take damage from it.
I had no trouble with loading times, seemed like any other FPS in that department.
Kind of got sick of the pig specific one liners such as "Pork chop sandwiches!"

But all in all, quite a decent game.
Dave and Willow
Posted 09:06pm 10/6/11
Gearbox employee damage control.


I work for Macdonalds
infi
Posted 09:11pm 10/6/11
owned lol
Door
Posted 09:13pm 10/6/11
I work for Macdonalds


Oh, my bad...I just figured you were, since you've spammed the internet with that paragraph...and can't spell McDonalds. lol

http://www.sabotagetimes.com/reportage/duke-nukem-forever-about-as-entertaining-as-bernard-manning/
CHUB
Posted 09:15pm 10/6/11
Bam
Fixah
Posted 09:17pm 10/6/11
Gearbox employee damage control.I work for Macdonalds
You just earned negative kudos.
tspec
Posted 09:18pm 10/6/11
Picking it up tomorrow morning and off to a LAN this weekend so I'll no doubt give it a bash in multiplayer. The graphics and the AI don't bother me as long as the game is fun so I guess I'll find out soon enough. If it's boring, it's boring and I'll just move onto something else.

It will be interesting to see if they take all the critisism on board and attempt another Duke on a current gen or next engine and actually get it out the door in the timely matter. There were obviously some restraints for Gearbox faced taking this one on board and my hat is off to them regardless of whether it's s*** or not for simply managing to release the damn game.
Dave and Willow
Posted 09:21pm 10/6/11
.and can't spell McDonalds. lol

Thats why I work at Mcdonalds


I think you might be a bit self important and uptight, prehaps you need to release some tension and do some spamming yourself.
Dazhel
Posted 09:23pm 10/6/11
Honestly what were people expecting


A semi-decent game? Looks like we got more of the semi and less of the decent.
It's not like they were strapped for time in developing the thing.

My fears were confirmed in this review. It sounds like the biggest problem with Duke Nukem Forever is that it's trying to be something that it can never be: Duke Nukem 3D

8 out of 10

Wut? did you just give your own rant a score out of 10?
Dave and Willow
Posted 09:25pm 10/6/11
8" when it's cold in the morning but 10 under normal circumstances
Tollaz0r!
Posted 09:29pm 10/6/11
What?

last edited by Tollaz0r! at 21:29:26 10/Jun/11
ravn0s
Posted 09:27pm 10/6/11
US pc gamer gave it an 80...
DeadlyDav0
Posted 09:37pm 10/6/11
US pc gamer gave it an 80...

But Duke is the symbolic all american bad ass. No way are the yanks gunna diss their hero.
Fixah
Posted 10:02pm 10/6/11
Honestly what were people expecting
Is that a trick question?
ViscoS
Posted 10:06pm 10/6/11
Been playing it a bit, it's ok.
troubletcat
Posted 10:08pm 10/6/11
It's a fun game IMO. I haven't quite finished it yet but I'm really enjoying it. Despite some slightly out of place mechanics like the regenerating health (kind of bugs me) and two weapon limit (don't care, there are weapons scattered all over the damn place anyway) it still plays in a pretty old-school way, and it's a good thing. If you want to compare the single-player in this to, say, CoD, this game s**** all over it. It's got fun weapons and gadgets and actual pacing instead of being an ADHD shooting gallery. Plus it's got a lot of personality - as much as BioShock or Half-Life 2, I'd say, although it's obviously a DIFFERENT personality. It actually belongs to that canon of games. Single-player focused shooters with strong settings and a little bit more complexity. And it fits in admirably. Half-Life 2 did it better. BioShock did it better. But DNF still does it WELL.

The AI is also comparable to those games, and a damn sight better than CoD's. Sure, the enemies aren't super-smart, but the AI isn't broken, either.

Graphics are nothing ground-breaking but they look fine to me. I actually quite like them. Not technically impressive, but they have style. I always find it funny when somebody plays a game on console and complains about muddy textures, texture pop-in, or long load times. Get used to it playing on hardware that dated.

I'm not going to pretend the game is some kind of superamazing gaming messiah. It's not TRYING to be. What it's trying to be is FUN, and it is. So what if it should've come out 10 years ago? My favorite game of all time came out MORE THAN ten years ago. Games of that time hold up just fine against current games in every department except graphics, which is largely superficial anyway.

I will say that the MP is pretty appalling. I mean, it's a lot of fun, but there's a RIDICULOUS level of lag in an 8 player game, and no dedicated servers. Bad form. Get the netcode fixed up and the MP'll be pretty fun, though.

I'd give the game an 8 as well, personally, and not just because of my love of Duke, but because I had a lot of fun playing the game.
Infidel
Posted 10:21pm 10/6/11
havent tried it but this game was pretty damn cool http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messiah_(video_game)
Fixah
Posted 10:27pm 10/6/11
It's a fun game IMO. I haven't quite finished it yet but I'm really enjoying it. Despite some slightly out of place mechanics like the regenerating health (kind of bugs me) and two weapon limit (don't care, there are weapons scattered all over the damn place anyway) it still plays in a pretty old-school way, and it's a good thing. If you want to compare the single-player in this to, say, CoD, this game s**** all over it. It's got fun weapons and gadgets and actual pacing instead of being an ADHD shooting gallery. Plus it's got a lot of personality - as much as BioShock or Half-Life 2, I'd say, although it's obviously a DIFFERENT personality. It actually belongs to that canon of games. Single-player focused shooters with strong settings and a little bit more complexity. And it fits in admirably. Half-Life 2 did it better. BioShock did it better. But DNF still does it WELL.

The AI is also comparable to those games, and a damn sight better than CoD's. Sure, the enemies aren't super-smart, but the AI isn't broken, either.

Graphics are nothing ground-breaking but they look fine to me. I actually quite like them. Not technically impressive, but they have style. I always find it funny when somebody plays a game on console and complains about muddy textures, texture pop-in, or long load times. Get used to it playing on hardware that dated.

I'm not going to pretend the game is some kind of superamazing gaming messiah. It's not TRYING to be. What it's trying to be is FUN, and it is. So what if it should've come out 10 years ago? My favorite game of all time came out MORE THAN ten years ago. Games of that time hold up just fine against current games in every department except graphics, which is largely superficial anyway.

I will say that the MP is pretty appalling. I mean, it's a lot of fun, but there's a RIDICULOUS level of lag in an 8 player game, and no dedicated servers. Bad form. Get the netcode fixed up and the MP'll be pretty fun, though.

I'd give the game an 8 as well, personally, and not just because of my love of Duke, but because I had a lot of fun playing the game.
and which fast food chain do you work for?
troubletcat
Posted 10:28pm 10/6/11
That's a good game too :p. Shiny was friggin' awesome until Enter the Matrix.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 10:28pm 10/6/11
havent tried it but this game was pretty damn cool http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messiah_(video_game)

I remember that one. I was too young back then to buy my own games with my $1/week pocket money.
groganus
Posted 10:44pm 10/6/11
I played the first 2 levels on xbox last night, it was enjoyable, but it felt outdated and crappy.

Played through an even larger junk tonight on PC. The graphics are a lot better, purely due to a larger res, the load times are barely noticeable.

Haters gonna hate, but i think its a great game for what it is.

Graphics - its not "next gen" but its not "last gen"
Gameplay - Classic token fps game play elements, poor ai, but they are just fodder to fire over the top guns at and to break up the humor and puzzles.
Story - Lacking in a great complex story... but if you were looking for that you were set to be disappointed from the get go.

At the end of the day you buy and enjoy this game because you are a duke nukem fan, If you are not fan, never played D3D then don't bother.


(Also pretty impressed with the quality of the CE (balls of steel) version, the bust is better then i expected and the art book and comic have kept me amused longer then most CE crap.
Reverend Evil
Posted 10:49pm 10/6/11
All these low post noobs coming out of the woodwork supporting the game. Not suss at all.
troubletcat
Posted 10:50pm 10/6/11
and which fast food chain do you work for?


I'm actually unemployed. Whether that's better or worse than working at a fast food chain is probably debatable, but whatever.

I don't see what that has to do with the validity of somebodies opinion on a video game. It might make more sense to attack the reasons given for liking it or disagreeing with the review. Just sayin'
skythra
Posted 11:01pm 10/6/11
How did you score this below fable 3 :@
Fixah
Posted 11:08pm 10/6/11
I'm actually unemployed. Whether that's better or worse than working at a fast food chain is probably debatable, but whatever.

I don't see what that has to do with the validity of somebodies opinion on a video game. It might make more sense to attack the reasons given for liking it or disagreeing with the review. Just sayin'
But i just wanted to know if you worked for a fast food joint near me so i can get cheap meals, no need to get all uppity on me with your logic and reason. Sheesh.
troubletcat
Posted 11:11pm 10/6/11
But i just wanted to know if you worked for a fast food joint near me so i can get cheap meals, no need to get all uppity on me with your logic and reason. Sheesh.


M'bad, if I ever get a job at a fast food chain I'll let you know :p
Fixah
Posted 11:16pm 10/6/11
That still doesn't change the fact that you were wrong about duke nudem.
nachosjustice
Posted 11:29pm 10/6/11
@ skythra - Not that I'd say that Fable 3 and Duke Nukem Forever are comparable products, but if you had to push me then I'd say that Fable 3 is a better game.
Dave and Willow
Posted 12:32am 11/6/11
I like DNF, I work at McDonalds and my spelling is not the best. How do I get my kudos back??
TicMan
Posted 12:45am 11/6/11
I want to know who this nachos person is and why hasn't he made a thread introducing himself like Steve-o did.

Also, DNF should have stayed DNF.
Dodgymon
Posted 12:57am 11/6/11
www.dukenudem.com <--- better than the actual game.
nachosjustice
Posted 01:01am 11/6/11
Introductions are for n00bs :P.
DM
Posted 01:56am 11/6/11
Only thing i'm looking to fix in DNF is the horrid DoF. Trying to find where the config file would be so I can have a looksie around.

EDIT - If your looking to turn off only the DoF, use this program. It can also change the FoV if you want. Just run it, and then start DNF. In the bottom left it should say something about searching for DNF process and once the game boots it works. Try it at least once, it really does make a huge difference. The DoF is so overpowering in this game it makes it look so much worse than what it really is.

Linky

last edited by DM at 01:56:53 11/Jun/11
troubletcat
Posted 03:39am 11/6/11
Only thing i'm looking to fix in DNF is the horrid DoF. Trying to find where the config file would be so I can have a looksie around.EDIT - If your looking to turn off only the DoF, use this program. It can also change the FoV if you want. Just run it, and then start DNF. In the bottom left it should say something about searching for DNF process and once the game boots it works. Try it at least once, it really does make a huge difference. The DoF is so overpowering in this game it makes it look so much worse than what it really is.Linkylast edited by DM at 01:56:53 11/Jun/11


That's awesome. TBH the DoF in DNF didn't bother me THAT much (although an option would've been nice...) but the FoV in Borderlands drives me crazy, which that utility also fixes.
Spook
Posted 07:29am 11/6/11
isnt nachosjustice that famous australian dancer/choreographer?

if so, hes dreamy!!!!
sydroost
Posted 08:51am 11/6/11
ausgamers always has bad reviews they score good games bad and bad gakmes good and have bad logic when explaining good and bad points if games dont trust them 1 bit.

also post count and u call noob wat a moronic thingto say.
ctd
Posted 09:15am 11/6/11
^what?
Spook
Posted 09:16am 11/6/11
moar like sydnoob, amirite!??!
Enska
Posted 11:07am 11/6/11
hahaha, what the..
Spock
Posted 11:17am 11/6/11
Wow, bad five times in one sentence... Now that's commitment to destroying a sentence.
Crakaveli
Posted 11:21am 11/6/11
lol
Vorador
Posted 11:40am 11/6/11
My god the bitter bitter fanboy tears are f*****g hilarious.

Is it really that hard to believe that the game was pretty much destined to be panned (not necessarily a failure) after all the issues? Not to mention as the review brings up, dated mechanics, dated humour etc.

As a side note, I can pretty much thank Duke 3D (and shortly after War2) for getting me in to PC and subsequently multiplayer gaming. Duke 3D with all the power of a 28.8k modem and the custom insult soundpacks.

New posters coming in to genuinely defend a polished turd: You're an inspiration for birth control :)
carson
Posted 11:48am 11/6/11
How dare anyone f*****g give Duke a bad score after all he's been through!!!@ !@! Leave Duke Alone!!111!1
E.T.
Posted 11:56am 11/6/11
.and can't spell McDonalds. lol Thats why I work at McdonaldsI think you might be a bit self important and uptight, prehaps you need to release some tension and do some spamming yourself.


Door is a Troll, its what he does. Dont worry about him.

nachosjustice, one of the best and honest reviews I've seen on here in ages. Well done. I hope you do more of them from here forward.
Door
Posted 01:22pm 11/6/11
Door is a Troll, its what he does. Dont worry about him.


Who the f are you?
Eorl
Posted 04:56pm 11/6/11
I can't even finish it. It's just bad. It's worse then bad. I just can't stand how s*** the controls feel, how stupid he runs, animations, graphics, gameplay is just over and over and over repeating. This is just awful.
Fixah
Posted 05:15pm 11/6/11
But Americans gave it a an 8 out 10, so it must be good!

By the way, anyone finished it yet? how many hours is single player campaign?
Punisher911
Posted 05:48pm 11/6/11
Not as long as they said it would be. I checked after I finished and Steam said 8 hours, heard some people are getting 10 hours out of it, depends on the diffiuclty setting I guess.
Fixah
Posted 05:58pm 11/6/11
Right so it's good for an overnight rental. Don't want to be ripped off paying for 2 nights. I just want to play it so i can say that I played the longest game in development in history.
Eorl
Posted 08:22pm 11/6/11
Just acquire it by methods that only penguins know of.
infi
Posted 08:23pm 11/6/11
Get Deus Ex instead in August. I played the beta and it's amazing.
Eorl
Posted 08:47pm 11/6/11
Get Deus Ex instead in August. I played the beta and it's amazing.

On that note, people may want to purchase it now on Steam, it's currently $49.99, and will probably go up once release date is more near.
ravn0s
Posted 08:55pm 11/6/11
I played the beta and it's amazing.


how amazing?
infi
Posted 08:57pm 11/6/11
so amazing i wee'd a little.
groganus
Posted 09:10pm 11/6/11
I don't understand why people be hating on this game.
Eorl
Posted 09:34pm 11/6/11
Cause it's s***. Hell I haven't even finished it cause I can't face myself to it.
parabol
Posted 09:52pm 11/6/11
Such haters. It's like you guys forgot how silly Duke3D was, this is no different.

I'm getting my $37 worth playing this, though the FOV should seriously be 20° wider to avoid nausea.
sleepy
Posted 10:08pm 11/6/11
just stepped into bizzarro world.
whats going on here.

im trying to decide on troll or dual account in the who's who.


lucky ole DNF came out before BF3.

people will forget about DN really soon.

it kinda reminds me of the quake 4 release.

FTR havent played DNF only cause im not a single player fanboi and i gather thats what its mostly about this little puppy.
Eorl
Posted 11:12am 12/6/11
But that's the thing Para, it's not as silly as Duke3D. It's just bad. 2 guns, terrible FOV, a depth of field that is retarded, animations are terrible, and the mouse sensitivity is borked. I'm playing it now only because of Duke, which they luckily haven't ruined. His still as awesome as ever.
eski
Posted 11:28am 12/6/11
The levels from the original were much better. There aren't even any secrets hidden in the new one as far as I can tell.



All these people talking about how we don't get it because it's old school are wrong. It isn't even up to scratch with the original game released in 1996. It's not old school. It's s***. It is vaguely interesting to play given the development history of the game, and that's about it. Tell me you're playing it to see what a total clusterf*** it is, don't tell me you're playing it because it's a good game. I don't believe you know what good games are.
parabol
Posted 12:12pm 12/6/11
It's just bad. 2 guns, terrible FOV, a depth of field that is retarded

Gotta say, with that FOV fixing app (with -15 degree boost setting) the game feels heaps better! Would still like to get rid of that warping effect when running though, makes me freaking dizzy and not want to run.

Agreed with the comments about level design. Was thinking about that the other day, about how much time I used to spend replaying many of the maps in MP (and building my own) because the levels were well thought out and not just one-shot (single-run) designs.
DM
Posted 12:54pm 12/6/11
That program I posted fixes the FoV and DoF issues but I think it's agreed that we shouldn't have to use a 3rd party program to fix that.

That map design for 2010 is oddly enough the first 20 odd hours of FF13 too. Why don't they make big sprawling maps anymore? Scared we'd get lost, get angry and turn the game off? I liked the levels where it was more like a scavenger hunt then a straight chest high walls cover fest.

don't tell me you're playing it because it's a good game. I don't believe you know what good games are.

Well i'm enjoying it. It's no GotY sure but it's not as horribly bad as people are making it out to be. Maybe on the consoles it's bad but that's your fault for playing FPS on consoles. Some people loved the halo series, I didn't. Some people loved Dragon Age 2, I didn't. Some people hate DNF, I don't. I can think of worse games to play.

animations are terrible

Which ones? Seems fine to me. Ok the guy running toward the cycloid at the start looks like he is trying to hide a limp and keep from pissing himself, and duke's jumping when looking in the mirror looks like he is irish dancing but I assume they kept that because that's how he jumped in Duke3D. I can't see them doing that by accident.


last edited by DM at 12:54:13 12/Jun/11
Steve Farrelly
Posted 01:14pm 12/6/11
Hahaha, holy s***, away for a month doing E3 bits and bobs and this what happens ;)
Eorl
Posted 01:28pm 12/6/11
Walk in front of a mirror, Duke looks like his left leg is f***ed up. The lip animations aren't quite good either, and don't seem to sync well. The AI is god awful though, and makes me rage sometimes.
bepatient
Posted 01:33pm 12/6/11
I thought the game was funny, looked ok and definitely felt old school. Its not the best game in history, sure as hell not 12 years worth but f***, I had a blast so its was good enough for my $40 thats for sure.
Sc00bs
Posted 01:36pm 12/6/11
I liked the levels where it was more like a scavenger hunt then a straight chest high walls cover fest.


+1

Games these days may look pretty but they dont have the indepth stories and engrossing levels that the older games do.

I still think Zelda ocarina of time is the best game ever made, even with its s*** graphics compared to these days games i could re-play it over and over, whereas i barely even finish a game these days because the story is lacking so much.

The Mass effect series and FFX are the only games ive really liked recently enough to replay them or even finish the game.
parabol
Posted 02:57pm 12/6/11
Thanks for this tip, developers. never would have known!

DM
Posted 03:09pm 12/6/11
Yeah some of the tips are awesome. Like the one that's like "Dodge bullets during combat to avoid taking damage"
Eorl
Posted 03:30pm 12/6/11
Heh, I laughed at the irony of the one that says all weapons are good for different occasions, try them all. Yeah, would love to, sept duke can't hold all these guns!

Ivonin
Posted 05:38pm 12/6/11
I got really bored towards the end. Was an ok game, average at best.
scuzzy
Posted 05:45pm 12/6/11
The levels from the original were much better. There aren't even any secrets hidden in the new one as far as I can tell.
that looks like E1M6 of Doom :3
eski
Posted 06:06pm 12/6/11
yeah it probably is - duke wasn't out till '96 anyways. The image was just there to illustrate a point. I think it was originally made as a complaint about CoD, I've also seen it used in FF13 threads.
Eorl
Posted 08:25pm 12/6/11
I can see now where all the developing time went. The damn side games are better then the actual game, and have more polis**
rec
Posted 07:00pm 13/6/11
I thoroughly enjoyed the single player - such a hoot. I was entertained the whole way through, and think it has been given a really bad wrap by too many publications.

PC Gamer 80/100: http://www.pcgamer.com/2011/06/10/duke-nukem-forever-review/

Gamers-Underground.com 86/100: http://gamers-underground.com/content/978-review-duke-nukem-forever.html
DM
Posted 07:15pm 13/6/11
Also worth noting is the Metacritic score.

360 - 50/100
PS3 - 62/100
PC - 72/100

I know that there isn't a metric ton of reviews for it but that's a rather big gap between versions. The consoles must of really coped it hard with bad port translation.
groganus
Posted 07:20pm 13/6/11
I know that there isn't a metric ton of reviews for it but that's a rather big gap between versions. The consoles must of really coped it hard with bad port translation.


I wouldn't say it's due to a bad port, but due to console resolution restrictions and poor load times.
Bah
Posted 07:20pm 13/6/11
Duke Nukem Forever replaces a health bar with an Ego meter that refills when not taking fire from enemies. While this would normally be all well and good, the problems come when the game actively encourages you to refill your Ego meter by performing various acts: checking yourself out in the mirror, benching 600 pounds or fondling weird alien breasts that grow out of walls. This attempt to combine the old-school approach of collecting health kits with the newer approach to regenerating health is a tad on the illogical side.
While i'm not arguing with the score, s*** like this makes me wonder if you knew what was going on in the game.
Eorl
Posted 07:41pm 13/6/11
While i'm not arguing with the score, s*** like this makes me wonder if you knew what was going on in the game.

That is exactly what you do though. They tried to combine "collect and use" items to increase ego health, and then slap on regenerating health. It was a weird move, and I'd love to know why they did it.
Bah
Posted 07:55pm 13/6/11
They didn't, the ego boosters increase your max health.
Eorl
Posted 08:45pm 13/6/11
They didn't, the ego boosters increase your max health.

Ah I see, he says refill instead of increase, never mind!
groganus
Posted 08:46pm 13/6/11
That is exactly what you do though. They tried to combine "collect and use" items to increase ego health, and then slap on regenerating health. It was a weird move, and I'd love to know why they did it.


I gotta agree, one thing that was disappointing was the regenerative health, i didn't mind the "ego meter/health bar" increasing as i interacted with stuff, that made finding things to interactive worth while, but i think they should of had an old school hit points and health pack system.

when you first leave the casino and they tell duke that his green power armor suit is ready and he replies with something along the lines of "armor is for pussys" i lol'd.. not because he sounded like a bad ass and that the armor was the "halo" spartan armor, but because the statement was ironic.. armor may be for pussys... regenerative health isn't though... WTF!

Still it didn't ruin the experience of the game for me.
blade
Posted 10:54pm 13/6/11
You sure it was Halo armor? I thought with it being green it was Doom power armor? looks a lot like the Doom suit?
parabol
Posted 11:35pm 13/6/11
Definitely armor from Halo:

Eorl
Posted 11:37pm 13/6/11
You sure it was Halo armor? I thought with it being green it was Doom power armor? looks a lot like the Doom suit?

Nah, tis Halo. Have a look at the helmet.
Jim
Posted 12:55am 14/6/11
they already had a dig at doom in duke3d anyway
Tollaz0r!
Posted 06:53am 14/6/11
That's one doomed space marine!
sLaps_Forehead
Posted 10:50am 14/6/11
ah well :/

when you think about it someone will make an 'oldskool duke' mod for it and the geeks will rejoice.
bowie
Posted 03:59pm 14/6/11
only played a few hours and really disappointed in the game. they shouldn't have released it, its like they had the same idea over the years and just kept slowly adding bits and pieces but not improving what they already had.. all i can say is lame..
Eorl
Posted 04:43pm 14/6/11
The end boss battle was pathetic. Was the exact same as the first boss battle. The f***?
Bah
Posted 05:05pm 14/6/11
And the previous 2 mid-bosses, just an extra qte for each.
troubletcat
Posted 05:31pm 14/6/11
None of those boss battles are the same. They're against the same enemy, but the second fight against each of those bosses require different strategies to the first time you encounter them.

Ditto with the two fights against Battlelords.
Suxsuxsux
Posted 11:37pm 14/6/11
I was not expecting much after the review, but so far I am quite enjoying it.
Its like playing a game that everyone thought was great 5 yrs ago and you have just got round to trying it.
The old school game play is part of its charm for me. It adds to the nostalgia and somehow corny dialog sits better with B grade graphics.

Now Dungeon Siege 3 on the other hand, looks a lot slicker than the original but was a complete fail for me. I was going to play it first, but I'll play Duke till someone works out how to fix DS3.
rec
Posted 10:08pm 15/6/11
Andrew Hansen (from The Chaser's War on Everything) sits with Bajo to review Duke on the latest episode of Good Game:

http://gamers-underground.com/content/990-chaser-s-andrew-hansen-reviews-duke-nukem-forever-good-game.html
sLaps_Forehead
Posted 12:45pm 17/6/11
Moo
Posted 01:47pm 17/6/11
I personally like the game also. I find it's entertaining, and has kept me captivated enough to play through the campaign. I went in expecting a pretty bad game after reading some of the pre-release reviews, but was surprised by the gameplay. Agreed, the graphics and AI aren't going to win awards, but I'm still suitably entertained. The puzzles and side-tracks are quite enjoyable, and break up the gunfighting for enough to keep you into the game wondering what's coming up next. Also the boss fights are pretty fun.

If you're a real graphics f** who expects the most realistic graphics in any game to make it enjoyable for you, don't bother with DN:F. It's no Crysis 3 etc, but it's definately reasonable for the current games market.

I think what has hurt this game a lot with a the modern gamers is that we're now faced with a glut of realistic shooters, and this just doesn't sit in that bracket. It's funny, it's crass and not even the slightest realistic, and worthwhile giving it a chance.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 06:16pm 17/6/11
Andrew Hansen (from The Chaser's War on Everything) sits with Bajo to review Duke on the latest episode of Good Game:http://gamers-underground.com/content/990-chaser-s-andrew-hansen-reviews-duke-nukem-forever-good-game.html

Saw that. I liked how console copped it bad for load times and graphics but PC was good provided you are a Duke fan.
parabol
Posted 09:55am 23/6/11
I take back any positive comments I've made about the SP aspect of this game.

Despite a few funny moments, the majority of DNF was boring if not painful to play - very monotonous gameplay that you want to end. The two-weapon limit would have been alright if it weren't for the fact that you run out of ammo straight away, and all the enemies drop are weapons not even remotely suited for the level/situation you are in.

Ignoring the graphics for a moment, the gameplay is more suited for something that came out 7 years ago. If I were to place a value on the game, I'd say it should have retailed for $35 in the bargain bin. No joke.
FaceMan
Posted 12:43pm 23/6/11
heres the embed for deadlyDavos link.
This is the best review Ive seen, made me want to go buy the game.
(PC Version)

BillyHardball
Posted 11:14am 29/6/11
Was just randomly watching this old preview for Mission to Mars. Don't you think the voice over after 1.28 sounds a lot like Duke!?
Commenting has been locked for this item.
130 Comments
Show