Here it is, AusGamers looks at The Evil Within, and just what you can expect from grandaddy horror creator Shinji Mikami
The Evil Within Review
We chat with Blizzard's Tom Chilton on all things World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor
Talking World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor with Tom Chilton
We take the open-world of fictional Kyrat for a spin.
Far Cry 4 Open-World Hands-On Preview
We take on the Dark Lord and his minions in Monolith's epic action-adventure romp
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Review
Beyond Good and Evil HD
Beyond Good and Evil HD

PlayStation 3 | Xbox 360
Genre: Adventure
Developer: Ubisoft Official Site: http://beyondgoodevil.com/
Publisher: Ubisoft
Release Date:
3rd March 2011
Beyond Good and Evil HD

Genre: Adventure
Developer: Ubisoft
Official Site: http://beyondgoodevil...
Publisher: Ubisoft
Release Date:
3rd March 2011
Hide Video Player
Click To View the Beyond Good and Evil HD Video
Beyond Good & Evil HD Review
Review By @ 09:40am 03/03/11
XBOX360
Beyond Good & Evil HD is a time capsule choc-full of charm. It’s still a joy to guide plucky photojournalist Jade through a whimsical Wikileak fraught with conspiracies, hovercraft shootouts, oppressive governments and alien invaders. There’s also something to be said for the unique setting, where humans co-exist with anthropomorphised animals, such as rasta rhino shopkeepers, bull bartenders and pig-men Jerry. Pig-men.




Partnered up with your bacon buddy, Pe’j, the ultimate goal is to uncover and thwart an intergalactic plot using Zelda-style combat and light puzzling, a smattering of stealth, and Pokemon Snap photo-voyeurism. Getting your paparazzi on with a camera is an important mechanic of BG&E as Jade hopes to infiltrate secret government installations and collect evidence of shady dealings. In order to fund these shit-stirring Today Tonight antics you'll have to undertake a National Geographic style sidequest that has you snapping local wildlife for cash. It's surprisingly addictive and sucks you into the world just that little bit more.

Cockblocking a conspiracy sounds like serious stuff, but in reality it's all delivered with quite quirky, cartoonish visuals. Fortunately, this low-tech art direction has helped to preserve BG&E against what would ordinarily be a sizeable generation gap in visuals. But while the ravages of time have been kind and there has been some nip and tucks done, there’s still no way a current-era gamer would mistake this HD update's simplistic textures and muppet voice synching for a new release title. That said, the remastered soundtrack fares much better in the remake stakes and is just as bat-shit eclectic as ever.

There are still some legacy issues that still plague BG&E. The camera system doesn’t always hand over the reins to you and can be as stable as a cat tied to a vacuum cleaner when you walk into the wrong corner. Likewise, the original voice acting is acceptable at best, but a touch rough or eccentric in places (a flamingly-effeminate Spanish man is my personal AI system? Really?). Also the huge dungeons and metropolis areas are annoyingly divided into bite-sized levels book-ended by loading screens. Newer gamers will wonder why these old artefacts of design weren’t lifted out, but they really don’t negatively affect the experience much at all.




At the end of the day, Beyond Good & Evil still has all the hallmarks of a timeless classic. The watery planet of Hillys was deliberately built to match the quaintness of Hyrule, and yet there’s a harder edge here that enables much deeper emotional attachment to the narrative and the characters. Even though this is a Spartan HD remake with sweet bugger all extras added, it’s hard not to be seduced by the perfect-pacing, worthwhile exploration and the distinctly “French” story and setting. At a piddling 800 MS points this is absolutely worth revisiting or is must-play material if you’ve never shot a government to death before (using only a camera).
What we liked
  • Sharpish visuals that have stood the test of time
  • Copious shades of Ocarina of Time seen and felt throughout
  • Pig-men
  • Jade is still a fascinating character and a standard bearer for strong female leads
What we didn't like
  • The camera is a part of its own private conspiracy at times
  • Stingy as far as remakes go, where are our extras?
  • Spotty voice acting that can sometimes be... ham-fisted
More
We gave it:
8.0
OUT OF 10
Latest Comments
d^
Posted 09:55am 03/3/11
Might have to pick this up on pc considering I never played the standard.
kettels
Posted 10:05am 03/3/11
If you haven't already played it, get it. Its easily one of my favourite games
d^
Posted 10:17am 03/3/11
Sounds good, I'm thinking it'll be similar to Zelda games? Seems that way from a glance.
Nerfington
Posted 10:22am 03/3/11
Yeah it's a fairly light-hearted game, despite what the recent "I'm a traitor" trailer tries to suggest. Lots of fun.
ArchetypE
Posted 11:34am 03/3/11
Any word on a PC release?
Midda
Posted 11:38am 03/3/11
^^ It's been on PC for years. Check Steam.

Sounds good, I'm thinking it'll be similar to Zelda games? Seems that way from a glance.

It definitely has similarities. I'd say if you enjoy Zelda, you'd probably enjoy this. It's less focused on combat though.
LOTUK
Posted 11:45am 03/3/11
Disappointing there's no real additions or improvements over the original game though. I've played it through countless times, own it in hard copy and on steam and would happily purchase it again if it at least looked noticeably better.

Would a slew of achievements, removing of the transition screens and actual high rez textures really required that much more work (or even a couple more pirate races or hidden areas). Hopefully this means that all the extra effort has been left in BG&E 2...
Dan
Posted 11:50am 03/3/11
^^ It's been on PC for years. Check Steam.
I'm not sure that the PC ver currently on Steam contains all the improvements of the new HD xbox version.

Have had a quick poke around, but can't find any definitive info. The PC ver obviously supports high resolutions than the original Xbox game, but I don't know if it had the all the same treatment as they've given this new Xbox 360 release.
Nerfington
Posted 11:56am 03/3/11
I'm fairly sure that it was the original PC version of BG&E that had issues with 64 bit operating systems, due to the copyright protection system simply not working on them. Perhaps the steam version did not use that system, but otherwise I thought hat this was an answer to that issue, amongst other things.
Midda
Posted 12:03pm 03/3/11
Have had a quick poke around, but can't find any definitive info. The PC ver obviously supports high resolutions than the original Xbox game, but I don't know if it had the all the same treatment as they've given this new Xbox 360 release.

What's actually been improved? I read somewhere the textures where higher-resolution, but they didn't look any different to the PC version to me.

I'm fairly sure that it was the original PC version of BG&E that had issues with 64 bit operating systems, due to the copyright protection system simply not working on them. Perhaps the steam version did not use that system, but otherwise I thought hat this was an answer to that issue, amongst other things.

Works without issues on my 64 bit machine.
Nerfington
Posted 12:08pm 03/3/11
Works without issues on my 64 bit machine.

Interesting, I think it was BG&E that I found impossible to reinstall (had already had my way with it though) on xp64bit - but that OS is a challenge for everything so heh. A quick google search suggested that this was indeed that game that I remember being incompatible with 64bit OS's http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/401101532/m/7021046768 - what version of windows did you get it working on, if I may ask?
Midda
Posted 12:16pm 03/3/11
Windows 7 64 bit. I didn't have to do anything, it just works.
LOTUK
Posted 01:23pm 03/3/11
I've had enough random crashes with the steam version on Win 7 64 that I haven't played it again
ko-zee-ii
Posted 06:38pm 04/3/11
Nice review Grizz, glad to see one of my favourite games still holds up.
Commenting has been locked for this item.
14 Comments
Show