Here it is, AusGamers looks at The Evil Within, and just what you can expect from grandaddy horror creator Shinji Mikami
The Evil Within Review
We chat with Blizzard's Tom Chilton on all things World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor
Talking World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor with Tom Chilton
We take the open-world of fictional Kyrat for a spin.
Far Cry 4 Open-World Hands-On Preview
We take on the Dark Lord and his minions in Monolith's epic action-adventure romp
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Review
Crysis 2
Crysis 2

PC | PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: First Person Shooter
Developer: Crytek Official Site: http://www.sosnewyork.com
Publisher: Electronic Arts Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
24th March 2011
Crysis 2

Genre: First Person Shooter
Developer: Crytek
Official Site: http://www.sosnewyork...
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
24th March 2011
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Crysis 2 Video
Crysis 2 Review
Review By @ 12:47pm 25/03/11
PC
In the beginning there was Crytek. Crytek, in its infinite wisdom, saw fit to create a game world that would combine solid first-person shooter mechanics and humble even the mightiest of PC, and it was good. Not perfect, y’know, but good. But as with many a once PC-exclusive franchise, the appeal of making their game multi-platform was too strong and thus Crysis 2 was born as a project for the gaming masses. Many a PC gamer and Crysis fan was upset by this news; at the very least, hesitant to let excitement stretch too far as multi-platform titles have tended to give PC the shit end of the stick in the past.

For Crysis 2, though, the multi-platform approach to game design has actually benefited the direction of the franchise, for the most part. But more on this later.

Crysis 2 throws you into the Nano-charged combat boots of Alcatraz, a newcomer to the series, as you battle your way through a war and virus-torn New York City in a semi-sandbox world. While certainly sufficiently grandiose in how it ultimately plays out, those with a loose understanding of the events of Crysis and Crysis Warhead will be the ones scratching their heads in parts. The often nuanced references to the plot of the initial game can create more questions than solutions; then again, I haven’t played either Crysis game since late 2008, so that might have something to do with it.




Even though there’s a ‘2’ and not a multi-platform-friendly subtitle after the ‘Crysis’ brand for this game, it’s more or less a self-contained story that doesn’t require you to have played the initial games or even read their plot descriptions on Wikipedia. This is great for newcomers and those who have completely forgotten what happened in the original games, and the story is clearly more aimed at them than returning fans. Because of the rather stringent review guidelines of what I am and am not allowed to talk about in regards to plot, I’ll leave it there; suffice it to say, there are some genuinely intriguing twists and more than a few epic cinematic moments. The campaign length is also worth the price of admission.

There are two sides to the aforementioned multi-platform approach to Crysis 2’s game design: the pros of having to rethink a control mechanic for a limited-button controller and the restrictions of sandbox scope versus prettiness because of console hardware limitations. The pro side is honestly a Crysis godsend. Gone are the days of a Nanosuit that requires you to use your mouse wheel to pick a specific power on the fly at the expense of others; now a lot of them can be used in tandem. You are, however, restricted to choosing between armour or stealth/Predator-like invisibility as your core abilities, but beyond that you can mix and match as you see fit.

Sprinting faster, jumping higher and/or turning on Nanovision can all be done in conjunction with armour or stealth abilities (or independently), but all come at the expense of your Nanosuit’s power. This recharges fast enough when not in use for it to not become annoying or act a deterrent for frequent use, but the more you use your powers, the more juice you’ll be draining. Invisibility uses minimal power if you’re stationary or moving while crouched, while sprinting will have your battery depleted in no time. Armour is a little more forgiving, but as soon as you start taking hits, you will lose large chunks of energy.

The greatest thing about this new duopoly of Nanosuit power dynamics is the situationally reactive potential it offers to any firefight. Testing the boundaries of this dynamic combat structure, I tried multiple approaches to various sections of the game. I Nano-sprinted through certain sections, leaving enemies in my wake, others I snuck through with invisibility on, never raising the alarm or killing an enemy. While these examples are hardly ideal tactics for first-person shooter fans, it’s impressive to know the option is still there.




More excitingly, though, were the sections of gameplay where I stuffed up a stealth approach. Crysis 2 implements a visor into the Nanosuit that not only lets you survey the battlefield and tag enemies, it also encourages you to highlight suggested paths and tactics. Your suit will announce that there are tactical options available and bringing up the visor allows you to survey and highlight them. This makes it easier to spot things such as extra ammo and weaponry; a stealthy approach through the sewers, or a handy ledge grab that will have you above your foes in the perfect position to rain lead on them.

Many times I tried a stealth approach but ran out of suit juice and was spotted by an enemy, or made a sound that garnered their unwanted attention. Regardless of the why, unlike other games, this did not constitute a failure in any way, shape or form. It simply meant that it was time to switch to armour mode or sprint to a better position and start dropping baddies. And the inverse is also true. If I found myself outnumbered and/or out-gunned in any particular section, I could find cover, turn on invisibility, relocate and have at them from a different vantage point.

Speaking of cover, there’s a semi-intuitive cover system that detects if you’re near horizontal or vertical cover and lets you pop up/out accordingly; and it actually works most of the time.

The massive number of incursion points may be a whole lot more limited when compared to the vastly open nature of preceding titles such as Far Cry and Crysis, but it ultimately works in the context of the cityscape slugfest.

Throw two very different enemy factions into the mix and things get a whole lot more interesting. You’ll be fighting human soldiers who have some impressive AI prowess, using cover, lobbing grenades, calling for backup and generally working as a team to try and bring you down. The aliens, on the other hand, are far more aggressive, making use of parkour-style movements once they spot you in an attempt to get up in your grill and dish out some devastating melee damage. Only the occasional AI stuff-up and odd physics error stopped both factions from being worthy combatants.




For the record, I finished the campaign on the Xbox 360 and it was an incredible game on that platform. Even the prettiness factor was still fantastic by console standards, and while I can’t comment on the current hullaballoo about PlayStation 3 versus Xbox 360 graphics, CryEngine 3 translates the series faithfully to our controller-wielding brothers and sisters. Obviously, being a Crysis game and a first-person shooter, it is still best played on the PC and, thankfully, Crytek has paid a decent amount of respect to its roots.

The graphics and sound are incredible on PC, yet, strangely, the main Crysis selling point (i.e. the visuals) is stunted by an apparent console mentality of user-friendliness. You can set your graphics to High, Very High or Extreme and that’s about it; there are no in-game options for customising your graphics further. This is doubtlessly a welcome addition for any PC gamer not looking to do the trial-and-error dance of tweaking settings to find that perfect balance between prettiness and smoothness, but is a strange omission for the hardcore PC crowd who may be wanting to own a rig that they could claim to be a ‘Crysis 2 killer’. You can force anti-aliasing and the like from outside the game, but it’s a bit bizarre that this all-important Crysis legacy has been left by the wayside. At least it alt-tabs in and out of the game like a champ.

Unfortunately, adding further fuel to the fire of the negative side of the console mentality, the options menus between single-player and multiplayer are symbiotically linked: changing controls or graphics in one mode is reflected in the other. While my PC is capable of playing the campaign smoothly on the Extreme graphics setting, I still prefer to drop things down to Very High to ensure the smoothest possible online experience. It’s annoying that I have to switch back and forward when juggling between the two. Controls are also bizarrely limited in that you can only bind a single key/mouse button to a command.

Again, this may be a matter of personal preference, but I like to have my melee bound to a keystroke and a mouse button. Furthermore, any FPS gamer that likes to use left-Control for crouch will most likely want to unlearn that habit because of how the (badass) slide mechanic works. Left-Shift defaults to sprint, but to slide you have to hold sprint and crouch at the same time; basically this equates to all-round clunkiness if you’re trying to hold left-Shift and left-Control simultaneously.




Getting into a multiplayer game is a bit of a nightmare, too; although, I’m willing to put this down to initial teething problems and players focussing on single-player before multiplayer. What I’m not willing to forgive is the CD key problem I encountered that initially wouldn’t let me play online. The game tells you to ‘Please enter a valid serial code including dashes.’ The problem is, when I did this, it gave me ‘Serial already in use’ errors whenever I tried to join a server. A quick Google search revealed that the apparent solution is to ignore the dashes and ensure you enter the serial in lowercase letters only. That solution worked for me but left me scratching my head as to how their instructional text could be so misleading.

The afore-griped-about console mentality rears its ugly head again by forcing players to wait in servers until an adequate number of players join before it kicks off. While this isn’t necessarily a terrible thing in theory, what it does is creates a divide between full and empty servers, where people seem to be unwilling to join an empty server and wait long enough for the necessary numbers to join so a match can start. We first-person shooter games are not renowned for our patience, but at least there is an abundance of locally hosted dedicated servers for PC. Ranked servers were the least populated in my multiplayer time with Crysis 2 and the presence of so-called tips such as ‘Try to maintain a high kill-to-death ratio’ were laughably confusing as to why they were even included.

Despite the odd server connection timeout, once I was actually in a game, Crysis 2 multiplayer is a mostly solid experience. Although technically there are six play modes, the modes from the demo -- Team Instant Action and Crash Site -- still seem to be the most populated. And why not; the team deathmatch and ever-shifting King of the Hill game modes work really well to showcase what the game’s got and also act as the initial training ground play modes before they’ll let you jump into the big league.

You’ll earn experience for kills that will let you level up and access additional classes, as well as custom slots that let you personalise your pwnage. Think CoD and you’re pretty much there. The greatest selling point is the Nanosuit, though, and the combat enhancements it offers in firefights. There may be a flight of stairs in front of you, but you can jump up and vault over the ledge. Sprint away from incoming fire or throw up your armour in a shootout to gain an edge. Rushers are complemented by fast sprinting speeds and the Nanosuit armour, while snipers and campers can throw on invisibility and lay in wait for the ultimate shot. Best of all, you don’t have to stick to one play style or the other as these powers are available to you from the word go, carrying over the dynamic approach to combat from single-player to the online foray. Better still, the ever-present killcam that forces you to watch your demise before respawning, lets you know exactly how you died and where from, dissuading campers from pitching their tents for too long and allowing ample opportunity for revenge killing.




It wasn’t long before all players I fought with/against were adapting to the new Nanosuit-powered options, which really do go a long way to separating this from being just another Call of Duty clone. Headshots devastate (even when in armour mode), weapon accuracy is greatly affected at mid-to-long range if you’re using the wrong weapon for the job and sliding around a corner for a stylish kill is always memorable. The maps are diverse in appearance and design, with many flanking opportunities that will keep you on your digital toes at all times, with some favouring snipers and others giving an edge to rushers.

I did, however, experience sporadic connection dropouts and, while the ping was excellent, it was frustratingly negated at times by the strange abundance of international players with high pings. Getting dragged back around corners to your death is never fun. There is also an odd sound synchronisation bug that consistently occurred on the killcam and hit registration felt off at times. Getting shot through multiple solid objects was both frustrating and rewarded spray-and-pray play styles, while dead enemies remain physical game-world objects for a time, meaning you have to run around instead of over them. That goes a long way to messing up the flow of moving around the battlefield.

Ultimately, many of my gripes with the PC version of Crysis 2 are fixable in subsequent patches and there’s enough of a robust core there to reward persistent players. Crytek has done an admirable job of walking that fine line between a multiplatform experience and giving PC gamers some love, and I can’t wait to get back into the online fray.
What we liked
  • Amazing visuals
  • Incredible soundscape (headphones recommended)
  • Epic set pieces
  • Dynamic approach to combat
  • Nanosuit makes multiplayer awesome
What we didn't like
  • Symbiotically linked option menus
  • Negative sides of the ‘console design mentality’
  • Multiplayer connection problems
  • No graphics customisation options
More
We gave it:
8.1
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
bepatient
Posted 01:54pm 25/3/11
I've only played around 45 mins of it so far and my intiial thought was that the demo really didnt do it justice. It seems a lot smoother and nicer looking overall.

Hard to explain, but it just really feels great.
Stefanzi
Posted 02:02pm 25/3/11
Personally, I find the lack of graphics customisation a bit of a slap in the face. As I did not have a 'Crysis-killer' PC I spent a lot of time customising every option for a few frames per second. Whilst I am not the type to complain about dumbing down for consoles (this is the reality of modern gaming) it doee seem odd that a developer like Crytek would leave this out.
Thundercracker
Posted 02:42pm 25/3/11
Hey Dan just a quick suggestion for reviews.

I don't have any complaints about the review content on this site, but the wall of text layout could be improved. Can you make the review multi-paged? And perhaps add subheadings to break it up? I guess it's more obvious with the lengthy reviews.
Scooter
Posted 02:47pm 25/3/11
Multi-Paged? Piss off. Sub-headings I could live with.

Screen shots still need work though, I never realised Thumbnails that could open into a new window would be so hard.
molokoplus
Posted 02:51pm 25/3/11
PC developers don't push the hardware anymore. This game is a good example.
Midda
Posted 03:13pm 25/3/11
I agree about the sub-headings. Leave it all on one page though.

Haven't read the review yet, checking it out now.
kr0wb4r
Posted 04:36pm 25/3/11
f*** multi page.
Fixah
Posted 04:44pm 25/3/11
Multi page can go to multi hell.
trog
Posted 04:59pm 25/3/11
plz stay on topic; if you have comments about review formatting start a new thread, or maybe add feedback to the media matinee forum post
Crakaveli
Posted 05:51pm 25/3/11
must resist urge to point out contradiction.


So i'm a few levels in and its ok i guess. I seem to be having a bit of mouse lag though... Lack of graphics options is retarded. I'm running it on hardcore setting whatever the hell that means.
parabol
Posted 06:00pm 25/3/11
I seem to be having a bit of mouse lag though

I did too. Turned it down from Extreme to Very High - in my opinion it actually looks and feels better/clearer. I don't like maximum AA anyway as it blurs some detail out.

So far liking the game. Current annoying things are the moving main menu as well as mouse-inversion not working during cinematic interactive scenes.

The cover system is pretty good in my opinion. You don't have to initiate cover - you can stand/sit anywhere and it detects if you're in a cover position to let you pop out when needed. Hence it takes away the console feel of a multi-platform game, which I like.
DM
Posted 06:56pm 25/3/11
You can use this program here that lets you pick high quality settings. if you don't trust the program, just use these commands it made for just then. Put them in an autoexec.cfg file in your crysis 2 base folder (E:\crysis 2 or whatever.)

g_skipIntro=1
cl_fov=65
pl_movement.power_sprint_targetFov=75
i_mouse_accel=0
i_mouse_accel_max=100
i_mouse_smooth=0
r_motionblur=0
g_radialBlur=1
cl_zoomToggle=1
r_UseEdgeAA=1
r_TexMaxAnisotropy=2
sys_spec_shading=3
sys_spec_gameeffects=3
sys_spec_objectdetail=3
sys_spec_particles=3
sys_spec_physics=3
sys_spec_postprocessing=3
sys_spec_shadows=3
sys_spec_sound=3
sys_spec_texture=3
sys_spec_water=3
r_PostMSAA=2
cl_crouchtoggle=1

Ok the motionblur command doesn't seem to be effected by this, or maybe it's just because I have the radialblur thing turned on so it's conflicting or something.

last edited by DM at 18:56:55 25/Mar/11
Reverend Evil
Posted 07:26pm 25/3/11
I'm having fun with it atm although there are a couple of things which I don't really like. You can't save the game whenever you want which kinda sucks. It does have checkpoints but it blows goats having to start back at them when you had gone a fair way. But in saying that the checkpoints aren't miles apart so it's not game-breaking. Actually, that's prolly the only thing I can fault with it atm so I lied when I said I had two complaints.

Really loving the 50 cal action. Being able to jump onto a hummer or whatever they are, grab onto the 50 cal and then get the option to actually pick the f***** up and walk around with it is damn cool. That thing in the early levels is f*****g sweet as. You feel like Arnie when he had the mini gun in T2.

And the environments are really lush. It's a nice touch when walking between skyscrapers and seeing some of the floors on fire. Couldn't help but think of the trade towers burning.

Anyway, it's a lovely looking game and once I finish SP I'll check out MP and give that a go. Prolly end up getting my ass handed to me.
Fasty
Posted 12:50am 26/3/11
Can anyone with an ATI card confirm that (like in the demo) the stereoscopic 3D options are greyed out for them? Haven't found a single ATI user who can access them yet.
Midda
Posted 01:54am 26/3/11
Yeah, the 3D options are greyed out for me too.
parabol
Posted 02:53am 26/3/11
You can use this program here that lets you pick high quality settings

Didn't like those graphics changes (the AA looks terrible in this game imho), but cheers for the intro/logo skip and fov variables.
Midda
Posted 12:29pm 26/3/11
^^ That dude sounds like a whiny little b****. The only thing he complained about that should really be an issue is the lack of modding tools.
DM
Posted 12:37pm 26/3/11
This game is a bit harsh. Or maybe it's just how i'm playing it. When I get to an area filled with enemies I try to take them out 1 at a time without alerting anyone else, stealth style so It's causing lots of checkpoint restarts as 1 bullet shot off and I just stand there are die lol. Great game what I payed for it I'll tell you that.
Midda
Posted 12:56pm 26/3/11
Yeah, the guards seem to have super-human vision and hearing at some points. I've even been spotted through concrete walls a couple times. I've come out of cloak just peeking around a window and a guard that's like 100m away has spotted me instantly. Seems a bit harsh.

I'm playing it on the second-highest difficulty, but I wouldn't even expect the hardest difficulty to be that punishing.
DM
Posted 01:25pm 26/3/11
Yeah i'm playing on 2nd hardest too. I've noticed a few wierd moments. AI getting stuck in corners, trying to run through objects they can't which just makes them go into a "I MUST WALK THROUGH THIS" loop while I walk up to them and melee. I've even noticed a few dead bodies hovering mid air. Oh and try this.

When you are in the office lab and the guys start to repel down, If you shoot them with say a shotgun it'll knock them off the rope, and they will "fall down" in mid air, get back up, and then WOOSH rocket down the rope for the lost time.

I dunno AI in C1 seems to be smarter if you ask me. Actually now that I think about it there hasn't been much improvement to AI since Half Life 1 came out. Ever since then the enemies have always done the same thing. Take cover, shoot, run away. Stop pushing graphics and perhaps work on this game devs?

last edited by DM at 13:25:42 26/Mar/11
Tetsuo
Posted 02:27pm 26/3/11
Well if ausgamers and regulars say its good....then well i guess i might as well buy it.

I read somewhere that the graphics thing, as dumbed down as it is, has a whole range of console commands that you can fiddle with so i don't think it is as "dead" in that department as people make out.
Thundercracker
Posted 03:44pm 26/3/11
^^ That dude sounds like a whiny little b****. The only thing he complained about that should really be an issue is the lack of modding tools.


Agree++ midda. All I read was waaaa waaaa waaa waaaa.

Gonna grab this game today! Should be interesting to see how my 5870 copes.
Eorl
Posted 04:47pm 26/3/11
I will acquire it somehow and give it a whirl in SP. I don't really need the MP if it isn't omg super cool different.
DM
Posted 05:37pm 26/3/11
1 thing that I would of liked to see in this game, is between levels you get a map and a line of where your going next. Now say you enter a tunnel, most of the time it skips the entire trek through and goes straight to the other end. I would of liked to slosh around down there and actually play those areas the game has deemed not worthy of play. Sides from that and the dumb AI it's a fun game.

Oh and resist the urge to pick up the sniper rifle. Just don't do it. The AI will happyly stand around screaming SNIPER! and not moving while you pick them off 1 at a time. Even if 3 of the people are looking at each other having a convo, they just stand still as they watch people's heads explode and turn to goo.
Midda
Posted 05:50pm 26/3/11
I used a sniper rifle last night, and they were running for cover and calling reinforcements when I started picking them off. I haven't really had any issues with the AI being too dumb, instead I've had them being unfairly aware.
DM
Posted 05:52pm 26/3/11
Hrm I wonder what's up with that then. In my game the marines are all too happy to stand still while I pop them. Aliens too, but not as often. I'll replay through again on hardest setting and see how bad the AI cheats then.
bepatient
Posted 06:01pm 26/3/11
Should be interesting to see how my 5870 copes.

I'm running a 4870 and it runs of Very High flawlessly so you should be laughing
Rumps
Posted 12:41am 28/3/11
I have to admit I was feeling a little disappointed at how console-ish it felt at the beginning, but as I got used to the controls and the new feel of it I have to admit it won me over, I'm about 2 hours now and I have to say... It's effing sweet.

Graphics are gorgeous (running on extreme), AI is really good, gameplay is satisfying...

I would have liked some more ties to the original game though, perhaps prophet not dying 4 effing seconds into the plot. Last I remember he was pissing off into a giant ice-dome...
Rumps
Posted 12:42am 28/3/11
Also, the fact there's no advanced graphics setting is total crap.
parabol
Posted 12:51am 28/3/11
This game is a bit buggy:

1. nano-catalyst sometimes gets reset to zero after quitting/reloading. stays at zero for freaking ages despite picking up more catalyst
2. melee attacks sometimes don't work at all
3. grab/throw kills sometimes produce no nano-catalyst, or the catalyst is shown as being on the ground but you actually have to jump into the air to register a collection.
4. "cdkey in use" the first time trying to play MP. The game doesn't store the key properly, have to re-enter it several times until it saves - then it works permanently.

To counter #1, I just never quit the game. When I'm done playing I just leave the game running in the menu and alt-tab out and go about my business - having quadcore + 12GB of ram makes this easy.

Also I agree the AI is ridiculous with the player-detection - being spotted through the tiniest crack (or through opaque/solid objects) from 100m away. Far cry imho had the most balanced AI. You could actually take cover/hide and the AI would go around hunting for you.

Still, a good game. Tho how did the suit get from Prophet's body onto Alcatraz's if no-one else was around to put it on him?
nachosjustice
Posted 01:14am 28/3/11
He put it on Alcatraz, which is why Prophet is wearing that weird body glove.
Reverend Evil
Posted 01:20am 28/3/11
The game is f*****g awesome fun in single player. Went and saw Battle Los Angeles today and couldn't help thinking about Crysis 2. Massive carnage on both sides. Great game and you can see a heap of work has gone into the lvl design.
parabol
Posted 01:52am 28/3/11
He put it on Alcatraz, which is why Prophet is wearing that weird body glove

I thought the reason he shot himself was to kill the link to the suit so it could be removed?
Midda
Posted 09:39am 28/3/11
Yeah, I got an app like that one (not the same one, but does the same thing). I didn't actually customise any of the graphics settings since the game runs amazingly well even on maximum settings, but it's great to easily fix the FoV and turn on zoom toggle.
nachosjustice
Posted 11:15am 28/3/11
@ parabol - That was after he put the suit on you. All I'll say is it'll make more sense by the end of the game... or less sense, depending on how you interpret it.
Gambit
Posted 02:33pm 28/3/11
Can anyone of you are able to use the Slide Move? I cannot use it because i use LeftCtrl for Crouch and its not possible to press Shift and LCtrl at the same time. It would be great if the slide has a control similar to Bulletstorm [Double Space].
Lynx
Posted 03:13pm 28/3/11
I use it plenty, just roll your finger onto both keys.
Midda
Posted 04:27pm 28/3/11
Yeah, I use left Ctrl, but I can manage to do the slide. I just smoosh both buttons with my left pinky.
nachosjustice
Posted 11:26pm 28/3/11
@ Gambit - Yeah, I had problems with this so I've had to switch my Left-Control crouch to C. It allows me to hold the slide for longer.
TiT
Posted 09:52am 29/3/11
did anyone buy this game using those cd key websites.... wondering if you put the cd key in steam does it work?
Midda
Posted 10:24am 29/3/11
If it's not in here, it won't work.

(pro tip: it's not in there)

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=7480-wusf-3601
parabol
Posted 11:47am 29/3/11
did anyone buy this game using those cd key websites.... wondering if you put the cd key in steam does it work?

Doesn't work, EADM only.
If it's not in here, it won't work.

Batman Arkham Asylum's keys as part of nvidia promos aren't in there and they work.
Eorl
Posted 01:44pm 29/3/11
Anyone getting retarded flickering lighting? I walked out into the sun at the very beginning and was blinded with flickering light.
Sc00bs
Posted 05:34pm 29/3/11
this is pretty cool game, really like the engine its running on.

Multiplayer is really fun so far, cant believe that very high works pretty descent on my laptop :P
Rdizz
Posted 08:19pm 29/3/11
i really dont like this at all pretty glad i didnt wast money on this crap. full of glitches and bugs, the AI is sucky the lighting is way off and i get costant page tearing with v-sync on or off. ive played it for about an hour and uninstalled.

5/10.
Midda
Posted 09:32pm 29/3/11
What glitches and bugs are you talking about? The only bug I've had is where the melee button stopped working once until I died.

And the lighting looks fantastic on my machine.
Eorl
Posted 09:53pm 29/3/11
What glitches and bugs are you talking about? The only bug I've had is where the melee button stopped working once until I died.

And the lighting looks fantastic on my machine.

I had that problem too with the melee stopping. Was weird...

I fixed the light having a spas out if anyone is interested. Was to do with Crossfire/SLI and apparently Crytek are on to fixing it. I just renamed the crysis2.exe to rift.exe and updated my ATI drivers to the latest and works fine. I can see clouds now!
Sc00bs
Posted 10:46pm 29/3/11
yer its pretty buggy and the ai is s***house sometimes, but hey i dint pay for it so im not 2 fussed
Enska
Posted 11:15pm 29/3/11
d/ling now >< You pricks, the demo was so s*** I was sure I'd never play it but you all seem to rate it so I can't resist!@#
Midda
Posted 12:01am 30/3/11
I just installed it on my laptop to see how it runs. I never looked at the different graphics presets before, as my machine just defaulted to Extreme. Turns out there are only 3 presets. High, Very High and Extreme. The only difference seems to be anisotropic filtering and anti-aliasing. Other than that, they looked the same, but the performance difference was noticeable.
Bah
Posted 12:16am 30/3/11


Looks fun.
DM
Posted 12:35am 30/3/11
Wow. "tweaks" alright. Flat out hacks if you ask me, yet he swears he isn't using any program to do it, and it's simply unprotected files (I guess) that allow you to change stuff that effects your game. Still not tried this game MP as I havn't finished SP and just havn't had the time.

EDIT - Oh and this
"we never said we were working on a dx11 patch"

last edited by DM at 00:35:29 30/Mar/11
Eorl
Posted 01:35am 30/3/11
There is already hacks for it, and you can pirate the game and play multiplayer. Fun stuff. Glad I didn't pay for my copy, but got a friend to gift it to me lol.
Midda
Posted 10:45am 30/3/11
Wow, 'tweaks'? Right...
Sc00bs
Posted 12:31pm 30/3/11
yeah its like they made the game to be pirated. you can make a multiplayer account, enter a server and if someone is using ur cd key u can change it then and there in a pop up menu to whatever u want.

Eorl
Posted 01:08pm 30/3/11
Yep, doesn't even check back to a database or anything. Ah well, the death of another stupid PC developer.
Caveboy
Posted 01:24pm 30/3/11
I just tried it then and presto im playing my warez version online.

What a joke and another kick in the nuts for people who paid for this...

Midda
Posted 01:27pm 30/3/11
Yeah, I'm sure Crytek haven't made any money of Crysis 2 at all, and they're going to go bankrupt.

PC only made up 14% of their sales. The PC version could have been totally broken and useless and it wouldn't have really mattered to their sales.

Besides, they have one of the most advanced game engines in existence, with absolutely amazing tools. They're not going anywhere.
Sc00bs
Posted 01:30pm 30/3/11
yeah the new cryengine 3 is f***** amazing
Rdizz
Posted 03:08pm 30/3/11
yeah...
Eorl
Posted 11:35am 31/3/11
Crysis is and only ever will be a advertising tool. They care too much about the engine so making a game just gets lost to them. It's a shame, because I enjoyed Crysis a lot.

Bugs and annoyances I've encountered so far:

Melee always breaking
Getting stuck in that elevator that takes you up to Gould's apartment. Was so damn annoying.
AI is bloody awful. I can stand in front of them and they just stare at you.
Sometimes scripted events will play out without audio or improper syncing.
Multiplayer is just terrible. S*** is flying everywhere and it's just a sniper stealth camp fest. The killcam is cool though.
Choumou
Posted 09:31pm 05/4/11
@Midda

That 14% statistic is only from retail sales and does not include digital sales (i.e. Steam and other online stores etc). They predict that it would be around 30% if those are also included.
Commenting has been locked for this item.
65 Comments
Show