Here it is, AusGamers looks at The Evil Within, and just what you can expect from grandaddy horror creator Shinji Mikami
The Evil Within Review
We chat with Blizzard's Tom Chilton on all things World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor
Talking World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor with Tom Chilton
We take the open-world of fictional Kyrat for a spin.
Far Cry 4 Open-World Hands-On Preview
We take on the Dark Lord and his minions in Monolith's epic action-adventure romp
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Review
Making a Video Game - Engine?
Hogfather
Cairns, Queensland
13197 posts
I want to make a video game, solo dev style.

I know, I know, I know. This wont go anywhere. I'll get bored or whatever and put it down. It will take too much time. Don't care! I want to do this, or at least start doing it :)

Before you start going nuts, I'm a seasoned developer with a computer science degree etc etc. I can write and learn any software language from assembly through C and C++ to Ruby. I like to code! I reckon I'm also a pretty good storyteller (one of my things-to-do-one-day is write a book) so this ties in well.

I am thinking of creating a prototype with a few levels to show what I want to do and kickstarter if I ever get that far.

So I want to get bang for my buck, and having spent years in the industry I know the value of good libraries. I want to use an isometric 3d perspective (top down game board like an RTS or RPG). I have some time but little money to invest (so can't buy a 10k license to an engine). I don't want to spend months learning so an advanced engine would be good, but I need more than a walled off game maker toy in case I want to do s*** my own way.

So, Unity? Do MS still have their ... XDA?! thing? Maybe something for Metro, so I can flog it to desktop and mobile? ... I'm a big Visual Studio fan and have 2012?
12:05pm 07/12/12 Permalink
system
Internet
--
12:05pm 07/12/12 Permalink
Monkeez
Sydney, New South Wales
159 posts
Use Unity, just because.