to the moon, athena
AusGamers caught up with 2K Australia and Randy Pitchford to discuss the recently revealed Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel and why Australia is making an impact on the moon. Click for more!
inquisitive minds
AusGamers managed to catch-up with BioWare's Cameron Lee, an Aussie expat who serves as a producer on Dragon Age: Inquisition. Check out our full interview!
oracle of ages
Batman: Arkham Knight is set to be Rocksteady's final in the Arkham series, so it's fitting that it's just so damn big. And Batmobiles. Nuff said. Click for more!
Trial By Dirt Bike
We take a look at the fourth title in the Trials series, and the first to hit next-gen platforms. Does it live up to the name? Find out in our review!
AusGamers Games
Borderlands 2
Borderlands 2

PC | PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: First Person Shooter
Developer: Gearbox Software Official Site: http://www.borderlandsthegam...
Publisher: 2K Games Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
20th September 2012
Borderlands 2

Genre: First Person Shooter
Developer: Gearbox Software
Official Site: http://www.borderland...
Publisher: 2K Games
Classification: MA15+
Release Date:
20th September 2012
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Borderlands 2 Video
Borderlands 2 Review
Review By @ 01:59pm 18/09/12
XBOX360
It’s always awesome to see the growth of a brand beyond “risk” to utterly “backable”. This is the case with Gearbox Software’s Borderlands IP, a game that sprung up out of nowhere and pitched the ludicrous idea of marrying RPGs (and a bit of the MMORPG) with first-person shooters.

In 2009 I reviewed the first game, scoring it a respectable 8/10 because its four-player co-op offered up one of the most visceral and engaging multiplayer experiences around. The score, then, wasn’t higher because at its core the game lacked a few components to make it an all-round must-have. It’s fine to assume everyone has three other videogame friends, but the truth of the matter is, not every does, or at least not everyone can tee up the time necessary to book a weekend away with buddies in the Wastes of Pandora. Moreover, beyond looting and boss hunting, the game lacked any real drive to reach the end, from a narrative perspective, and so felt a little thin on the ground, despite everything else it obviously did right.



Fast forward three years and Borderlands 2 is on everyone’s lips. The IP has hit the big time and Claptrap is now an unforgettable part of gaming culture. Gearbox has had ample time to listen to the feedback from their first outing and address everyone’s concerns while also ramping up everything that made the first game great, and thankfully that’s exactly what they’ve done.

So let’s start with the good stuff. You have four classes again, each similar to the previous game and each varying enough that you’ll never feel like you’re approaching the game the same way twice when you decide to load up another avatar. There’s a greater emphasis on aesthetic customisation here too, with new skins and heads being thrown out in loot drops, and most of these are decidedly geeky in reference (Kick-Ass and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, I’m looking at you). There’s no in-game buffs for any of this, but given you only really see your guy or gal in the third-person during vehicular moments or at the Home screen, it’s not a huge deal. The same can be done with your vehicle, but again, there’s nothing rewarding beyond visualisation for toying with the system.

Customisation then comes with weapon augmentations, what shields you use and so on. The great thing about this is with each loot drop you get an immediate comparison stat list to give you the best information against what you already have on your person. And while it could have been pulled off in a binary fashion, the variations in each item’s stats means there’s always going to be give and take with everything you pick up. Some shields, for example, will have a hugely high defence stat, but will take ages to refill once depleted, while smaller defence shields can be refilled much quicker. All of this leads to a greater emphasis on player approach, allowing for most members of your eventual party to have different play-styles, creating groups of a far more dynamic nature (unless you run into someone who has the exact same everything as you -- an event highly unlikely).

Most loot in groups is shared, and the game follows pretty much the same rules as the original in how XP is dished out in these scenarios. In fact, from a co-op perspective, not a great deal has changed (fundamentally) -- a true testament to what the team clearly got right the first time around.



This leaves the lacking components of the first game as fodder for the retooling, and like the proverbial better loot-drop, Borderlands 2 comes packaged with stronger stats in both the single-player solo area, and its subsequent driving narrative. There’s actually a decent story here this time, and I’m hard-pressed to remember a villain quite like Handsome Jack in my recent videogame history. Moreover, Gearbox has been mindful to not forget their roots, and a lot of the events from the first game appear to have made an impact on Pandora, switching up your second trounce through its barren tundra.

But that’s another point. While Borderlands 2 maintains the idea of Pandora’s “Wastes” (based on its narrative foundation), it’s far less arid and empty. There’s always something to explore in the sequel, and life just seems to teem more here. Even NPCs have routines now, and while they might still be as wooden as ever in the personality department, it makes a mountain of difference to the first game to be able to walk into Moxxie’s and see actual game-world characters doing stuff.

Out in said Wastes, the game’s outlanders (good and bad), bandits, bosses and wildlife also up the life-thriving ante for the game, creating a much more challenge-oriented trek between and to destinations. Unlike other RPGs, Borderlands 2 doesn’t scale environments or enemies to your level, which means you can revisit earlier areas and absolutely decimate the ever-respawning bad-guy populations. This is a good thing because there are often new side-quests you discover, or just hooking up with a lower-level co-op pal (you cradle-snatcher you), which can send you back into everyman’s land, so it’s nice to be able to go into an area and know you’re going to absolutely own everything in your path.

Other cool new features also include a Challenges manifest, completions of which means you’ll earn Badass Points, which can in turn be applied to your character[s] for permanent upgrades. This is another facet of customisation, specifically in how you approach the game, but one that is default by nature. That said, I did ignore it for a full-day session once, only to realise, jump in and have a treasure-trove of Badass Points to apply to various character attributes. Skill points are also rewarded each time you level up, with obligatory skill-trees on offer to add to the player customisation route.



But it’s not all peaches and cream. I mentioned before about heading back into areas you’d already visited, and while it can be fun doing so at a higher level, it can also take absolute ages to trek the required path into, and out of, these. You can Fast Travel at specific stations throughout the game, but these are spread out in various locales often unhelpful to your traversal quest. Even a simple system like World of Warcraft’s Hearthstone to teleport you back to Sanctuary, at the very least, would have been a very welcome addition.

There’s also a question of stealth, in that there is none. You can set up a station for yourself outside an enemy stronghold, pull out your sniper rifle and take a pot-shot an unsuspecting goon, but as soon as you do that, almost every enemy there will descend upon your like locusts. This is especially annoying when playing as the Assassin whose very class description would have you believe you can stealthily take out the enemy (and sure enough, his ability does give you a chance to sneak up behind enemies, but not in the way you think). It’s not a huge detriment to the game, and the inclusion of far more robust cover in level-design means you can deal with mobs pretty easily, but I definitely would have preferred enemies to have a more line-of-sight aggro, as opposed to the x-ray vision they all apparently have.

Obviously the biggest draw for Borderlands 2 is in its co-op though, and as I’ve already mentioned, you honestly won’t be disappointed. It’s the additions then, of enhanced customisations, greater player-rewards, more loot, more enemies and enemy-types, animated zones and NPCs, a much more vibrant visual delivery (it’s a stunning game, really), a more tangible (and dislikeable bad-guy), a greater story and more challenge, overall, that makes this not just one of the year’s best releases, but a benchmark for the action-RPG world.

Borderlands 2 is a FPS/RPG fusion the rest of the videogame development world should stand up and pay attention to, because Gearbox has backed a real winner in this IP. A must-buy.
WHAT WE LIKED
A visual leap over its predecessor, which is saying something
Teeming with life not found in the first game makes for a much more engaging experience
More friendly and enemy variety
Expanded looting and side-questing will keep you coming back for more
Environmental variety is also a huge boon
Deeper customisation
An actual story this time
Single-player is finally enjoyable
Co-op is still king
WHAT WE DIDN'T LIKE
On-foot travel can get a bit annoying at time given the size of the game-world and its various instances
A serious lack of being able to approach enemy strongholds stealthily
MORE...
WE GAVE IT:
9.2
OUT OF 10
AusGamers
Latest Comments
Midda
Posted 02:49pm 18/9/12
I never finished the first one after losing my save-game about 2/3 of the way through the game. Ended up just watching a video explaining the rest of the story rather than playing through it again. I'm pre-loaded and ready to go! I just have to stop playing so much Guild Wars 2.
Ryan
Posted 03:02pm 18/9/12
Got my copy off GMG for $37.50! Makes the game so much better!
Midda
Posted 03:09pm 18/9/12
Yeah, same. GMG is great when their checkout works.
eski
Posted 03:12pm 18/9/12
Currently US$43.20 on GMG if you use the voucher code GMG20-AWDF9-Q1PEY
Trauma
Posted 03:41pm 18/9/12
Haha struggling to load up GMG, seems many ppl want this discount.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 03:41pm 18/9/12
Coop :(

I can totally see the appeal as Dota 2 is much better with friends than randoms but my gaming times varies so much it makes coop difficult to hook up. Leave me playing solo which gets boring pretty quick with games designed for coop.
eski
Posted 03:43pm 18/9/12
Haha struggling to load up GMG, seems many ppl want this discount.



yeah me too, its a bit shitty
Lynx
Posted 03:49pm 18/9/12
Got mine off GMG last night for $37.50 after like 5-6 tries.
Pre-loaded and itching with anticipation. Don't know whether to roll as Maya or Zero. Lilith and Mordecai were the only two characters that appealed to me in the last game and it seems their replacements are the same again.
Trauma
Posted 03:49pm 18/9/12
Can't fault them for having good deals though.
eski
Posted 03:53pm 18/9/12
lynx, was $37.50 some sort of limited time special, or is there some voucher code I can plug in to get even more discounts?

intkeys has it for ~$38, but they're not sending out keys yet.
Lynx
Posted 04:03pm 18/9/12
Here is the code I used: GMG25-1BW0K-K1A3G
25% off

Though I think the deal ends, at the end of the day on the 17th in America, so it might be over by now. Give it a try and see what happens.

Here is where I got the code.

last edited by Lynx at 16:03:00 18/Sep/12
eski
Posted 04:03pm 18/9/12
thanks :D I'll give it a try if their site comes back online
Trauma
Posted 04:13pm 18/9/12
Relevant to PC gamers.

Crakaveli
Posted 04:39pm 18/9/12
played it for about 20 minutes and it's pretty awesome so far.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 04:50pm 18/9/12
link
eski
Posted 05:08pm 18/9/12
seems like GMG is back online, lynx's code is expired :(
Zapo
Posted 05:23pm 18/9/12
Pity the US release is available now, but we have to wait another day and a few hours...VPN works without issue for those who are keen, just missing out on the whole multiplayer aspect :(
eski
Posted 07:35pm 18/9/12
So I finally got GMG working, and it sent me two keys - Copy 1 and Copy 2.

Did I just get two for the price of one?

edit - nm, GMG fucked up and billed me twice. Hot.
BladeRunner
Posted 07:40pm 18/9/12
I used VPN, I just hope Steam does not lock my account again. There is no REAL reason why Aussies and europeans could not play now. Too much publisher red tape.

Some screens I took.
http://i.imgur.com/d0wBU.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/kCNVR.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/xkGvY.jpg
Trauma
Posted 07:41pm 18/9/12
So I finally got GMG working, and it sent me two keys - Copy 1 and Copy 2.Did I just get two for the price of one?edit - nm, GMG fucked up and billed me twice. Hot.

Doing better than me, Verified by Visa bullshit will not work for me at all.
Lynx
Posted 08:36pm 18/9/12
Same issues for me so I switched to paypal. Worked straight away.
Damo
Posted 08:48pm 18/9/12
how big is the install?
Trauma
Posted 08:56pm 18/9/12
I swapped to paypal even though I hate it... it says they will call me................... lol no.
Viper119
Posted 08:58pm 18/9/12
This looks sweet, but is there any point playing single player on your own? Or do you need peeps to play with? Same for the first one.
BladeRunner
Posted 09:04pm 18/9/12
You can go solo no problem but playing with at least 1 other person would be recommended I hear.

http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2012/09/18/wot-i-think-borderlands-2/
Lynx
Posted 09:07pm 18/9/12
how big is the install?
F all, like 4.6GB

Apparently the single player is worth playing now.
darkjedi
Posted 09:12pm 18/9/12
The 3-4 mins of it I've got to play thus far felt a lot better than the first one did. If I can get my 2 week old to settle, then I might even get to play more before the official launch date!
Lynx
Posted 09:37pm 18/9/12
f u all n ur vpns

I want to play so bad
d^
Posted 09:56pm 18/9/12
Going to wait for the GOTY edition.
eski
Posted 11:51pm 18/9/12
hey lynx, you can get free vpn access here - http://anonymitynetwork.com/

1) sign up for 3 hr free trial
2) log on to a US server
3) boot up steam and activate the game
4) set steam to offline mode
5) play!
Lynx
Posted 03:11am 19/9/12
Used flyvpn, been playing single player for a while. Gonna hold off going online until the official launch, just in case.
Thanks though
Damo
Posted 06:21am 19/9/12
Now downloading thanks to GMG
Sc00bs
Posted 01:11pm 19/9/12
ffs why dont they release things on the same day everywhere :@ so frustrating, another 2 days waiting
parabol
Posted 03:39pm 19/9/12
another 2 days waiting

Not long now ...

Available: 20 September 2012
This game will unlock in approximately 9 hours
Sc00bs
Posted 03:39pm 19/9/12
i thought it was the 21st :) yayyy
Damo
Posted 09:21pm 19/9/12
how did people load start menu up?
eski
Posted 09:39pm 19/9/12
Not long now ...

Available: 20 September 2012
This game will unlock in approximately 9 hours



Dont get your hopes up too much. For the steam release of borderlands 1 the counter went down to zero, then added three days! People were raging.

Its actually a pretty common occurrence on steam, apparently the publishers set the release date, not valve or steam.

Given that the brick and mortar retail release isnt until tomorrow, I'm not without some suspicion that the counter will just tick over to a new date once it reaches zero.
BladeRunner
Posted 12:04am 20/9/12
Yeah Steam just has to do what the publisher says, I still don't understand why Publishers do that. If a brick and motar store does not have their copies by release date, I don''t see how that is my or anyone elses problem who do have it.
parabol
Posted 12:17am 20/9/12
Unlocking on Steam now ... excellent.
eski
Posted 10:53am 20/9/12
Tried to play some co-op last night, but it had the same multiplayer connection timeouts as the first game. GG Gearbox.
DM
Posted 06:44pm 20/9/12
I'm really loving this game. The comedy is way up there and nearly every quest or recording you find has made me laugh so far. I've done a Top Gun quest where I had to get volleyballs, and burn the net which was a laugh. Then there was the TMNT one where I had to deliver pizza. My favorite so far though is the AI quest where after carrying this AI core around you get to turn him into a shield or a weapon. I chose weapon and now when I aim he says "I spy with my little eye" and says diediediedie when I go full auto. Even has some funny idle speech when the weapon is out.

last edited by DM at 18:44:46 20/Sep/12
BladeRunner
Posted 07:46pm 20/9/12
Saw this last night.

http://i.imgur.com/jfcse.jpg
DM
Posted 07:53pm 20/9/12
Yeah they give weapons when you open them and usually poo explodes all over the place
Obes
Posted 07:57pm 20/9/12
So basically this thread is saying regional pricing is balls.

Again not in the tagline for the review, or in the article.
Didn't get mentioned as something you didn't like.

Oh and of course it has a 9.2 .. But then SWTOR has 9.5 and it lasted less time than most single player games ... so maybe 9.2 is a bad score ? Who knows!
Sc00bs
Posted 08:04pm 20/9/12
loving it so far =)

am an assasin, might try something different soon tho
Mordecai
Posted 08:43pm 20/9/12
Been playing as Maya. Using her power is quite fun though for two levels after I got it I forgot to use it.

Have had an okay run for guns so far. Nothing "holy shit!" but a couple of nice ones. No element except for fire yet.
Sc00bs
Posted 10:44pm 20/9/12
really want a corrosive gun >< they were my fav from number 1
DM
Posted 10:46pm 20/9/12
link
This shotty is from a quest and is god damn awesome. More accuracy as you go full auto with pretty decent damage. Sniper rifle is a 9 round, 3 shot burst when zoomed beast
Sc00bs
Posted 10:50pm 20/9/12
i had a sniper that was 5 round burst 6 round clip. was shit, used so many bullets up so quickly
DM
Posted 10:54pm 20/9/12
Yeah I had a 5 burst 7 clip one which was way too much overkill. Things would die on the 2nd or 3rd headshot and i'd just waste the other rounds. 3 is just right for me. Really can't wait until 1st round of DLC comes out and we get the Mechanomancer since she is the class I want to play the most.

last edited by DM at 22:54:42 20/Sep/12
parabol
Posted 11:36pm 20/9/12
am an assasin, might try something different soon tho

I'm not enjoying it that much. Should be able to run faster in stealth mode .. plus, the skill that gives you more zoom along with more accuracy isn't helpful. The zoom is too extreme - I just want the accuracy!

Anyone else not enjoying the assassin that much?
Wrecktim
Posted 12:21am 21/9/12
if anyone wants to play on the ps3 pm me.
DM
Posted 01:26pm 21/9/12
Uploaded a video of the talking shotgun because why not. With added claptrap beatboxing

demon
Posted 01:42pm 21/9/12
looks swoit. might grab this off steam tonight.
Jayman
Posted 02:15pm 21/9/12
Got this for 36 bucks before. Lets see how my old machine handles it. Core2D 3gig, 5870. Downloading at home now.
Vash
Posted 02:20pm 21/9/12
Whats different about it over the original? Video & Screenshots it looks exactly the same
reso
Posted 02:23pm 21/9/12
Anyone else not enjoying the assassin that much?


Probably why I'm not enjoying Borderlands 2 much also. It's a decent game but I just get bored of the combat very quickly.
DM
Posted 02:23pm 21/9/12
Ahaha Tiny Tina is awesome. Best npc i've come across yet.
ravn0s
Posted 02:25pm 21/9/12
Sc00bs
Posted 02:29pm 21/9/12
level 12 assasin and its starting to get boring :/

why dont they have more sweet skills for him :(
Eorl
Posted 02:36pm 21/9/12
Bought this of GMG for $40, code on their blog if anyone is interested. Enjoying it so far, assassin is pretty awesome. Gameplay is heaps better then the original, much more polished and feels like more information is being given to me which is a plus. Hilarious NPCs and Claptrap is as awesome as usual. Story is actually interesting for once, intrigued by where it will go.
DM
Posted 02:50pm 21/9/12
Just finished all of Tiny Tina's quests and you get an awesome pistol which is corrosive element and 2 round burst when aiming. Seems to leave stuff on the floor as well so while I havn't tried it out I wonder if it hurts people runing over it or not?

Oh and that's something else I love about this game. Blood and other liquids actually run down hill. Mind was blown first time I saw a Golliath pull his own head off and saw the blood pooling down the bottom of the hill.
parabol
Posted 03:19pm 21/9/12
level 12 assasin and its starting to get boring :/

why dont they have more sweet skills for him :(

I love the rest of the game, but the assassin is currently one of the least enjoyable classes I've played from any game. I agree with the lack of stealth effectiveness mentioned in the review.

I've switched to the Commando and having much, much more fun. The skills are actually useful and I can't wait to unlock some of them. The turret thing is similar to the raven from the first game. Just deploy it when shit is getting intense.
DM
Posted 03:39pm 21/9/12
It seems the other 3 classes have action skills that are useful straight away. Then you have Zero's which seems to start to shine when you get the 30 point tallent which will let you throw kunai or restealth with melee kills. I'll be buggered if i'm going to re-level another dude up to 17 again when Mechanomancer is coming in a week or 2 and i'll be restarting then.

last edited by DM at 15:39:15 21/Sep/12
Enska
Posted 10:15pm 21/9/12
DM have you changed steam accounts or something? have't seen you on for ages.
BladeRunner
Posted 11:02pm 21/9/12
Heads up if you want unlocks for free. Go into the Borderlands 2 directory

F:\Steam\steamapps\common\Borderlands 2\DLC\POPremierClub\Lic

Just add what you see here for more unlocks and golden keys in WillowDLC.ini file.

[GoldenKeys]
+SourceId=254
+NumKeys=10

[PromotionalUnlocks]
+UnlockId=1
+UnlockId=2
+UnlockId=3
+UnlockId=4

Free stuff FTW. You can also set yourself for the season pass I notieced when I edited SeasonPass.txt in the same folder, just replaced 2 with 1.
boba
Posted 11:05pm 21/9/12
Heads up if you want unlocks for free. Go into the Borderlands 2 directoryF:\Steam\steamapps\common\Borderlands 2\DLC\POPremierClub\LicJust add what you see here for more unlocks and golden keys in WillowDLC.ini file.[GoldenKeys]+SourceId=254+NumKeys=10[PromotionalUnlocks]+UnlockId=1+UnlockId=2+UnlockId=3+UnlockId=4Free stuff FTW. You can also set yourself for the season pass I notieced when I edited SeasonPass.txt in the same folder, just replaced 2 with 1.


FYI https://twitter.com/DuvalMagic/status/248901075543945216
DM
Posted 12:21am 22/9/12
link

Found this rare while doing a quest which gave the 2nd shotgun. Friggen insane damage on the 2 of them. The Boosted Octo fires in a Metroid like wave beam pattern an 8 slug round which seems to penetrate mobs. Every shot seems to slag the dudes then I swap over to the other big beast and 1 shot them for like 2500 damage depending how close I am. Oh and the octo acts like a 2nd grenade too because of the Tediore brand which hits for like 1000 on direct contact. Will deffinatly keep these for my mechanomancer.
BladeRunner
Posted 01:39am 22/9/12
FYI https://twitter.com/DuvalMagic/status/248901075543945216


Damn, thats no good. I will have to block BL2 in my firewall and play offline too. Luckily I have not even used it any golden keys. Seems trivial when you only get one for your copy of Borderlands 2 but having more makes it even more trivial. If you know what I mean.


Actually I just checked "RE: Golden Keys. Exploit patched, no punishment (we get the temptation: doors unlocked, keys in the ignition)." https://twitter.com/DuvalMagic
Hogfather
Posted 03:29am 22/9/12
Picked up a cheap copy overnight from CJS, £20, Steam key activated fine.
scooby
Posted 06:37am 22/9/12
woohoo got mine for $33 usd last night from http://www.cheapkeysale.com/
Mordecai
Posted 05:08pm 22/9/12
Steam name for anyone to add for this: FallenMordecai

Currently level 19/20 as Maya the siren.
Mantorok
Posted 08:13pm 22/9/12
I'm having fun with these:
lnNZV.pngwRa1O.png
DM
Posted 08:26pm 22/9/12
Nice grenade. I rerolled a Siren last night and found a yellow grenade myself. Lv 9 and is one of those bouncing ones. First it explodes and fires out this bouncing, fletchet shooting grenade while also spitting out smaller grenades all over the place. It's a monster for such a low level and really works wonders in small areas. Enjoying the Siren so much more than Zero as her skill is actually more use than an escape mechanic.

EDIT - Also found an amazing SMG. has a 9 round burst with a 41 shot clip, and each shot fires 2 bullets. so it's an 18 round burst that only costs 9 ammo. It was just on the floor too so fully explore the cave area (forget the name) that you go to when you are after the firehawk.

last edited by DM at 20:26:07 22/Sep/12
Mosfx
Posted 10:23pm 22/9/12
Level 12 Commando, enjoying the game so far been playing solo so noone loot whores all the good gear.

I really like how Gearbox have kept it fun with being able to sprint indefinately, jumping high and not taking fall damage, it's fun jumping from ledge to ledge runing away from a Goliath!
DM
Posted 11:52pm 22/9/12
Love Tiny Tina
Khel
Posted 12:11am 23/9/12
Played this a bit today, only single player but it was pretty fun, already liking it more than I did the first one. Went with the Gunzerker dude, cos I just wanted to be a big tank that goes nuts and shoots shit. Was considering the guy with the turret, but the description said you are sposed to fight from cover, and fuck that. Gunzerker sounded more fun.
tspec
Posted 12:25am 23/9/12
I've been playing most of today with the Gunzerker guy as well just because I wasn't in the mood for sneaking around. The games been pretty decent so far though I didn't really know what to expect from it (never played the first one). I found it a little tedious building up the first half a dozen levels or so but from lvl 7/8 onwards I'm finding the weapons much more effective. I'm on lvl11 atm.
Trauma
Posted 01:02am 23/9/12
I just did the Tiny Tina stuff, funniest character yet.
BladeRunner
Posted 07:40am 23/9/12
Lv19 or 20 Zero now, His ability is not as useful as it could be but its ok for taking on a single hard badass mob. I found a purple pistol last night. I will start another character sooner or later. My brother fractured his finger on his right hand and cant use a mouse lol, I will buy BL2 for him when he is able to use it so we can play co-op.

Edit: Forgot the picture lol
Peeka
Posted 06:57pm 23/9/12
have had no luck with playing coop timing out and ect cannot host or join games seems alot of ppl are having this problem gg gearbox way to release a game with glitches and bugs again
parabol
Posted 07:07pm 23/9/12
gg gearbox way to release a game with glitches and bugs again

I've been playing coop over the internet with friends for most of the game. Didn't have to do anything. No ports forwarded, nothing.

Have you tried any of these suggestions?

http://borderlands2forum.com/showpost.php?s=3b39023ae6e7c78d7628e483a2a929f3&p=988&postcount=26

http://borderlands2forum.com/showpost.php?p=1008&postcount=31

http://steamcommunity.com/app/49520/discussions/0/882960771709778057/#c882961070457707463
Hogfather
Posted 07:26pm 23/9/12
Have tried all of those options parabol, no dice.

It seems that for a large number of users the release patch completely fucked uPNP or NAT or both for the game.

See http://steamcommunity.com/app/49520/discussions/0/882961059685222348/ has lots of details.

When I click the game browser or try to join friends Steam and BL2's exe stupidly try to connect to the local IP of games, rather than the public one. Despite there being millions of copies of the game out there Ive only ever seen one game in the match maker.

Tried port forwarding etc, the only working solution from people in the thread is to DMZ your computer or stick it directly on the net.

Pass.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 07:27pm 23/9/12
Level 12 Commando, enjoying the game so far been playing solo so noone loot whores all the good gear.I really like how Gearbox have kept it fun with being able to sprint indefinately, jumping high and not taking fall damage, it's fun jumping from ledge to ledge runing away from a Goliath!

IIRC the loot is locked to each person. I think you can only see your loot and vice versa for everybody else. Didnt a similar thing happen in the latest RPGs when playing coop?

Yeah i like the arcade run/jump/fall physics too. More fun, less realism.

Been playing assassin and thinking i made the wrong choice. Lvl 10 and having difficulties with tough enemies. Normal mobs are easy to pick off from a distance but the tough guys require plenty of ammo, often in close quarters fights and i think the special ability is kinda lacking given most situations. Im playing solo though.
parabol
Posted 09:15pm 23/9/12
Almost all the loot in the game is free-for-all - i.e. you see the same stuff and if your friend picks it up, you're out of luck.

Money and most ammo is distributed automatically between everyone though, as far as I can tell.

last edited by parabol at 21:15:36 23/Sep/12
Sc00bs
Posted 09:18pm 23/9/12
yeah i found assasin was too hard to pick off baddass mobs. changed to the sentry gun guy and am having much more fun :D

even won my first duel and got an orange rifle =)
DeadlyDav0
Posted 09:34pm 23/9/12
Almost all the loot in the game is free-for-all - i.e. you see the same stuff and if your friend picks it up, you're out of luck.

Really? Thats fucked.

I did the sentry gun guy in the first borderlands. Found it lame having something else do the job for you. Maybe i just need to unlock more perks for the assassin.

Thats one of my biggest issues, having just got lvl 11 ive only unlocked my 2nd tier perk after putting 5 points into a single perk. The whole perk system just seems to slow for me and requires a fuckload of gameplay which i dont have time for. Some of the later perks look awesome but im guessing ive done at least 10hrs so far so to unlock the later perks im guessing i might need 100hrs which im never gunna make. Id much rather play a shooter like rage where its straight shooting than a game where i think the perks/unlocks are more a gimmick rather than adding a significant advantage. Its like those bad ass perks. I mean a 1% improvement on reload time? WTF. Its not going to make a difference til i clock say 10% difference on a 5sec reload gun and i dont wanna even think how long that would take to unlock. Maybe the game is designed to reward those that put a fuckload of hours into the game, if thats the case, thats cool but its not something thats gunna happen for me.

Dont get me wrong, i dont mean to have a big cry/rant. As i said, id much rather a solid shooter and ignore the perks/unlocks which is how im playing borderlands 2 ATM with a focus on finding sweet guns rather than unlocking sweet perks. Just find the lack of perk progress kind of taunting but maybe thats cause i dont play RPGs often.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 09:34pm 23/9/12
fucked up. soz.
parabol
Posted 01:52am 24/9/12
The slaughterhouse bandit section was epic (especially Round 5). Definitely need multiplayer to enjoy that bit fully, and it really sharpens your skills and tactics and gets you switching weapons and timing your action skills properly to exploit each enemy's weaknesses. You actually play the game differently from that point on with that experience.

The game really became awesome after this part too. Cool crystal monsters, cool invisible bat things, cool "hail" weapons. Also just got rockets on my turret = freaking awesome.

Really enjoying this game!
BladeRunner
Posted 05:48am 24/9/12
All I want is a cool revolver shot gun like I had in BL. It fired 7 pellets per shot and had good accuracy.

It would be great if the skills were not so pigeon holed. Like Zero has to have a stealthy attack and the siren has some sort of dis-enguage warp power. It would be cool to pick from a list of abilities/skills or skill sets, Maybe in the next BL we will have a custom character and more skills/abilities.

I find playing Zero ok, less survivability but its still good, forces me to be better and use tactics.
Eorl
Posted 11:19am 24/9/12
I wish games would just work out of the box instead of having to port forward or even touch my router. Eventually got it working by port forwarding what Borderlands needed, plus what Steam needed due to it running on Steamworks.

There was a recent exploit with golden keys and the DLC season pass, was a simple .ini file that kept the stats so people were unlocking all current DLC and getting unlimited keys. I tried it out but the loot in the chest wasn't as amazing as the drops I was getting or the quest rewards at some points. The golden chest is tuned to your current level though, so if you have some keys, maybe open one at level 20ish and then keep the rest for end level.
DM
Posted 11:22am 24/9/12
I love the music in the Slaughterhouse. I've not been able to make it past round 1 though. I may try again since I did my attempts with Zero and not with Maya.
Hogfather
Posted 11:33am 24/9/12
I wish games would just work out of the box instead of having to port forward or even touch my router. Eventually got it working by port forwarding what Borderlands needed, plus what Steam needed due to it running on Steamworks.

Can you post a link to the shit that worked for you? Might give it another bash.
Eorl
Posted 11:38am 24/9/12
For Steam ports, check these out.

For Borderlands ports, check here.

Worked for me, though I do use Simple Port Forwarding as my tool of choice, really awesome program.
Mantorok
Posted 11:44am 24/9/12
Thats one of my biggest issues, having just got lvl 11 ive only unlocked my 2nd tier perk after putting 5 points into a single perk. The whole perk system just seems to slow for me and requires a fuckload of gameplay which i dont have time for. Some of the later perks look awesome but im guessing ive done at least 10hrs so far so to unlock the later perks im guessing i might need 100hrs which im never gunna make.
I've now finished the game, and if you invest in only one of the skill trees you should easily reach the end of the tree before the end of the game.
Its like those bad ass perks. I mean a 1% improvement on reload time? WTF. Its not going to make a difference til i clock say 10% difference on a 5sec reload gun and i dont wanna even think how long that would take to unlock. Maybe the game is designed to reward those that put a fuckload of hours into the game, if thats the case, thats cool but its not something thats gunna happen for me.
The Badass perks aren't per character, they're global. So if you play through the whole game with each class once you'll have a lot of bonuses.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 02:33pm 24/9/12
I've now finished the game, and if you invest in only one of the skill trees you should easily reach the end of the tree before the end of the game.

See to me thats a disappointment. 3 trees but only 1 gets unlocked after a single playthru? I wouldnt play through again so it means most of the skills would be untouched in order to reach the higher level ranks.

The Badass perks aren't per character, they're global. So if you play through the whole game with each class once you'll have a lot of bonuses.

Again, i would do 1 play through, maybe 2 as its pretty same same to me.
Scooter
Posted 02:49pm 24/9/12
Kinda Like Diablo 2 Skill Trees, which were praised. You couldn't max out every tree, you had to pick a path.
Hogfather
Posted 02:52pm 24/9/12
See to me thats a disappointment. 3 trees but only 1 gets unlocked after a single playthru? I wouldnt play through again so it means most of the skills would be untouched in order to reach the higher level ranks.

Well, its not for you ... its for people who want to have something to build to on multiple play throughs?

When did this idea that all features of a game should be for all playstyles gain traction?
DM
Posted 02:59pm 24/9/12
Just a guess (missing 1 tape from a quest which I have to finish tonight) but I think I came across Spoiler:
the holotape or whatever they are of Tiny Tina's parents being killed. Since she tells you that Flesh-Stick killed them, and on the recordings there is a couple who are provided to hyperion corp's slag experimentation place by him, and Handsome Jack is forcing the doctor to inject them with slag.
Pretty sad to listen to.
Khel
Posted 03:01pm 24/9/12
Its about time you started another character isn't it?
Hogfather
Posted 03:05pm 24/9/12
^ haha you so mean
DeadlyDav0
Posted 03:05pm 24/9/12
Well, its not for you ... its for people who want to have something to build to on multiple play throughs?When did this idea that all features of a game should be for all playstyles gain traction?

Well now i know that. I dont mind the devs making a game to better suit multiple play throughs, i just wasnt aware thats the case. Now i can just stick to playing it as a shooter and fuck off the unlock elements as they do fuck all.
Enska
Posted 03:56pm 24/9/12
Hahaha fuckin hell Davo. "oh its too long, oh now it's too short wah wah wah"

That's all I could see from your last two posts.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 04:08pm 24/9/12
Huh, where did i say it was too short?

I was never commenting on the length of the game, only the time required to access the unlocks/perks. As i said, if the game wants to reward players who play the campaign over and over and rack up tonnes of hours, then thats OK, i was just under the incorrect impression that most skill tree unlocks would be accessed during a single playthrough.
Hogfather
Posted 04:23pm 24/9/12
Huh, where did i say it was too short?I was never commenting on the length of the game, only the time required to access the unlocks/perks. As i said, if the game wants to reward players who play the campaign over and over and rack up tonnes of hours, then thats OK, i was just under the incorrect impression that most skill tree unlocks would be accessed during a single playthrough.

So ... Most skill tree unlocks for a class don't open on a single playthrough? As in < 50%?
DeadlyDav0
Posted 04:46pm 24/9/12
I based that on Mantarok's
I've now finished the game, and if you invest in only one of the skill trees you should easily reach the end of the tree before the end of the game.

So i was working with 1 skill tree maxed out of 3. Therefore 1/3 < 50%.

I decided to check it out in more detail:

Did a quick google and people seem to finish @ lvl mid 30s. So thats 30 skill points as you begin them @ lvl 5 right and finish @ lvl 35?

And using this skill tree:
http://borderlands.wikia.com/wiki/Zer0
It seems there are 10 skills per tree, with all skills having 5 ranks apart from 2 skills per tree with only 1 rank. So with 30 points, you couldnt even make it to the end of 1 tree if there are 42 in total required to access the final skill. Im guessing maybe you get some free unlocks as part of quests or something but i dont think ive got any of those so far with my lvl 11 dude.

So therefore, with only 30 points to allocate based on a single play thru, and a total of 126 skill points required to unlock all skills, thats <50% right? If 1 point in a skill allowed access to later skills (which i would prefer) then this wouldnt be the case but each skill needs to be maxed before the next tier level is available.

I dont remember the order of the tree but lets say you wanna unlock half of all the trees. So lets use 4x 5 ranks + 1x 1 rank per tree, x3. 63 unlocks required to max out half your skills in all 3 trees, and a single play through gives you 30. Again, <50%.

Maybe my maths is wrong, maybe ive overlooked something but to me the skills trees are a waste of time given that i generally play shooters once then dont touch them again. Dead Space, quake, doom, COD, FEAR, Just Cause, Serious Sam all single play thrus apart from Dead Space 2 which im part way thru play thru 2 and probably will never finish. Again, if they wanna make the skill trees for people who do multiple play thrus, thats fine by me, its just not the game im looking for.
Hogfather
Posted 04:47pm 24/9/12
Yeh, I dunno dude. I'm only like level 8 cos I want to play it co-op and its broken for me haha.

It does seem like you want to access lots of a class' options in a single playthrough? To me that is counter-intuitive in a good RPG, because your development choices should create a unique character, so that means at least half of the choices are discarded.

This was one of the (imo more legitimate) complaints about d3. It went too far down the unlock everything path, with no decisions being permanent. It felt kind of hollow to me.
DeadlyDav0
Posted 05:01pm 24/9/12
I dont play RPGs much cause i find they require tonnes of dedicated play time so my complaints are coming from what id like from the RPG elements in borderlands 2. I admit i probably expected borderlands to be more like a traditional FPS when it plays more like a RPG with FPS gameplay.

I dont mind not being able to unlock all skills, i would just rather they let you know approx how many unlocks you will have so you can plan your character. Now that i know 30, i would happily go and plan my character build as best as possible, like i did int he past with neverwinter nights and fallout 3/NV. I quite enjoyed thinking what stats i would level so that i could access certain skills at much later levels of the game.

What i really dislike is having to max a skill before unlocking later skills. Plenty of the skills i looked @ and thought 'meh' so using 5 points to max (1/6th of your points in a single play thru) i consider to be a waste of unlocks. If they allowed later tiers to be available after 1 point, i would much prefer that which i liked about diablo 2. I played diablo 3 for only a few hours before giving up. I loved diablo 2 but found the skills and characters in diablo 3 lacking.

I just noticed you have a SWOTR thing. So i guess you are a RPG fan which i can see why you like the borderlands unlock system. Me on the other hand, im all about FPS. The unique character thing i understand and really, really enjoyed that with Fallout 3 / NV. I spent quite a while looking at all the skills available @ certain levels and what i would put into each SPECIAL stat to that i could build a character i would like. I just think too many of the borderlands 2 skills are shit unless they are maxed.
Mantorok
Posted 05:06pm 24/9/12
So with 30 points, you couldnt even make it to the end of 1 tree if there are 42 in total required to access the final skill.
You unlock a new row of skills for every 5 points you spend in a tree, so it takes 26 skill points (25 points for the first 5 rows, plus 1 in the final row) to get the final skill in a tree. You get to spend your first real skill point at level 6, so you can have the final skill by level 31. If you finish in the mid 30s you'll have a couple of hours with a skill tree maxed, and you can switch trees with a respec. Honestly, my gunzerker was pretty badass by the end and he'd be ridiculously powerful if he could access the final skill from another tree.
Mordecai
Posted 05:26pm 24/9/12
And if Gearbox did what they did for Borderlands 1 eventually oyu can get to level 69 and have 64 skills to spend (not including the mandatory action skill one).
Damo
Posted 10:34pm 26/9/12
didn't everyone get there special items(premiere club) with green man gaming?

my steam doesn't have borderlands 2 premier club showing.. :S

last edited by Damo at 22:34:12 26/Sep/12
Sc00bs
Posted 10:48pm 26/9/12
yeah cant wait for cap increases and dlcs to unlock :) borderlands 1 had awesome dlc..

i have a 17 assasin, got bored and started a caommando.. so much more fun. he is at about lvl 25 i think.

Where abouts is the slaughterhouse?
parabol
Posted 10:54pm 26/9/12
Where abouts is the slaughterhouse?

When you blow up the train during the Tiny Tina section and enter the new indoor area, it's on the left I believe.

Hilarious music.
reload!
Posted 11:46pm 26/9/12
there's another good one later on against hyperion bots.
not cool dying on wave 7
Peeka
Posted 06:54pm 27/9/12
game got patch i can now play coop bad thing is they fucked something else up with lag
Bah
Posted 09:51pm 27/9/12
I dont mind the combat in this game, but fucking hell why so many useless fucking crates just to get ammo and a few bucks, what a bullshit waste of time that is... kill 5 people, open 20 crates, yawn.
DM
Posted 05:47pm 28/9/12
If anyone is still playing and has a character around 22 - 24 i'd like to start a game up or something
BladeRunner
Posted 05:54pm 28/9/12
Lv23-24 Zer0 here.
DM
Posted 06:01pm 28/9/12
Not sure if co-incidence or someone in gearbox is a Secret of Mana 2 fan, with the quest name Where Angels Fear to Tread. That's the first song from the game.
DM
Posted 10:20pm 28/9/12
Ah so it's more than just that. Still though I wasn't wrong
Angels Fear, the main theme of Secret of Mana. It makes a "cameo appearance" in Seiken Densetsu 3 under the name Where Angels Fear to Tread
BladeRunner
Posted 05:52pm 30/9/12
Is it me or is the music in Hyperion areas sound like something from Mass Effect?
parabol
Posted 07:07pm 30/9/12
^ Exactly what I thought!

Also the Commando's turret shield appears to be completely useless when you're past level 30 and especially when playing multiplayer - it doesn't scale with your level. Put turret up, one enemy shoots at it with a shotgun, shield goes down straight away. Might respec to undo that skill [until|if] they fix it.
MrWolf
Posted 07:57am 01/10/12
Picked this up on G2Play for $25 & have been loving me some co-op action over LAN. My only gripe is that it feels to easy in co-op.

Is there anyway to up the difficulty level?
Mordecai
Posted 08:13am 01/10/12
Gimp yourself. Use lower level guns, crappy shields and play solo. That might help.
Keato
Posted 08:18am 01/10/12
I like it, play a regular 4 player coop, been a blast.
BladeRunner
Posted 05:27pm 01/10/12
With out google'ing, I looked in the BL2 folder in My Documents.

C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\My Games\Borderlands 2\WillowGame\Config

Open up WillowGame.ini and you will see GameDifficulty=+1.0 change that to 2 or whatever you want.

If you play over LAN or co-op make sure the person who you are playing with also has this changed to match. Just to make sure it all works.
BladeRunner
Posted 01:42am 03/10/12
More images.

http://i.imgur.com/56oia.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/D0VJk.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/TEfCE.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/hgAnR.jpg

Not sure if anyone else noticed this, probably because not many people play Zer0.


Its a reference to Empire Strikes back when Solo is talking to the general about having a bounty on his head.
Sc00bs
Posted 08:35am 03/10/12
is there an easy way to do screenshots of ur weapons etc>
Mantorok
Posted 09:43am 03/10/12
is there an easy way to do screenshots of ur weapons etc>
select the item in your inventory and press F to inspect the item, then hit P and it'll make a Steam screenshot without all the key shortcuts at the bottom.
DM
Posted 05:53pm 03/10/12
Was in a co-op game and somewhere along the line I picked this up, presumably from a quest. Another talking weapon! This one insults you when you reload and happens to be a pretty amazing sniper rifle for it's level as you'll see.

Mantorok
Posted 06:41pm 03/10/12
Yeah, you get that from "Hyperion Contract 873"
no you hang up
Posted 06:02pm 04/10/12
Wow. This is A TERRIBLE GAME. Worst 1st person shooter ive ever played. The weapons system is shit, the map layout is crap, the respawn checkpoint system is retarded and the weapons are all spud guns. The storyline is meh, and that robot Claptrap is just plain annoying. The graphics are 'clever' to the point of crap and the hype is predictable.
I finally got a ps3 for this??!?! :(
Enska
Posted 06:14pm 04/10/12
^^ haha, fuck your an idiot, among many any other things, but that will do.
Crakaveli
Posted 06:34pm 04/10/12
The fuck? lol
parabol
Posted 07:50pm 04/10/12
The weapons system is shit, the map layout is crap, the respawn checkpoint system is retarded

I like how each of these points is expanded on and discussed in some basic detail to explain why.

Oh wait ...
no you hang up
Posted 07:58pm 04/10/12
So sorry i didnt elaborate before. I was in 'f*$k that game' mode.
For me:
Too much time was spent stuffing around in the weapons menu. The constant going back and forth on maps was kinda meh after a while. i.e the dude after you get claptraps eye back, searching for his audio logs and checking in all the time and ugh, fail. Having to run back to the action in co-op mode when your up on those higher levels. And thats were i gave up.
Just overall feels weak. Guess im a COD fanboi of sorts. In that id rather play COD on the WII than BL2 on the PS3
parabol
Posted 08:08pm 04/10/12
i.e the dude after you get claptraps eye back, searching for his audio logs -snip- And thats were i gave up.

That's like, at the beginning of the game. Sounds like you played the game for 10 minutes.
Guess im a COD fanboi of sorts. In that id rather play COD on the WII than BL2 on the PS3

Yes I'd recommend sticking to linear on-rails shooters where you rush through boxed-in hallways and are required to frequently tap X quickly to trigger a scripted action for uber self-accomplishment feelings.
no you hang up
Posted 08:16pm 04/10/12
^ Yeah nah. You describe say, House Of The Dead :Overkill, which is nothing like COD. But, is still better than BL2.
BladeRunner
Posted 08:57pm 04/10/12
Luckily for you "no you hang up" you can trade your copy in at EB games towards BLOPS II or something. So all is not lost.

Only a few things annoy me so far, The inventory and other screens are not set up well for PC IMO. BL 1 inventory was set out batter and I did not have to shift into a different pane to look at something or swap something.
Bah
Posted 09:05pm 04/10/12
Yes I'd recommend sticking to linear on-rails shooters where you rush through boxed-in hallways
As opposed to borderlands where you walk that hallway back and forth 20 times?
parabol
Posted 10:07pm 04/10/12
As opposed to borderlands where you walk that hallway back and forth 20 times?

What hallway? The game is 95% outdoors.
Bah
Posted 10:18pm 04/10/12
I was referring to the amount of pointless backtracking the game has, (thats probably par for the course in a loot grinding game though) one particularly bad example was sacrificing some midget to a dragon or something, walked miiiiiles over a map i had already completed past enemies i had totally outlevelled (pretty much ignoring them) hit an action point, midget got executed... then my reward was to walk aaaaalll the way back and turn it in for a few bucks and xp.
And even though the game is "95% outdoors" 95% of the battles take place in small areas as enemies don't spawn miles from you.
Sc00bs
Posted 09:13am 05/10/12
it def needs a teleport to a main city or something. The walking everywhere is getting fuckin shiiiiiiitt
Sc00bs
Posted 09:14am 05/10/12
i did that midget dragon one aswell and was like lvl 25 maybe and every enemy was maybe lvl 8 :/ was such a waste of time
DM
Posted 02:38am 13/10/12
I did this and think it makes the game look much cooler. Might be worth a tweak to see which you prefer.

Navigate to C:\Users\*name*\Documents\My Games\borderlands 2\willowgame\Config and open willowengine.ini.

Search for this line: DefaultPostProcessName=WillowEngineMaterials.WillowScenePostProcess
and replace it with
DefaultPostProcessName=WillowEngineMaterials.RyanScenePostProcess

This turns off the thick black border, but also disables SSAO. However I suspect you may be able to force it back on with nvidia cards. here are 3 comparison shots.
parabol
Posted 04:36am 13/10/12
This turns off the thick black border

Borderlands isn't Borderlands without the thick black cartoony border.

However I'd recommend the following changes in the same config file to skip the intro cutscenes:
ORIGINAL:

[FullScreenMovie]
StartupMovies=2K_logo
StartupMovies=Gearbox_logo
StartupMovies=NVidia
StartupMovies=Loading
SkippableMovies=2K_logo
SkippableMovies=Gearbox_logo
SkippableMovies=Attract
SkippableMovies=NVidia

CHANGE:

[FullScreenMovie]
bForceNoMovies=FALSE
StartupMovies=Loading
SkippableMovies=2K_logo
SkippableMovies=Gearbox_logo
SkippableMovies=NVidia
SkippableMovies=Attract
SkippableMovies=MegaIntro
ConfirmSkipMovies=MegaIntro

Also don't make bForceNoMovies equal to TRUE unless you want to skip all loading screens, intermediate and end cinematics ...
BladeRunner
Posted 08:28pm 13/10/12
Thanks for that DM. I will give it a go.
DM
Posted 03:50pm 14/10/12
Found a pretty cool farming spot. Doing the mission "stalking the stalkers" leads to a random quest drop from stalker mobs which spawns a big badass version called Henry which spawns right below Outlook. Once you finish it he always spawns on a reload so I just killed him over and over about 20 times and on top of finding a unique I got this awesome head item.

link
Commenting has been locked for this item.
149 Comments
Show
 
Log In
User:  
Pass:  

Advertise with Us | Download Media Kit | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
© Copyright 2001-2014 AusGamers™ Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.
A Mammoth Media web development / Australian VPS Hosting by Mammoth Networks